Bryce's Reviews > Charmcaster

Charmcaster by Sebastien de Castell
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
U 50x66
's review

really liked it
bookshelves: greatcoats-universe, cool-covers

review pending
3 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Charmcaster.
Sign In »

Quotes Bryce Liked

Sebastien de Castell
“You are not my business partner,' Nephenia told Ishak. 'You're my familiar. It's an ancient and time-honoured pairing of two souls, not some shallow business transaction.'
The hyena yapped at her for several seconds, then Nephenia punched me in the arm. 'Ow! What was that for?'
'For letting your squirrel cat introduce these ruinous ideas into my familiar's head about "partnerships" and "equitable relationships". Do you realise Ishak's now telling me he wants us to work out a formal contract?'
'Wait until she hears about the clause on freshly killed meat,' Reichis whispered into my ear.”
Sebastien de Castell, Charmcaster

Sebastien de Castell
“Dwelling on all the bad things that didn’t even come to pass only makes it harder to celebrate that fact. Stop being so scared about yesterday—it only makes you forget to appreciate today.”
Sebastien de Castell, Charmcaster

Sebastien de Castell
“Ferious offered up a sardonic smile. "Not everybody hates you, kid. There are entire countries full of people who haven't met you yet.”
Sebastien de Castell, Charmcaster
tags: humor


Reading Progress

February 14, 2019 – Shelved
February 14, 2019 – Shelved as: greatcoats-universe
February 14, 2019 – Shelved as: to-read
February 14, 2019 – Shelved as: cool-covers
March 21, 2019 – Started Reading
March 22, 2019 –
page 81
19.42% "okay this should be interesting. so far the plot is a few months after book two so most of the obsidian worms have been destroyed. there are still a few left though. i do like how a side character from book one has turned up already and has had some character growth since we last saw her. i am curious though as to what the travelers rest place is. should be a fun read to see how things unfold"
March 23, 2019 –
page 148
35.49% "okay this book should be interesting. so far there has been no explanation over what caused the main character to be a outlaw but more to do with the conspiracy from the first book has been explored. it will also be interesting to see how the discordance is a threat and the story plays out from this point onwards"
March 24, 2019 –
page 193
46.28% "ooh a new form of magic. its a bit different using coins to have various magical effects in the surrounding area but that is just kind of cool. wonder if it will play a part in the novels conclusion like whisper magic did in the last one. i also wonder what is going on with the conspiracy and where that whole plot line is going. should be interesting to see how the book plays out"
March 25, 2019 –
page 267
64.03% "okay im now both curious as to whats going on but in the same way confused. why did that person have the obsidian bracelet? are they part of the conspiracy? is there a second one since kellen saw two strands of energy stemming from the line at one point? also how the heck did feiris find him? as far as we know she can not use magic and no one knew where she was prior to her reappearing."
March 27, 2019 –
page 299
71.7% "this book keeps getting better in some ways i do not want it too end just so i can keep reading and enjoying it. the main character is growing up in some ways, there is more about some of the characters pasts and the familiars or should i say business partners are just great. im curious to see how things play out in this book but also where the next book will take this awesome series"
March 27, 2019 –
page 348
83.45% "okay that twist though. should have seen some of it coming since there were hints in characters behaviour and dialogue which hinted at what was going on but i missed all of it. curious to see who is behind it all because there have been no hints whatsoever so far and don't have too much left. also who is the red mage. i have suspicions based on the magic they have used but aren't sure and curious"
March 27, 2019 –
page 417
100.0% "just finished the book not too long ago and still trying to make sense of things. the ending was twisty and most of the twists were pleasantly unpredictable. there is also hints who has been behind a few events and could possibly become a villain for later books without giving too much away. should be interesting to see how the series plays out."
March 27, 2019 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.