Melissa's Reviews > Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
9684061
's review

really liked it
bookshelves: 2018, emotional, unforgettable-reads

As you can deduce from the title, Eleanor Oliphant is completely fine. Or, so she thinks. But, by most people’s standards, I’d say not.

When you first meet her, it’s hard not to feel overwhelmingly sad for Eleanor. Maybe even to pity her a bit. Eleanor is simply existing in a lonely and somber life without friends or family. And let’s be honest, at times her bluntness is sort of off-putting.

Eleanor is just fine living by her own self-imposed routine. The hour-long lunch spent with the same sandwich and the daily crossword puzzle. The nightly pesto dinner recipe. The Friday treat of frozen pizza and wine. And the vodka, lots and lots of vodka—her coping mechanism for the long and lonesome weekends.

The epitome of socially awkward, Eleanor is oblivious to social cues and norms, uninhibited by a filter, quite literal, and extremely frugal. At thirty, she’s set with her one and only job—no ambition for anything better or more challenging on the horizon.

Laying eyes on “husband material” sparks her desire for a metamorphosis of sorts. She figures landing her soulmate is going to require some work—new hair, clothes and maybe even a little makeup to hide her facial scarring. After all, being with a musician requires a certain poise.

There are scars on my heart, just as thick, as disfiguring as those on my face. I know they're there. I hope some undamaged tissue remains, a patch through with love can come in and flow out. I hope.


It’s actually a happenstance run-in with one of her coworkers and the ensuing friendship that inspires the most change in Eleanor—her outlook on life and interactions with people. It’s comical that Raymond doesn’t seem fazed by Eleanor’s stunted social skills. In fact, his mellow attitude and companionship go a long way to smooth her edges.

When things don’t go to plan, Eleanor is forced to stare down her truth. To succumb to the reality that everyone has problems and no feeling is insurmountable. That eventually with time—not vodka—things will get better. It's the why behind it all that broke my heart.

Gail Honeyman balances the heavy—and there’s a lot here, so be prepared—with humor and hope; taking readers on a journey right along with Eleanor. My own feelings skewing from odd to charmed. Quirky Eleanor managed to chip off a piece of my heart, stowing it away in her trusty shopper for safekeeping.

With a pair of pom-poms in hand, I stood on the sidelines cheering Eleanor on as she discovered what life is truly about—living. Connecting with others. Taking those much-needed pauses to drink in her surroundings. And the potential for more in each and every aspect of life. From broken soul to a woman on a mission to live life, Eleanor's is an inspiring story, one I know I’m better for reading.

And naturally, the part that squeezed the awww out of me—the healing powers of Glen. =^..^=
459 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

November 3, 2018 – Started Reading
November 3, 2018 – Shelved
November 3, 2018 – Shelved as: 2018
November 3, 2018 –
page 5
1.53% "It often feels as if I'm not here, that I'm a figment of my own imagination. There are days when I feel so lightly connected to the earth that the threads that tether me to the planet are gossamer thin, spun sugar. A strong gust of wind could dislodge me completely, and I'd lift off and blow away, like one of those seeds in a dandelion clock. 😢"
November 4, 2018 –
page 74
22.63% "There are scars on my heart, just as thick, as disfiguring as those on my face. I know they're there. I hope some undamaged tissue remains, a patch through with love can come in and flow out. I hope. 💔"
November 12, 2018 –
page 289
88.38% ""How do I fix this? How do I fix me?" 😭🧡"
November 15, 2018 – Shelved as: emotional
November 15, 2018 – Shelved as: unforgettable-reads
November 15, 2018 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-50 of 88 (88 new)


message 1: by Felicia (new)

Felicia Great. Now I'm officially going to be the only person on the planet that hasn't read this.


(Bern) Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas Felicia - I haven't read it either & feel like the lone holdout! lol! Hope you are enjoying it Melissa. :)


Cheri Looking forward to your thoughts on this - very different from the dynamic duo's (Christina Lauren) stories, but equally lovable!


Angela M Melissa, what a wonderful review! So glad you found Eleanor.


Mary What a wonderful review!!! I loved this story and yes,I loved Eleanor too!!


message 6: by Maureen (new)

Maureen Really great review Melissa 🌸


Jess☺️ Fantastic review Melissa!! I loved this book to, I think there could be some part of Elenore in all of us, glad you enjoyed it to 😊


message 8: by Kaceey (new)

Kaceey Excellent review Melissa!🤗💜


Susanne  Strong Wonderful review Melissa! SO glad you loved this!


