Mererid Evanna's Reviews > The Woodspeople: Books for kids: A magical children's fantasy series

The Woodspeople by Marc Remus
Rate this book
Clear rating

's review

really liked it

This is not a novel to tackle without having read the others in the series. New readers would be quite confused; in fact I went back and reread some parts to help me follow the story. When it comes to the next and final book, I intend to read the whole series through from the start; that's probably the best way to experience it. Which really is a sign of how original and complex the story is.

So, if you have read the previous books, what can you expect in this one? You may remember at the end of The Uprising, the villain Cuspidor threatened, "It's not over: Magora will fall"; well, that's still a background threat in The Woodspeople but he doesn't make his move until very late in the book – and it's a sneaky one! This is mostly an interim novel, a pause in the action. Holly and her friends attend school in Magora, learn new "brushstrokes" (or spells, you might say) and think about their future roles. They revisit the burnt-out Treetop Village, discover what the troll Cookie does in the barn, and find some hidden trees that contain an upsetting surprise. It's slow sometimes, and rather complicated, and can be downbeat, even disturbing, but it is very interesting and whets the reader's appetite for what is to come. Oh, definitely, Cuspidor must GO DOWN!

The author's reflections on fantasy and reality are given in headnotes to the chapters – an odd choice, disrupting the suspension of disbelief, perhaps deliberately. Maybe the idea is to shake up your assumption that you know the difference between the two.
2 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Woodspeople.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

Started Reading
January 2, 2019 – Shelved
January 2, 2019 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-1 of 1 (1 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Marc Remus Thanks a lot for the wonderful review, Mererid. And thanks also for mentioning it that this novel cannot be tackled without the others in the series. The books build up on each other, and only the very last book, which comes out this winter, will resolve all the issues.

Having said this, the headnotes have a meaning but it won't come out until the last book.

Your plan to read the whole series from the start when book 6 (A world beyond) comes out is a very good idea, because then all the issues that seem unresolved in some books will have make sense. Enjoy it the read!

back to top