Julie 's Reviews > The Book Charmer

The Book Charmer by Karen Hawkins
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5210022
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: 2020, contemporary-romance, e-book, fantasy, gallery-books

The Book Charmer by Karen Hawkins is a 2019 Gallery Books publication.

Offbeat and Amusing! This fanciful romance is a lovely gift for book lovers!

Dove Pond librarian, Sarah Dove, has a special knack for picking out just the right book for her patrons. When Grace Wheeler moves to Dove Pond, it is only on a temporary basis. Sarah, though, is convinced Grace is the person who will save Dove Pond from financial ruin. Sarah is determined to make a Grace a permanent resident.

Grace proves to be a little more stubborn than Sarah bargained for, though...

I’ve read a few of Karen Hawkins’ delightful historical romance novels over the years, but I must say, I think Hawkins has one-upped herself with this one!

This is an adorable small -town romance, occasionally poignant and bittersweet, with just a splash of magic realism. The special books in Sarah's library are characters themselves and this element will especially enchant book lovers!

Overall, wonderful feel-good kind of story anyone can enjoy!!
111 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Book Charmer.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

April 8, 2019 – Shelved
April 8, 2019 – Shelved as: to-read
October 9, 2020 – Started Reading
December 23, 2020 – Shelved as: 2020
December 23, 2020 – Shelved as: contemporary-romance
December 23, 2020 – Shelved as: e-book
December 23, 2020 – Shelved as: fantasy
December 23, 2020 – Shelved as: gallery-books
December 23, 2020 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-34 of 34 (34 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Suzy (new)

Suzy Great review Julie! 🎄


Julie Suzy wrote: "Great review Julie! 🎄"

Thank you very much, Suzy!! 🎄💖


message 3: by Tracey (new) - added it

Tracey Great review! I've been wanting to read this, might have to bump it up the TBR.


Julie Tracey wrote: "Great review! I've been wanting to read this, might have to bump it up the TBR."

Thanks so much, Tracey!! I hope you enjoy as much I did! 💖


message 5: by Maureen (new)

Maureen Sounds lovely Julie, excellent review ❣️


message 6: by Richard (new)

Richard Sounds a fun book about books! Great review Julie :)


message 7: by Ceecee (new)

Ceecee Fantastic review Julie 💕


message 8: by Melissa (new) - added it

Melissa ~ Bantering Books Great review, Julie! I own this one on my Kindle, and I am so excited to read it. Magical realism is one of my favorite genres. :)


Terrie Robinson I listened to the audiobook and it was delightful! Glad you liked it, too! Great review, Julie!


Carolyn I thought it was just terrific too! Great review, Julie! 😁


Julie Maureen wrote: "Sounds lovely Julie, excellent review ❣️"

Thanks so much, Maureen!! 💖


Julie Richard wrote: "Sounds a fun book about books! Great review Julie :)"

Many thanks, Richard! It was a fun, gentle read! 😊


Julie Ceecee wrote: "Fantastic review Julie 💕"

Thank you very much, Ceecee!! 💖


Julie Carolyn wrote: "I thought it was just terrific too! Great review, Julie! 😁"

Thanks so much, dear Carolyn!! 💖


Julie Melissa wrote: "Great review, Julie! I own this one on my Kindle, and I am so excited to read it. Magical realism is one of my favorite genres. :)"

Thanks so much, Melissa! I think you'll enjoy this one! 💖


Julie Terrie wrote: "I listened to the audiobook and it was delightful! Glad you liked it, too! Great review, Julie!"

Thanks so much, Terrie!! I'll have to listen to it on audio someday! 💖


message 17: by Kaceey (new)

Kaceey Fabulous review Julie!❤️🎄💚


Julie Kaceey wrote: "Fabulous review Julie!❤️🎄💚"

Thanks so much, Kaceey!! 💖


Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader Lovely review, Julie! Love seeing how much you enjoyed this and it does sound fun! ❤️


message 20: by Sandra (new)

Sandra This sounds a lovely storyline... and anything about books is a plus for me. Glad you enjoyed Julie 💖


Julie Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader wrote: "Lovely review, Julie! Love seeing how much you enjoyed this and it does sound fun! ❤️"

Thanks so much, Jennifer!! I think you might like this one! 💖


Julie Sandra wrote: "This sounds a lovely storyline... and anything about books is a plus for me. Glad you enjoyed Julie 💖"

Thank so much, Sandra!! 💖


message 23: by Jen (new)

Jen And your a review charmer, Julie! Have a great Christmas!


Julie Jen wrote: "And your a review charmer, Julie! Have a great Christmas!"

Thank you, dear Jen! I love this comment!! Hope you have a very happy and safe holiday!! 💖


message 25: by Meredith (new) - added it

Meredith Fantastic review, Julie! You make me want to read this!


Julie Meredith wrote: "Fantastic review, Julie! You make me want to read this!"

Thank you very much, Meredith!! You might like this one. It's really cute! 💖


message 27: by Tina (new)

Tina Sounds divine 📚💚


message 28: by Antoinette (new) - added it

Antoinette Lovely review, Julie! I will definitely check it out:)


Julie Tina wrote: "Sounds divine 📚💚"

Thank you, Tina!! You might like this one!! 💖


Julie Antoinette wrote: "Lovely review, Julie! I will definitely check it out:)"

Thank you, Antoinette!! I think you'll enjoy it!! 💖


message 31: by JanB (new)

JanB Heartfelt lovely review Julie! We could all use a little enchantment these days ❤️


Julie JanB wrote: "Heartfelt lovely review Julie! We could all use a little enchantment these days ❤️"

Thank you very much, Jan!! 💖


message 33: by Angela M (new)

Angela M Sounds like a feel good one we can all use . Lovely review, Julie.


Julie Angela M wrote: "Sounds like a feel good one we can all use . Lovely review, Julie."

Thank so much, dear Angela!! 💖


back to top