Lisa's Reviews > Holy Sister

Holy Sister by Mark  Lawrence
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
33359750
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: net-galley

I have spent the last year and a half waiting to read 2 series. This one and The Nevernight Chronicles. Honestly I'd love to see Nona and Mia team up! Back in 2017 I read Red Sister. What a freaking revelation. Not only a gal who kicks butt, "actually, the whole nunnery" but also a "for me" different take on the Epic fantasy trope. This trilogy not only opened my eyes to slightly different fantasy, but also led me to Grimdark. I'll admit that I now have a great fondness for Mr. Lawrence, and have begun reading other books by him. B.T.W, Jorg is also a great and contrary character! I'm not someone who really review's books. I don't have the patience for it. What I do is just tell you how it made me feel. Imma telling y'all that my feels were all over the place! Mr. Lawrence has written something that few men can. Strong women. I'm not sure that some authors realize how important that is. I was born in 1963. I wish that we had stories like this back then. Nancy Drew? Um, nope. Strong female characters, who take no b.s. is a revelation. Quite honestly, I love it. Will I like Nuns after reading this book? Unless I see them throwing stars and wielding a blade, then that's a big no! Nuns scare the crap outta me. Not in the "I'm gonna kill.ya'" kind of way, but more like the "I'm definitely going to smack your hands with my ruler" kind of way! O.K. I may be slightly avoiding this review. I couldn't wait to read the trilogy, but once it was done I didn't want to say goodbye. This trilogy will be one of those that are on par with certain Stephen King, Robert Jordan and John Connolly books. Which means that I will be back! Two years from now I'll be missing these wonderful people, and I will have to read it again. For me, that really is the ultimate in storytelling. Do I miss these characters? Must I read the story again just to revisit and connect again with these people who fill my heart? Yes. Thanks, Mr. Lawrence! You and Nona made it into my favorite people list. I would.like to thank especially, Emma Pickard at Harper Collins, U.K. For some reason Harper Collins/U.S never approves me, but they do in the U.K? I'll take it! I adored this trilogy. My main regret is that it did end. Do I want to know how things end on this whacked out universe? Yes! I believe that Sister Cage can also play the long game, just as Abbess Glass did. That is something I'd like to read about!
I did forget, and had to add this after I had finished my review, my main regret about this and ALL of Mark Lawrence's books is that there are no maps. As a lover of fantasy, I personally need maps. I have a huge bedroom, and all available surfaces, including the ceiling are covered with maps. The fact that there are NO maps is inconceivable to me. Please, Mr. Lawrence, invest in maps. I absolutely believe that maps in fantasy is what distinguishes the great from the average. Mark Lawrence is not average, and his books deserve awesome maps!
44 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Holy Sister.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

March 13, 2019 – Shelved
March 13, 2019 – Shelved as: to-read
March 16, 2019 – Started Reading
March 16, 2019 –
page 1
0.28% "I have to thank Emma Pickard and Harper Collins U.K., for being the awesome freaking woman that she is, and sending me an e-mail as to whether I'd be interested in reading this or the second book. Yep, I'm interested! I had read the first, and was kinda starting Grey Sister, but not really. She asked if I would be interested in Grey. Nope. I'd just bought it, but would she send Holy? She said I twisted her arm! Ow."
March 16, 2019 – Shelved as: net-galley
March 16, 2019 – Shelved as: to-read
March 24, 2019 –
20.0%
March 25, 2019 –
30.0%
March 26, 2019 –
45.0%
March 27, 2019 –
70.0%
March 28, 2019 –
87.0%
March 29, 2019 –
99.0%
March 30, 2019 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-12 of 12 (12 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Benji (new) - added it

Benji Glaab Great review Lisa!!! Makes me even more excited to finish this trilogy


Lisa Benji, I think you'll love it. There are so many strings, and such that I couldn't mention about this last book that come together. Totally worth the price of admission!😬


message 3: by Benji (new) - added it

Benji Glaab The plot mostly came full circle in Red Sister, but I'm excited for the threads, and the finale I'm sure just created even more ripples.


message 4: by Mary (new)

Mary S. R. Man man man WHERE'S SUMMER. This is the only Ml series I haven't read and I'm DYING. I've waiting for the whole series to be out bc if I don't binge-read an ML series I'll die in waiting!


Mumble Mumble @Lisa, you know, I like jorg's character too...


message 6: by Mary (last edited Mar 31, 2019 12:43AM) (new)

Mary S. R. Jesus rn I'm boiling bc #envious! Haha 😂😂😂 surely Scott 😂 yup that was a Bri-lliant-tish mir-or-acle

And ouch bc while was howling with laughter like a kicked puppy (and don't ask me how the two are any similar bc it's embarrassing) I kicked my pillow off the bed and then forgot and lay back (fast) and rn my head is a swollen tomato bc the headboard hurt...

Btw about that map thingy—didn't the Broken Empire and Red Queen's War have maps? I'm pretty sure they did... It was in future Europe. Very fantastic maps that I love the idea of?


message 7: by Mary (new)

Mary S. R. Mumble Mumble wrote: "@Lisa, you know, I like jorg's character too..."

I LOVE Jorg. No conditions.


message 8: by Mary (new)

Mary S. R. Mark Lawrence on the map thing:

http://mark---lawrence.blogspot.com/2...

Map of the Broken Empire and Red Queen's War:

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-Dk-IO6uh-uI...


message 9: by Mark (new) - added it

Mark Lawrence Very many thanks for the review, Lisa!

Sorry I missed your question about maps.

Actually all 6 of my books before Red Sister did come with maps (at least in the physical books).

You can find them all here.

https://thatthornguy.com/wall-of-know...


message 10: by Pat (new)

Pat Awesome review Lisa. Not my genre but with it does sound way interesting so you never know. I'm gonna put it on the list. Have you read Rachel Vincent's Menagerie trilogy? That is one out of left field for me but I loved it.


message 11: by Lisa (new) - rated it 5 stars

Lisa Pat, I've never heard of it, but will check it out.


message 12: by Pat (new)

Pat Lisa wrote: "Pat, I've never heard of it, but will check it out."

I'm really excited for someone else to read this.


back to top