Jenny••Steamy Reads Blog•• Great review ❤️💗


message 11: by KAS (new)

KAS Glad you loved Eleanor and cheered her on, Melissa ;) Outstanding review!! xoxo


message 12: by Diane (new)

Diane Wallace Great review, Melissa!


Dianne Wonderful review! Such a good book and memorable character..


Melissa Cheri wrote: "Looking forward to your thoughts on this - very different from the dynamic duo's (Christina Lauren) stories, but equally lovable!"
You were so right, Cheri. Equally loveable—I won’t forget about Eleanor anytime soon. ☺️

(Bern) Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas wrote: "Felicia - I haven't read it either & feel like the lone holdout! lol! Hope you are enjoying it Melissa. :)"
You two better get to it! Eleanor is a character you have to meet.

Felicia wrote: "Great. Now I'm officially going to be the only person on the planet that hasn't read this."
Hahahaha! I thought I was the only one left. 😂


message 15: by Marialyce (new) - added it

Marialyce On my list for upcoming reads. So happy to read this is such a good book.


message 16: by Holly (new) - added it

Holly  B I've had this from the library twice and still never read it. LOL ...one day. Great review Melissa!


Melissa Mary wrote: "What a wonderful review!!! I loved this story and yes,I loved Eleanor too!!"
Thanks, Mary! So glad I FINALLY picked Eleanor up. 💜

Angela M wrote: "Melissa, what a wonderful review! So glad you found Eleanor."
Thanks, Angela! I enjoyed yours as well. 😊 Eleanor is such a memorable character.


DeAnn Great review of this one, it's a fabulous book!


message 19: by Linda (new) - added it

Linda I have this on my tbr list....upon reading your wonderful review....will have to buy it!


message 20: by Mischenko (new) - added it

Mischenko Great review, Melissa! I do have this one added. 😉❤


Melissa Jess☺️ wrote: "Fantastic review Melissa!! I loved this book to, I think there could be some part of Elenore in all of us, glad you enjoyed it to 😊"
Yes, you are so right about that. Eleanor is a character that I won’t forget anytime soon. 🧡

Maureen wrote: "Really great review Melissa 🌸"
Thanks, Maureen! 😊


Jayme Fantastic review as always, Melissa! So glad you enjoyed this too!! 💕


JanB I loved this book too Melissa. Love your fantastic review!


Mary Beth *Traveling Sister* Awesome review, Melissa! So glad you enjoyed this one too. 💖


*TUDOR^QUEEN* Fantastic review! 🙌👏😘 I enjoyed this too.


message 26: by Rag (new) - added it

Rag Awesome review Melissa! I tried reading this book a while back but for some reason I couldn't finish it. But I'm planning on picking up where I left off!


Norma * Traveling Sister Fabulous review, Melissa! So glad you enjoyed this one!


JV (semi-hiatus) A superb review for such a great book, Melissa!🥰


Em Lost In Books Fantastic review. 😊


Melissa Dianne wrote: "Wonderful review! Such a good book and memorable character.."
Yes! I won't forget about Eleanor anytime soon! 😊

Diane wrote: "Great review, Melissa!"
Thanks, Diane! 😊

KAS wrote: "Glad you loved Eleanor and cheered her on, Melissa ;) Outstanding review!! xoxo"
Thanks, KAS! Eleanor is one of those characters that will stay with me for some time to come. 😊

Jenny••Steamy Reads Blog•• wrote: "Great review ❤️💗"
Thanks, Jenny! ❤️

Susanne wrote: "Wonderful review Melissa! SO glad you loved this!"
I'm SO glad I gave Eleanor a chance! Loved your review, btw. 😊

Kaceey - Traveling Sister wrote: "Excellent review Melissa!🤗💜"
Thanks, Kaceey! 😊


Lindsay - Traveling Sister Fabulous review Melissa! So glad you loved Eleanor too!!!! 💜


message 32: by Meredith (new) - added it

Meredith Fantastic review, Melissa! This book has been on my tbr forever—your review reminds me that I need to bump it way up!


Karen Pierce Yes! I loved this book and I loved Eleanor as well.


Patti Parker Markgraf I loved it too!


Melissa Holly wrote: "I've had this from the library twice and still never read it. LOL ...one day. Great review Melissa!"
Hahahahaha! That’s hilarious; guess it just wasn’t the right time for you. Eleanor is worth giving a chance though. 😉💜

Marialyce wrote: "On my list for upcoming reads. So happy to read this is such a good book."
It’s fantastic, Marialyce! I can’t belive it took me so long to pick it up.


