Andi (Andi's ABCs)'s Reviews > The Selection

The Selection by Kiera Cass
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4102218
's review
Jan 31, 2012

it was amazing
bookshelves: books-from-m, would-recommend, favorites, amazon-review, own, audible-wish-list
Read 2 times. Last read July 6, 2012 to July 7, 2012.

I am so confused why I have heard mixed things about this book. It was fantastical! I lived the characters and the story and the setting. I loved everything about it. I don’t quite understand why it has been compared to The Hunger Games other then the fact that America has maids and there is a host that questions the girls, but that aside, this book was a fun take on The Bachelor and I hate that show.

Basically The Selection is about America Singer, a girl from a lower caste number, that is “forced” to apply for the selection, by her mother and her boyfriend of two years, so Prince Maxon can find himself a wife. Heart broken and shocked when she is picked America moves into the palace with 34 other girls determined not to be the chosen one. What America doesn’t expect is to find herself an ally behind the palace walls and for that ally to be the Prince himself. Slowly America opens herself up to the possibility of a life with him. And when something unexpected happens she must decide where her allegiance lies and who her heart ultimately belongs to.

Now I know I should start with talking about America, and I will, but I need to first gush about Prince Maxon. I’m in love! Or in serious crush! He was simply put, an amazing character. Where you would expect a stuffy, snobbish Royal, you really got a down to earth, fun-loving guy that was trying to do the right thing for himself, his family and his subjects. His interactions with all of the girls was real and not contrived in the least. I believed everything about him and not once thought he was putting on a how for the cameras or the girls. He was so swoon worthy that I found myself wanting to be his princess! And his interaction with America made me like him even more! And America for that matter.

I feel like we got to know the real America through him and it made her endearing. When she was home she was always doing/thinking for someone else. But with Maxon she was finally thinking and feeling for herself. She was one of the least selfish people in the story and I admired that. I actually found myself rooting for her to open her eyes and see Maxon for the amazing creature he was.

On top of loving the characters I loved the story as a whole. Everything was paced out perfectly and the set-up for future books was there. I loved reading about Maxon and America’s time around the palace and her being his confidant. The fact that there was an added element of suspense with the rebel attacks just added to the whole story. And the use of a caste system really brought out that dystopian feel that I so love.

So basically I completely fell in love the Cass’ world and characters. The Selection is Cinderella meets The Bachelor in a world that was torn up by war and is still unsettled. Cass did an amazing job of drawing me in and keeping me there. Ignore the comparison to The Hunger Games and jump in. I really don’t think you’ll be disappointed. Like me you’ll be praying that 2013 gets here quickly so you can pick up The Elite and that the CW gets there act together so you can watch the TV show. :-)
2 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Selection.
Sign In »

Quotes Andi (Andi's ABCs) Liked

Kiera Cass
“True love is usually the most inconvenient kind.”
Kiera Cass, The Selection


Reading Progress

January 31, 2012 – Shelved
April 24, 2012 – Shelved as: books-from-m
July 6, 2012 – Started Reading
July 6, 2012 –
page 71
21.13% "Such a better book already! Love the concept."
July 7, 2012 –
page 138
41.07% "I'm really digging the Prince and this book!"
July 7, 2012 –
page 231
68.75% "I don't understand the mixed reviews of this. I think it is fantastical! I'll be sad when it's over and I have to wait for part two!"
July 7, 2012 – Shelved as: would-recommend
July 7, 2012 – Shelved as: favorites
July 7, 2012 – Finished Reading
February 13, 2014 – Shelved as: amazon-review
February 13, 2014 – Shelved as: own
April 30, 2014 – Started Reading (Kindle Edition)
April 30, 2014 – Shelved (Kindle Edition)
April 30, 2014 – Shelved as: rereads (Kindle Edition)
April 30, 2014 –
page 1
0.29% (Kindle Edition)
May 2, 2014 –
page 170
50.15% "I love Maxon in this book so so much!" (Kindle Edition)
May 2, 2014 –
page 187
55.16% ""...true love is usually the most inconvenient kind." Love that! ♥" (Kindle Edition)
May 2, 2014 – Finished Reading (Kindle Edition)
October 28, 2014 – Shelved as: audible-wish-list

Comments (showing 1-1 of 1) (1 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Jennifer Young I loved this book as well and can't wait for the next one! :)


back to top