megs_bookrack's Reviews > Internment

Internment by Samira Ahmed
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
48328025
's review

it was ok

**2.5-stars**



This hurts my heart.

I wanted so much to love this. It was one of my most anticipated reads for the first part of the year.

I did not like this and I am crushed.



One reason I was so excited for this book was the exploration of topics and perspectives that I think are so important and need to be included more often.

This book did touch on many issues that are salient in today's culture, such as: Islamophobia, xenophobia, 'us vs. them' mentality, the politics of fear, the importance of resistance movements to initiating change, black op sites, disappeared peoples, the illegal detainment of individuals and the abuse/neglect and torture of detainees.

All of this stuff.
Yes. Let's see more of it, particularly from those peoples or populations most affected.

My issue with this was purely in execution. The first 20% was so gripping. The circumstances were terrifying. I was hooked.



Then it just lost me. Layla, the main character's, fixation on her boyfriend, the storyline involving the guard, Jake, the dialogue.



Don't get me started on the dialogue.

In summation, this was a disappointment for me. I still think the content is important and I hope people continue to read this and discuss it. Maybe I am in the minority here with this opinion. As I always say, there is a reader for every book! Sadly, this one just didn't work for me.
85 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Internment.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

November 1, 2018 – Shelved
November 1, 2018 – Shelved as: to-read
May 5, 2019 – Started Reading
May 6, 2019 –
8.0% "Eerily realistic dystopian world!"
May 7, 2019 –
22.0% "I'm hooked.
This is terrifying."
May 7, 2019 –
38.0%
May 7, 2019 –
43.0% "Okay...
This whole 'David' fixation is grating on my last nerve...



There. I said it.
I feel better now."
May 9, 2019 –
54.0% "Struggle bus-ing with this one...
I almost DNFed this morning but I hate doing that.



The whole thing with Jake -- what is his motivation -- it doesn't fit with anything else and something about the writing just isn't working for me. It seems too forced."
May 9, 2019 –
70.0% "me dealing with this dialogue...

"
May 10, 2019 –
89.0% "The villain in this story, the Director, reminds me so much of this guy...



Anyone remember this guy?
From The Rescuers Down Under.
It's all I can picture!"
May 10, 2019 –
94.0% "...so close, yet so far..."
May 10, 2019 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-14 of 14 (14 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Somia (new) - added it

Somia Happy listening Meg, this is in my TBR list, so looking forward to hearing what you think 😊


megs_bookrack Somia wrote: "Happy listening Meg, this is in my TBR list, so looking forward to hearing what you think 😊"
Thank you so much, Somia! I anticipate being able to get through it this week. I am so excited to have it!


HeartlessFaeKing 🔮 Congratulations! 😍❤️


megs_bookrack HeartlessFaeKing 🔮 wrote: "Congratulations! 😍❤️" Hahaha, thank you! It's the little things :)


HeartlessFaeKing 🔮 But these mean a lot to us, bookworms 😊


message 6: by Somia (new) - added it

Somia Oh dear. Sorry it was a bummer hope your next read is a delight 😊🙃


megs_bookrack Somia wrote: "Oh dear. Sorry it was a bummer hope your next read is a delight 😊🙃" Thank you, love. Maybe I built it up too much in my head. I look forward to hearing your thoughts once you get to it. I hope you love it!


message 8: by Holly (new)

Holly  B Onto the next megs!


Jennifer Sorry to hear this. I, too, had high hopes for this book. Hopefully your next read is a 5*! 😊


megs_bookrack Holly wrote: "Onto the next megs!" I started The Hate U Give immediately after so all good here! ;)


megs_bookrack Jennifer wrote: "Sorry to hear this. I, too, had high hopes for this book. Hopefully your next read is a 5*! 😊" Thank you, Jennifer! I started THUG so chances are good it will be!


message 12: by Dita (new)

Dita So sorry, Luv! Hate when I am so excited and then it disappoints.


megs_bookrack Dita wrote: "So sorry, Luv! Hate when I am so excited and then it disappoints." Yeah. It's totally a bummer. I even deleted her other book I had on my TBR because I just think it is the writing style. It just doesn't mesh with me. :(


message 14: by Dita (new)

Dita ☹️


back to top