Avid Series Reader's Reviews > The McCone Files

The McCone Files by Marcia Muller
Rate this book
Clear rating

The McCone Files by Marcia Muller is a collection of short stories set in San Francisco 1977-1992. Stories range from Sharon McCone's first job as a private investigator for Hank Zahn at All Souls Legal Co-op, to closing her last case before starting her own P.I. firm. Sharon knows and loves all the neighborhoods of SF and surrounding communities. She's always in favor of the underdog, in any situation. She goes beyond locating a stalker to empathizing with him, putting herself in jeopardy to save his life during the Loma Prieta earthquake. She doesn't stop when she finds missing people; she persuades them to reunite with their estranged families. Sharon mourns the loss of historic buildings as they are replaced with modern structures, and once-ethnic neighborhoods that are no longer affordable for the original residents.

As always, I recommend reading the Sharon McCone series in order. These short stories provide welcome reminders of earlier times in the series.

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The McCone Files.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

April 14, 2019 – Shelved
Started Reading
June 15, 2019 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.