Malene's Reviews > The Kingmaker

The Kingmaker by Kennedy Ryan
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
33835029
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: part-of-a-series, arc, fav-author, favorites, if-i-could-rate-10-stars

The Kingmaker is an epic love story that spans over a decade. When a story spans over such a long time I need a foundation for the two main characters to hold my attention. That foundation is laid in the author’s notes and when Lennix meets Maxim when she’s 17. An encounter that leaves an everlasting impression on both of them. A match has been struck and the flame keeps simmering until they meet again years later.
Their connection is immediate and so on point from their first meeting and even more palpable the second time. There’s no doubt about their chemistry. They’re fascinated and intrigued by one another. How they slowly get to know one another through words and intimacy is written flawlessly. A beautiful and sensual exploration between two souls who are destined for each other but the timing isn’t right.

Lennix is a member of the Yavapai-Apache Nation, an American Indian tribe. Her cultural background and heritage is a huge part of her and her identity. It shaped her to be that strong and powerful woman she grows up to be. She’s a formidable heroine. To complement her she needed a just as strong and determined opposite. A man who knows what he wants and takes it.
Maxim Cade is Lennix’s match. A man who grows up in wealth and destined to take over his father’s empire but Maxim has other ideas. He doesn’t share and agrees with his father’s visions and beliefs. Maxim cuts himself off from his father and ventures out in his own.

Lennix and Maxim. This couple. They complement each other beautifully. Their connection and love is so strong despite them being apart for years! That’s a testament to the author and her exquisite writing. She’s done her research. Not only in her characters but to the overall story. There’s a red thread from start to finish.

The Kingmaker is so much than romance. It’s a powerful love story. A love story between a man and woman. It’s a story about a love between a woman and her heritage. Lennix’s cultural background is such a huge part of who she is. Kennedy Ryan has left no stones unturned when it comes to telling and exploring Lennix past. I was fully immersed in her story and that’s all because of Ryan’s dedication to her story and her attention to details. She takes on not only crucial historical moments but also important society topics such as climate change. It’s a tour de force in flawless storytelling.
The Kingmaker is a powerful tale of two people who goes after what they want. It’s sensual, thrilling and suspenseful. I stated at the beginning of this review that it’s epic but epic is not a big enough word for The Kingmaker. Just read it and be blown away. I certainly was and still am. Brava!!

5+ Magnificent and Brilliant Stars to I Want The Girl Who Chases Stars

3-D7-B8956-D847-4435-BD49-8264689-C9239


I received an ARC
116 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Kingmaker.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

April 12, 2019 – Shelved
April 12, 2019 – Shelved as: to-read
April 12, 2019 – Shelved as: part-of-a-series
September 13, 2019 – Shelved as: not-released-yet
September 13, 2019 – Shelved as: to-read
October 20, 2019 – Started Reading
October 20, 2019 – Shelved as: arc
October 20, 2019 –
12.0% "Those first 2 chapters! Wow. I already know for sure that this will be an epic journey. Lennix Moon you are an amazing woman."
October 20, 2019 –
23.0% "Tingles everywhere!😍🤤😍🤤🥰"
October 21, 2019 –
33.0%
October 21, 2019 –
50.0% "This is so damn intense"
October 21, 2019 –
65.0%
October 21, 2019 –
82.0% "Shit.. it’s getting difficult holding back these tears"
October 22, 2019 – Finished Reading
October 25, 2019 – Shelved as: fav-author
October 25, 2019 – Shelved as: favorites
October 29, 2019 – Shelved as: if-i-could-rate-10-stars

Comments Showing 1-30 of 30 (30 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by HMS (new) - added it

HMS Thanks for the link Malene, the covers are absolutely GORGEOUS!


Malene HMS wrote: "Thanks for the link Malene, the covers are absolutely GORGEOUS!"

You’re welcome ❤️


arini ahhh im excited for this!! awesome review!! <3


Lydia's Romance Wow 🤩 I’m so intrigued. Fabulous review, Malene <3


Malene arini wrote: "ahhh im excited for this!! awesome review!! <3"

Thank you! Phenomenal book. Hangover alert


Kristi This review is brilliant and makes me even more excited to read it!! Well done!🥰


Malene Lydia's Romance wrote: "Wow 🤩 I’m so intrigued. Fabulous review, Malene <3"

Thanks Lydia. I’m on such a high after finishing it.


Malene Kristi wrote: "This review is brilliant and makes me even more excited to read it!! Well done!🥰"

Thank you so much, babe. I just wanted to express my love and admiration for this book and its author. Phenomenal book! Can’t wait for you to read it😘😘


message 9: by Antonella (new) - added it

Antonella Fantastic review...xo


Malene Antonella wrote: "Fantastic review...xo"

Thanks babe. I’m so hungover and I love it!


message 11: by Fran (new)

Fran Wonderful review, Malene!


Malene Fran wrote: "Wonderful review, Malene!"

Thank you so much❤️


message 13: by Alp (new)

Alp Great review, love. xx


message 14: by Emmy (new) - added it

Emmy Fantastic review, as always! Can’t wait to get my hands on this one!


Malene Alp wrote: "Great review, love. xx"

Thanks Alp. This one is a must read!


Malene Emmy wrote: "Fantastic review, as always! Can’t wait to get my hands on this one!"

Thank you my friend. I can’t wait for you to read this book❤️


Veronica  Bellaorev Books All the details and the emotional depth of the characters made this book an incredible read. Great review.


Deanna❤Pink Lady❤️ Fabulous review Malene🤩❤️🤩


Berry ♡ Nice I LOVE your review!!! ❤ and this book


Alex ✰ Comets and Comments ✰ Fantastic review, Malene! <3 x


Malene Veronica wrote: "All the details and the emotional depth of the characters made this book an incredible read. Great review."

It sure did. Thanks hon❤️


Malene Deanna❤Pink Lady❤️ wrote: "Fabulous review Malene🤩❤️🤩"

Thanks D😘⭐️


message 23: by HMS (new) - added it

HMS Amazing review Malene!


Amy | Foxy Blogs Fantastic review, Malene!

"5+ Magnificent and Brilliant Stars to I Want The Girl Who Chases Stars"
Hell yes!!


message 25: by Myla (new) - rated it 5 stars

Myla Fantastic Review Malene!


Malene HMS wrote: "Amazing review Malene!"

Thank you!❤️


Malene Amy | Foxy Blogs wrote: "Fantastic review, Malene!

"5+ Magnificent and Brilliant Stars to I Want The Girl Who Chases Stars"
Hell yes!!"


Thanks! Truly a spectacular read!


Malene Myla wrote: "Fantastic Review Malene!"

Thanks girlie 😘


♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ Beautiful review, friend xxx


Malene ♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ wrote: "Beautiful review, friend xxx"

Thanks hon. I’m so in love with #NixXim❤️


back to top