S.A. Harris's Reviews > The Silent Companions

The Silent Companions by Laura  Purcell
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
89086561
's review

really liked it

Elsie is recently married and pregnant when her husband dies suddenly at his family's isolated and crumbling old country estate. Elsie travels from her home in London to The Bridge whilst her husband's funeral is being arranged. She finds the dilapidated old house eerie and unsettling and strange things quickly start to happen. The locals are superstitious and fearful of the house and when Elsie unlocks an abandoned room she finds a diary and The Silent Companions waiting for her.
The story is told from two timelines in 1635 and 1865. From the first chapter, we know something terrible has happened and Purcell builds the tension and chilling atmosphere throughout the novel. The characters and well-drawn and the plot pacy with plenty of twists and turns. This is a gothic thriller, a Victorian ghost story which is very likely to appeal to fans of Shirley Jackson and Susan Hill. A gripping dark tale!
1 like · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Silent Companions.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

December 22, 2018 – Shelved
December 22, 2018 – Shelved as: to-read
February 1, 2020 – Started Reading
February 1, 2020 –
page 21
6.89%
February 10, 2020 –
page 41
13.44%
February 24, 2020 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.