Iris's Reviews > Red, White & Royal Blue

Red, White & Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
72911146
hi this wasn't supposed to make me cry this is not okay. I'd ask why no one warned me but also people did. jhgfhjhgf this was so fucking good. I'm not okay.

In general this is a fluffy light romance, but it was also so so so much more than that.

This book was spectacular.

It was about politics and love and realizing your own worth. It was masterfully written, and it had so many layers. I'm in awe.

And then there was the romance, which was absolutely perfect. Alex was determined and confident and very extra, and Henry was smol and shy and precious, and they had SO MUCH CHEMISTRY. Plus it was low-key hate to love, only really they totally liked each other already, Alex was just being an ass.

Alex did that a lot. He was also incredibly clueless, and it was fucking adorable. Like no bby, you don't hate Henry. That's not what that feeling is.

And literally can I just give Henry a hug pls? Henry needs a hug. He grows so so much over the course of the book, and I'm so fucking proud of him. (But he still needs a hug, my poor boy)

And gkhhjhg the side characters were fantastic too! Bea was so strong and so caring and such a wonderful character and she owns my heart. And Nora and June were The Best, and their banter with Alex gave me LIFE.

And just in general Alex's whole family was so supportive and fantastic and I literally loved all of them like omg my heeeeaaaart.

hgfdgfhgjg and the queer rep was so good. You can really tell it's written by someone who gets it. All the little shit was so accurate. And when Alex was questioning his sexuality like,,, I felt that. It was so well done and relatable and fjhgfhkkjhjh

This whole book just felt like a love letter to queer people tbfh

And I am so here for that.

I genuinely cannot recommend this book enough (nor coherently review it OOPS sorry 'bout that). It was fantastic. Easily one of the best books I've read all year.

Pls go read it.
24 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Red, White & Royal Blue.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

November 25, 2018 – Shelved
November 25, 2018 – Shelved as: to-read
June 19, 2019 – Started Reading
June 19, 2019 –
page 0
0.0% "Goodbye responsibilities, goodbye other current reads, goodbye family and friends, I am hiding under a blanket and reading this book immediately. You can contact me again after I finish this, and no sooner."
June 19, 2019 –
page 11
2.6% ""You went to prom, didn't you? Just picture that, only in hell, and you have to be really nice about it."

Alex is so snarky and I love it."
June 19, 2019 –
page 19
4.49% "Alex is so totally clueless and I love it. And I love how Henry is 100% not buying his bullshit."
June 19, 2019 –
page 44
10.4% ""He has a bit of a caring-too-much problem about most things, including whether people can pay their medical bills, or marry whomever they love, or not get shot at school."

The sarcasm is strong with this one"
June 19, 2019 –
page 72
17.02% ""He would really appreciate it if Henry would stop proving him wrong."

jhfgdhjkjljhgfjhgf I SHIP IT SO HARD"
June 19, 2019 –
page 77
18.2% ""You know what, you little shit, you can hear it for yourself and then tell me how you would handle this-"
"Alex? Have you really just rung me at three o'clock in the morning to make me listen to a turkey?"
"Yes, obviously."


fkjghfghjkjh the banter. THE BANTER."
June 19, 2019 –
page 111
26.24% "Somebody needs to tell Alex that most straight guys don't make out with other guys"
June 19, 2019 –
page 136
32.15% "OMFG THESE TWO I CANNOT HANDLE HOW MUCH I SHIP THEM"
June 19, 2019 –
page 216
51.06% "JUST ADMIT YOU LOVE EACH OTHER ALREADY"
June 19, 2019 –
page 267
63.12% "HELP MY HEART IS BREAKING"
June 19, 2019 –
page 280
66.19% "Alex is so fucking extra and I'm 100% here for it"
June 19, 2019 –
page 348
82.27% "KHJGHFDFSDDGFHJHFGJDFSDDHJGKGKHFGDFSHHFJGFG"
June 19, 2019 –
page 358
84.63% "flkjkhklkkj this is making me so emotional"
June 19, 2019 – Shelved as: 5-stars
June 19, 2019 – Shelved as: any-lgbtqiap-at-all
June 19, 2019 – Shelved as: adult
June 19, 2019 – Shelved as: best-of-the-best
June 19, 2019 – Shelved as: contemporary
June 19, 2019 – Shelved as: emotional-pain
June 19, 2019 – Shelved as: impossible-to-put-down
June 19, 2019 – Shelved as: main-lgbtqiap
June 19, 2019 – Shelved as: my-favourites-ish
June 19, 2019 – Shelved as: read-in-2019
June 19, 2019 – Shelved as: romance
June 19, 2019 – Shelved as: wow
June 19, 2019 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-7 of 7 (7 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

shortcake ☆ ahhhHhhh i NEED this!!! this has only made me want it more sksksks !!!! amazing review xoxxx


shortcake ☆ im literally like dying to have this


Iris shortcake ☆ wrote: "ahhhHhhh i NEED this!!! this has only made me want it more sksksks !!!! amazing review xoxxx"

shortcake ☆ wrote: "im literally like dying to have this"

AHHHH I HOPE YOU GET IT SOON IT'S SO GOOD! (pls let me know when you do and we can scream together)


message 4: by L.C. (new) - added it

L.C. Perry Great review!! I bought the book for pride month and am probably gonna read it after Her Royal Highness :D


message 5: by tammy (new) - added it

tammy this is perfect for pride month aghhhh i need to read this so bad now


Iris L.C. wrote: "Great review!! I bought the book for pride month and am probably gonna read it after Her Royal Highness :D"

Ahhhh I hope you enjoy it! it's sooooo good!


Iris tammy wrote: "this is perfect for pride month aghhhh i need to read this so bad now"

Yassssss! I was really glad it came before Pride month ended cause it was perfect. And I hope you enjoy it if/when you read it!!


back to top