Melanie's Reviews > Merry Inkmas

Merry Inkmas by Talia Hibbert
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3030788
's review

really liked it
bookshelves: romance, own-voices, read-in-2018, buddy-reads, adult, erotic-scenes, dragons-and-tea, read-in-2019
Read 2 times. Last read December 9, 2019 to December 14, 2019.



“…Princesses like no-strings sex just as much as the next girl.”

Oh, friends, please pick this one up for the holiday season! It was so heartwarming, so atmospheric, and brought me so much joy to read! I loved both protagonists, I loved the wintery setting, I loved the Christmas tattoo shop, and I completely recommend this one with my entire heart. And now I need to go and read everything by Talia Hibbert.

This is an ownvoices novel, starting a Black woman that is working as a barista in a coffee shop part-time while she goes to college. And she has a regular customer who makes her pretty weak in the knees with his flirting, even though nothing ever comes from it. That is, until one night, before closing, and Bailey’s friend John comes in, who is homeless and cold. She is trying to warm him up, when her boss comes out of the back and acts like a complete jerk, until the mystery man witnesses it all and takes action.

“Boring guys finish last,” she corrected, pushing the completed forms back to him. “Nice guys finish anywhere they want. Especially when they look like you.”

Cash is a white tattoo artist, who knows how needed a helping hand can be. He not only takes John under his wing, but also offers Bailey a new job at his tattoo shop. Even though they are completely drawn to each other. Bailey and Cash both haven't had easy lives growing up, and they have such a realistic bond and attraction to each other, and it makes it completely impossible not to root for them. Especially when Cash invites Bailey to his mom’s for Christmas, since she would be all by herself. But Cash has a policy; he only will date a woman for ninety days before he calls it quits, because he refuses to truly ever let anyone in.

“Funny; he’d been a hell of a lot more charming when she was just serving him coffee.”

But the romance in this is seriously perfect. This book is only a tiny bit over two-hundred pages, but I think I was smiling, or crying, or smiling and crying on every single one. This book is funny, this book is swoon-worthy, and this book has so many important themes; from Cash and Bailey starting an interracial relationship, to Bailey also being plus sized, to it also staring a homeless, queer character, to showing that the terrible things that happen to us in the past do not have to dictate what we become in the future, to really celebrating abuse survivors (from physical abuse to neglect), this book is a damn gift to the world. I also think this story has a main character on the autism spectrum, but it doesn’t say the word(s) on page.

Overall, this was just a treat to read. And this epilogue? 11/10. This story was just so sex positive and steamy, so funny and so endearing, so enthralling and so un-put-downable. And Bailey is the female protagonist I’ve always wanted, she’s strong, and brave, and so empathetic! Ah, this book just had it all; I only wish it was longer! This is the best holiday romance I’ve ever read, and I hope you all pick this up this holiday season.

Blog | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Youtube | Twitch

Content and trigger warnings for talk of cancer, talk of past domestic violence, talk of past child abuse, and talk of past statutory rape.

This was the December pick for the Dragons and Tea Book Club! 🐉☕
228 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Merry Inkmas.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

November 21, 2018 – Shelved
November 21, 2018 – Shelved as: to-read
November 21, 2018 – Shelved as: romance
November 21, 2018 – Shelved as: own-voices
December 2, 2018 – Started Reading
December 2, 2018 – Shelved as: read-in-2018
December 2, 2018 – Shelved as: buddy-reads
December 6, 2018 –
50.0% "I am actually head over heels in love with this! 💗"
December 7, 2018 – Shelved as: adult
December 7, 2018 – Shelved as: erotic-scenes
December 7, 2018 – Finished Reading
December 2, 2019 – Shelved as: dragons-and-tea
December 2, 2019 – Shelved as: read-in-2019
December 9, 2019 – Started Reading
December 14, 2019 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-35 of 35 (35 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Younhi {[*൦*}] popcorn
candy
peanuts
crackers
potato chips


Younhi {[*൦*}] chalk
paint
tape
scissors
glue
paper
ribbon
string


Younhi {[*൦*}] a blouse
a skirt
a dress
a shirt
pants
shorts
shoes
socks


Younhi {[*൦*}] a T-shirt
a jacket
a sweater
a sweatshirt
jeant
pajamas
lippers
boots


