Jon's Reviews > The Terror

The Terror by Dan Simmons
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
899665
's review
Jan 25, 2012

bookshelves: fiction, fantasy, historical-fiction, read-in-my-40s, liked-it
Recommended to Jon by: SciFi & Fantasy Book Club Feb 2012 Selection
Read from February 12 to March 04, 2012

10 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Terror.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

02/12/2012 page 1
0.0%
02/12/2012 page 14
2.0% "Finished first chapter - Crozier October 1847"
02/12/2012 page 46
6.0% "I'm shivering from the palpable cold and chilling creepiness. Brrrrr...."
02/13/2012 page 53
7.0% "Finished 5 Goodsir, July 1845"
02/14/2012 page 70
9.0% "Starting chapter 7 - Franklin, September 1846"
02/15/2012 page 109
14.0% "Starting Chapter 10 - Goodsir, May 24 - June 3, 1847"
02/20/2012 page 141
18.0% "Starting 13 - Franklin, June 1846"
02/25/2012 page 184
24.0% "Finished 15th chapter." 1 comment
02/26/2012 page 249
32.0% "Starting 20 Blanky - 5 Dec 1847"
02/27/2012 page 319
41.0% "Starting 25 - Crozier, 31 Dec 1847 - 1 Jan 1848"
03/01/2012 page 390
51.0% "Starting 30 - Crozier, 15 Feb 1848"
03/03/2012 page 461
60.0% "Starting 35 - Irving, 22 April 1848"
03/03/2012 page 502
65.0% "Starting 40 - Peglar, 25 April 1848"
03/03/2012 page 540
70.0% "Starting 45 - Blanky, 18 June 1848"
03/03/2012 page 601
78.0% "Starting 50 - Bridgens, 29 July 1848"
03/03/2012 page 654
85.0% "Starting 55 - Goodsir, 20 August 1848"
03/03/2012 page 683
89.0% "Starting 60 - Crozier"
show 1 hidden update…

Comments (showing 1-15 of 15) (15 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Jason The cold and the way that Simmons portrays it, makes that book worth it's long read. It gets so much colder !!!


Jamie Collins I hate being the least bit cold, so this book really gave me the creeps. It was my very favorite read of last year, though!


message 3: by Jon (new) - added it

Jon I hesitated to start it because it is so long and I don't normally read horror (although this probably isn't your typical horror anyway). I love the way Dan Simmons writes so I overcame my initiate hesitation and plunged head first into the icy depths.


message 4: by Bill (new)

Bill Was "the terror" real or metaphorical?


Sandra Long pork? What is that?


message 6: by Jon (new) - added it

Jon Kernos wrote: "Was "the terror" real or metaphorical?"

There actually was an HMS Terror so much of this book is historical fiction based in fact (and Simmons did excellent research). But there are elements of the supernatural and of course Simmons had to fictionalize much of what occurred because of the lack of primary sources available after the expedition launched (and was lost).


message 7: by Jon (new) - added it

Jon Sandra aka Sleo wrote: "Long pork? What is that?"

Wow! I know something you don't? :)

If I explain, though, I'll be giving away some later plot points, although not unlikely spoilers given the circumstances the cast and crew of both ships experienced above the arctic circle in the late 1840s.


message 8: by Terence (new)

Terence Sandra aka Sleo wrote: "Long pork? What is that?"

Open the spoiler if you dare:

(view spoiler)


message 9: by Jon (last edited Mar 20, 2012 08:14AM) (new) - added it

Jon Terence wrote: "Open the spoiler if you dare"

LOL!

(view spoiler)


message 10: by Terence (new)

Terence Jon wrote: "Terence wrote: "Open the spoiler if you dare"

LOL!

[spoilers removed]"


In deference to Sandra:

(view spoiler)


Sandra Oh! I've been following the discussion so already knew that long pork got eaten, :D


message 12: by Bill (new)

Bill Jon wrote: "Kernos wrote: "Was "the terror" real or metaphorical?"

There actually was an HMS Terror so much of this book is historical fiction based in fact (and Simmons did excellent research). But there ar..."


Yes, I read about the events before reading the book. But this question occurred to me when it came time to shelve the novel. Those guys knew they were going to die soon, not how or exactly when, yet still struggled to survive—human nature. Each was stalked by Death or the Reaper. So is it historical fiction or historical/mythic fantasy. I decided to put it on both shelves.


message 13: by Jon (new) - added it

Jon Kernos wrote: "So is it historical fiction or historical/mythic fantasy. I decided to put it on both shelves. "

I decided to do the same thing. I'm still debating about adding it to my supernatural shelf as well.


Jason Jon, you felt the same way that my wife felt about the ending of this atmospheric gem. What a fun cold read..I liked the bizarre ending, but it is my cup of hot tea.


message 15: by Jon (new) - added it

Jon Jason wrote: "Jon, you felt the same way that my wife felt about the ending of this atmospheric gem. What a fun cold read..I liked the bizarre ending, but it is my cup of hot tea."

Well at least I'm in good company. :)


back to top