Gina's Reviews > The Minotaur Takes a Cigarette Break

The Minotaur Takes a Cigarette Break by Steven Sherrill
Rate this book
Clear rating

's review
Feb 07, 2012

really liked it
bookshelves: 2012-reads
Recommended for: If you enjoy Neil Gaiman or Tom Robbins, this is right up your alley.

Sherrill is a poet, first and foremost, so it's no surprise that his prose is clean, concise and just packed. I was impressed with how well-crafted the book was and with Sherrill's word economy. He reminds me of Hemingway, and I can almost see him sitting at a desk cutting out all the unnecessary words from his manuscript. He paints a vivid Southern portrait in the tradition of O'Connor and Faulkner, and his characters pulse with life. I think he could really write a story about any of them and it would be interesting.

It's a literary book, so it's not for everyone, but you don't need to be up on your Greek Mythology to enjoy it. I found myself thinking that Sherrill paints such an empathetic portrait of the Minotaur that this would be good high school reading, but some of his material may be too adult.

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Minotaur Takes a Cigarette Break.
Sign In »

No comments have been added yet.