Younhi {[*൦*}] br gr pr

brown green pretty

bread grapes prune


Melanie nhi wrote: "br gr pr

brown green pretty

bread grapes prune"


I'm very confused. Are you giving me your... shopping list? Your holiday list? But go off, I guess. 💛xx


Younhi {[*൦*}] music room
classroom
gym
art room
lunchroom
office


Younhi {[*൦*}] clinic
repair shop
office
factory
store
bakery


Younhi {[*൦*}] by car
by bike
on foot
by bus
by taxi
bytrain


Younhi {[*൦*}] cl fl sl

class flower sleep

clock fly slow


Younhi {[*൦*}] a pilot
a zookeeper
an astronomer
a baseball player


Younhi {[*൦*}] a veterinarian
a mechanic
a salesclerk
a factory worker
a photographer
a baker


Younhi {[*൦*}] help animals
fix cars
sell things
make things
take pictures
use a computer


Younhi {[*൦*}] cr fr
crab friends

crocodile frog


Younhi {[*൦*}] art class
English class
music class
math class
swimming class
computer class


Younhi {[*൦*}] play outside
take a nap
watch TV
go shopping
play video games
practice the piano


message 17: by virgin mary (new)

virgin mary ^ lmaoooo
I’ll add to that

eat ice cream
drown in my period
sweat on a summer Christmas in Australia


Melanie pris wrote: "^ lmaoooo
I’ll add to that

eat ice cream
drown in my period
sweat on a summer Christmas in Australia"


Lmaooooo! I just spit tea, Pris. Lmaooo! I love you! 💛xx


message 19: by Madeline (new)

Madeline I just got this yesterday!! I'm reading it soon!


Melanie Madeline wrote: "I just got this yesterday!! I'm reading it soon!"

Yayyyy! I hope you love it, Madeline! Happy reading! 💛xx


message 21: by Madeline (new)

Madeline Thank you!! I hope you loved it too!😊😊💜


Derryn Oooooh I’m pretty excited to read this now! Think I’m going to read it for smutathon ❤️❤️❤️


message 23: by boiii (new) - added it

boiii ThE CoMmEnTs aRe RaNdOm


message 24: by boiii (new) - added it

boiii lmao these r REALLY random


Melanie Derryn wrote: "Oooooh I’m pretty excited to read this now! Think I’m going to read it for smutathon ❤️❤️❤️"

Yesss! It will be such a perfect pick! I hope you love it, sweetheart! Happy reading! 💖xx


message 26: by Navessa (new) - added it

Navessa Scooped this baby right up. Great review, Melanie! I just finished her Mating the Huntress and loved it, so I can't wait for a holiday themed romance from her.


message 27: by Melanie (last edited Dec 13, 2018 10:34AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Melanie Navessa wrote: "Scooped this baby right up. Great review, Melanie! I just finished her Mating the Huntress and loved it, so I can't wait for a holiday themed romance from her."

NAVESSA! God, whenever I see you on here... my heart, I can't deal! And... now I must read this immediately! 💖xx


message 28: by Navessa (new) - added it

Navessa *tackle hugs*


Nyeleti Soo glad this was the buddy read pick! Wouldn’t have read it otherwise 😃


message 31: by Jade (new)

Jade Violet Melanie, I think you just outdid yourself on all your past reviews. Awesome babe, awesome.


Melanie Nyeleti wrote: "Soo glad this was the buddy read pick! Wouldn’t have read it otherwise 😃"

my heart! this is such an honor, sweetheart! i hope you're having more happy reading and happy holidays! 💕xx


Melanie AMY (pronounced Ⓐh-ℳeⓨ) ♔♔Queen of fat cats ♔♔ DIE YOUNG ADULT GENRE DIE!♔♔ wrote: "AMYzing review, Melanie!!!!!"

thank you, bb! 💕xx


Melanie Jade wrote: "Melanie, I think you just outdid yourself on all your past reviews. Awesome babe, awesome."

awh, thank you, friend. i hope you're having happy reading! 💕xx


Autumn Araujo My comment was deleted I see 😂


back to top