Terri ♥ (aka Mrs. Christian Grey)'s Reviews > Bloodrose

Bloodrose by Andrea Cremer
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
6014919
's review

liked it

On the first pages, I thought wow, this book is going to have the promise of greatness. To start it off, Calla (view spoiler)

But even as only a few pages past by, I knew what was to come to pass. (view spoiler)

So as the story went and Ren made great appearances throughout I accepted that (view spoiler)

So tell me why, why did Andrea feel the need to do what she did. THERE WAS NO NEED FOR IT! (view spoiler)

I'm not sure how to rate this book. As the book was entertaining and kept my interest throughout, it was more than a little less desirable outcome. It was definitely well written and I'm sure others would enjoy. But I was not happy. Though I assume the outcome from the first page, I felt Andrea Cremer felt the need to handle things a certain way so that some could accept Calla's fate. I on the out hand could only mourn, not once but twice at the bitter end. (view spoiler) So for those that are looking at my rating it is not a measure of the author's writing but how I felt about the story itself. I’m not sure that it was a good thing that a read this series. It feels like a waste and the HEA never came. I will mourn this book and this series. And I will forever be (view spoiler)

And worst of all, Andrea Cremer is laughing all the way to the bank because we bought this stupid book and the other two that proceeded it. What a F'ing waste!

I feel like I should say so much more for a first book to start so great and end like this. Will I read more from Andrea Cremer, probably not. She’s a good writer but I don’t like how she twists her stories. So I’m not a fan!
8 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Bloodrose.
Sign In »

Quotes Terri ♥ (aka Mrs. Christian Grey) Liked

Andrea Cremer
“Ren," I whispered. "I want-"
And then I was leaning over him, my cropped hair brushing against his cheeks as I bent to kiss him. Our lips met and I felt like I was diving into oblivion. The kiss grew deep, inmediate and hungry. He lifted me up and I wrapped my legs around his waist, molding my body against his.”
Andrea Cremer, Bloodrose

Andrea Cremer
“Oh gods! My eyes!" Connor covered his face. "My innocence!"
"Shut up, Connor," I said, both relieved and disappointed by the interruption.”
Andrea Cremer, Bloodrose


Reading Progress

December 31, 2011 – Shelved
January 6, 2012 – Started Reading
January 6, 2012 –
0.0% "OMG, really hot! A little to hot for YA. YEAH REN!!!!"
January 6, 2012 –
0.0% "OMG! Calla is a <spoiler> ho! I'm sorry but from the first chapter that is what came to mind!</spoiler>"
January 9, 2012 –
55.0%
January 9, 2012 –
55.0% "so far, I'm not yet unhappy with how things are going. i do beleive I know who she is going to pick and I'm not happy only because of her reasons."
January 10, 2012 –
70.0% "This is the part where I lost my heart. I should have know how cruel this story would be."
January 10, 2012 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-13 of 13 (13 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Read for your future! I will hate it is she kills Ren off. I have just started Bloodrose and I am not happy with it already.
That stinks because it was one of my favorite series. But i was upset that she slept with Shay in the other book. How do you rebound from that. and I aam team Ren.


message 2: by Nancy (new)

Nancy I was so excited to read this book, i bought it the day it was released and everything... Then i read the reviews, and stored it in my "will read one day shelf"... I completely agree with you I was so mad, no scratch that i am still mad about the ending. It's not even the fact that Calla chose Shay, that was obvious from the beginning, but the way things turned out. I loved the previous two books even though Shay was the worst love interest ever (i never found anything worth loving about him)And Calla for being an indecisive ho. Ugh i just don't know. You expressed exactly how i feel. Though the book seems awesome aside from the heartbreaking part. I feel like it could have been epic.


Terri ♥ (aka Mrs. Christian Grey) It could have been epic, Nancy and it failed.

@read for your future - brace yourself but try to enjoy the ride.


message 4: by Carie (last edited Jan 12, 2012 09:20AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Carie **** SPOILERS AHEAD!!!! DON'T READ IF YOU DON'T WANT TO KNOW!! ****


I agree with you 100%!! If Ren could’ve at least had a heroic death--not one at the hands of EMILE!!--I might have been able to accept it, but probably not even then. I've been so mad about the callousness of her killing Ren off since I finished the book days ago!! Really can’t believe she’d be so needlessly cruel to fans. I’ve tried to understand some rationale behind her decision to do it, but all I can see is her getting rid of that triangle once and for all in the worst way possible.


Terri ♥ (aka Mrs. Christian Grey) Carie wrote: "I agree with you 100%!! If Ren could’ve at least had a heroic death--not one at the hands of EMILE!!--I might have been able to accept it, but probably not even then. I've been so mad about the c..."

100% agree with you.


message 6: by Suzanne (new)

Suzanne Carie wrote: "I agree with you 100%!! If Ren could’ve at least had a heroic death--not one at the hands of EMILE!!--I might have been able to accept it, but probably not even then. I've been so mad about the c..."

You should have used spoiler tags for this. You've just ruined the book for anyone who hadn't read it yet. I'm not even gonna bother now. This showed up on my feed.


Terri ♥ (aka Mrs. Christian Grey) I tried to hide my comments. I can't control others. I didn't think about it when I replied to someone else's comment.


message 9: by Suzanne (new)

Suzanne Oh I know Terri, not your fault. I wouldn't read it now knowing Ren dies cos I had hoped for the happy ending with Ren. Shay didn't appeal to me at all. But I agree with you totally, what a cop out by Andrea Cremer


message 10: by Carie (last edited Jan 12, 2012 09:34AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Carie Suzanne wrote: "Carie wrote: "I agree with you 100%!! If Ren...."

I am SO SORRY!! I feel terrible--I didn't even think! I'd be mad, too, if it were me. I've been chatting with a lot of people about this and most feeds have extensive spoilers (with no warnings), so I didn't pay attention here. SORRY!!!


message 11: by Suzanne (new)

Suzanne Ah its ok, I'm over it now. From what I've heard it doesn't sound like Andrea finished the series very well so I probably would have been pissed after reading it anyway :)


message 12: by Jess (new) - rated it 1 star

Jess Just read your review Terri. And all the comments. I'm so glad I'mnot the only one disappointed with this book. It had promise at the start with the Ren action, but I already knew Calla would pick Shay. Then as it went on, Calla became such a friggin ho! Unfortunately I'd read a spoiler before I started the book about Ren, and I was completely crushed. As I mentioned in the thread, I felt completely cheated by Cremer. She took the easy way out, and Ren didn't even have a heroic (view spoiler) (just in case lol). It was just so pathetic, and I too tried to find a rational reason behind this appauling move by Cremer and I couldn't find a single thing good about what she did. There was no need. I understood that there couldn't be two alpha males, but really, I could bet that as long as Calla was happy, Ren would have backed off. There was a whole book to bring someone in for him, but no, it just ended like that. I felt so sick. I still haven't rated the book or written a coherent review.

Bloodrose, could have been epic, but Cremer epically failed.

P.S-Sorry for the essay lol


Terri ♥ (aka Mrs. Christian Grey) EPIC coulda woulda, but soooo not. Love what you said though Jessica.


back to top