Avid Series Reader's Reviews > What Gold Buys

What Gold Buys by Ann  Parker
Rate this book
Clear rating

What Gold Buys by Ann Parker is the 5th book of the Silver Rush mystery series set in 1880 Leadville, Colorado. Inez Stannert finally returns to her Silver Queen saloon, after an extended visit with her son and sister in Colorado Springs. Mark Stannert returns with her, for the moment determined to remain married (by using a variety of dirty tricks). As Inez investigates the death of a fortune-teller in Stillborn Alley (the most poverty-stricken and crime-riddled part of town), she befriends young Antonia, who has survived by her wits disguised as "newsie" Tony.

Dr. G is hunting for Tony, who has unusual eyes. Newspaperman Jed Elliston is tracking a rumor of anatomists who dissect corpses, and possibly also create fresh corpses for their dissection efforts. Dr. G may be in cahoots with the undertaker Mr. Alexander. Tony accepts a menial night job for Mr. Alexander, hoping to find her "Maman", whose corpse disappeared after her murder.
1 like · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read What Gold Buys.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

November 23, 2018 – Shelved
Started Reading
June 24, 2019 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.