Renata Thanks for the smiles and laughter your brilliant review brought me! Eleanor is unforgettable and your comments a delight.


Christine Wonderful, Melissa!


Melissa Mischenko wrote: "Great review, Melissa! I do have this one added. 😉❤"
Definitely one worth making time for! 😬🧡

Kimber wrote: "Wonderful review, Melissa! : )"
Thanks, Kimber! 🧡

Linda wrote: "I have this on my tbr list....upon reading your wonderful review....will have to buy it!"
Yes! Don’t miss out on quirky Eleanor.

DeAnn wrote: "Great review of this one, it's a fabulous book!"
Yes, it certainly was! Not sure why it took me so long to give Eleanor a chance. 🤷🏻‍♀️😂


Nicola Beautiful words Melissa! I’m glad Eleanor chipped away a bit of your heart. Wonderful book. 💕🥰


Cheri Such a lovely review, Melissa! Loved this one, myself, and reading your thoughts on this brought it all back!


Melissa JV wrote: "A superb review for such a great book, Melissa!🥰"
Thanks, JV! I can’t believe it took me so long to pick this up.

Manju wrote: "Fantastic review. 😊"
Thank you! 🧡

Norma * Traveling Sister wrote: "Fabulous review, Melissa! So glad you enjoyed this one!"
Thanks, Norma! What a book.

Rag wrote: "Awesome review Melissa! I tried reading this book a while back but for some reason I couldn't finish it. But I'm planning on picking up where I left off!"
Maybe you just weren’t in the right mood—it happens. 🤷🏻‍♀️😊

*TUDOR^QUEEN* wrote: "Fantastic review! 🙌👏😘 I enjoyed this too."
Thanks, Tudor! Eleanor is a character that will stay with me for some time to come.

Mary Beth *Traveling Sister* wrote: "Awesome review, Melissa! So glad you enjoyed this one too. 💖"
Thank you!! Really enjoyed this read.

JanB wrote: "I loved this book too Melissa. Love your fantastic review!"
Thanks, Jan! So glad I finally gave it a chance!

Jayme wrote: "Fantastic review as always, Melissa! So glad you enjoyed this too!! 💕"
Thanks, Jayme! What a book this was. 😬💜


Lynne Davis Very good review Melissa, I loved it and Eleanor too


Melissa Lindsay - Traveling Sister wrote: "Fabulous review Melissa! So glad you loved Eleanor too!!!! 💜"
Thanks, Lindsay! So happy I FINALLY picked this one up. 😬💜

Meredith wrote: "Fantastic review, Melissa! This book has been on my tbr forever—your review reminds me that I need to bump it way up!"
Eleanor has been sitting on my shelf glaring at me for a while! Glad I finally gave her a chance. 😂

Karen wrote: "Yes! I loved this book and I loved Eleanor as well."
Eleanor is going to stay with me for some time to come. 💜

Patti wrote: "I loved it too!"
Such a great book! 😊


message 44: by Linda (new) - added it

Linda I still need to read this.! And I'm so glad you enjoyed it, Melissa. Lovely review!


message 45: by Dana (new) - rated it 5 stars

Dana Great review!


Melissa Renata wrote: "Thanks for the smiles and laughter your brilliant review brought me! Eleanor is unforgettable and your comments a delight."
Glad my review made you smile! Eleanor is a great character. 😬

Christine wrote: "Wonderful, Melissa!"
Thanks, Christine! 😊


message 47: by ♥Rachel♥ (new)

♥Rachel♥ I have this on a library hold so I'm not going to read your review until I've finished it. Glad to see you enjoyed the book with your 4 stars, Melissa! :)


Melissa Nicola wrote: "Beautiful words Melissa! I’m glad Eleanor chipped away a bit of your heart. Wonderful book. 💕🥰"
Thanks, Nicola! What a fantastic read this was. 😊

Holly wrote: "What a great review, Melissa! This book gave me so many feels. "Quirky Eleanor managed to chip off a piece of my heart, stowing it away in her trusty shopper for safekeeping." I love this!!"
Thanks! You and me both. So glad I finally gave Eleanor a chance! ☺️💜


Kendall Great review Melissa! Glad you enjoyed this one!


MissBecka Great review Melissa! Glad you enjoyed it so much.


« previous 1
back to top