Melanie's Reviews > The Last Time I Lied

The Last Time I Lied by Riley Sager
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3030788
's review

liked it
bookshelves: mystery, thriller, buddy-reads, read-in-2018



“So much water. So much land. So many places to disappear.”

The Last Time I Lied was such a fun book to read during this spooky season. It really kept me on the edge of my seat, it was so thrilling, it was so chillingly atmospheric, and that ending was really unpredictable. I’m so happy I picked this book up this October! Also, to everyone who participated with us in #FridayFrightAThon, thank you so much! It was such an honor to read alongside so many of you! And hopefully this last book helped you get into the Halloween mood!

This is a story about a twenty-eight-year-old woman named Emma, who is still haunted by something that happened fifteen-years ago at summer camp. In present day, she is an artist that is finally having her first gallery event. But the thing is, all the inspiration for all the paintings at the showing were also inspired by what happened when she was thirteen-years-old.

Fifteen-years ago, Emma went to summer camp late and was forced to bunk with three older girls in a cabin. She quickly becomes close with one of them, Vivian, who treats her like a little sister. But she soon finds out that Vivian was keeping secrets from her. Yet, Emma never found out what those secrets were, because one morning she wakes up and the three girls are missing and are never to be found again.

This story is told with flashbacks constantly showing us what really happened all those years ago. And we slowly find out why Emma is unable to paint anything but those three missing girls. But Emma is offered some closure, when she is asked to go back to the camp, to teach art, and to maybe receive some semblance of closure for herself and for her art.

But once she goes back to Camp Nightingale, she learns that some people’s lives never went back to normal after that haunting morning. And Emma also realizes that some people aren’t going to let her forget that they blame her for whatever happened.

Again, this was so much fun to read. I was so surprised at how many different directions this story was able to take, and how I never saw which way the story was going. I also think the second person point of views were really well done and distributed throughout the story for the perfect amount. I honestly never wanted to put this book down.

But, not to get into spoiler territory, I hated the epilogue. Well, I loved and hated the epilogue. I actually think the last twist was such a work of genius. But I was absolutely appalled at the way Emma handled it. Therefore, the book was kind of left off on a sour note for me, sadly.

Overall, I really did enjoy this one. I loved going along with Emma and solving the present-day mystery and the mystery of the past at the same time. And, seriously, the summer camp setting was so perfectly spooky. I think I’m just a bit of a harsh rater with thrillers, honestly. But if you’re looking for something that you won’t be able to predict, and that will put you in a scary mood, I completely recommend this!

Lastly, something I want to bring up that in no way impacts my rating; I really do not like how this male author writes under a female sounding pseudonym. I also don’t like how there is no author picture and the author note and acknowledgements makes an effort to not have the reader know this story is written by a man. I get that Gillian Flynn was (maybe still is) the thriller queen for a while, but it just makes me feel grossed out that I feel like he is hiding that he is a man to try to sell more. Because white men don’t have it easy enough, you know?

Blog | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Youtube | Twitch

Content and trigger warnings for schizophreniform, anxiety attacks, loss of a loved one, alcoholism, slut shaming (a lot), peeping toms, many fatphobic comments, negative comments about food, talk of cancer, and sex between a sixteen-year-old and nineteen-year-old.

Buddy read for #FridayFrightAThon which I co-hosted with Amy @ A Court of Crowns and QuillsJen @ Pinot and Pages, & Chelsea @ Chelsea Palmer! 👻
116 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Last Time I Lied.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

September 16, 2018 – Shelved
September 16, 2018 – Shelved as: to-read
September 16, 2018 – Shelved as: mystery
September 16, 2018 – Shelved as: thriller
September 30, 2018 – Shelved as: buddy-reads
September 30, 2018 – Shelved as: read-in-2018
October 26, 2018 – Started Reading
October 26, 2018 –
page 63
16.41% "➽ Day One: I love the feel of this already. And I’m living for the flashbacks from 15 years ago. Let’s be real, nothing good is going to come from this cabin though. Nothing. I’m already spooked. #FridayFrightAThon"
October 27, 2018 –
page 128
33.33% "➽ Day Two: Oh my gosh, that last page! I love where this is going, and I can’t wait to see what happens during tomorrow’s reading! Also, I’d try to become friends with this groundskeeper ASAP. #FridayFrightAThon"
October 28, 2018 –
page 191
49.74% "➽ Day Three: I am living for this diary, even though Em ignored the creepy root-cellar, haha! I am so invested in this story! I can’t wait to see where it goes! #FridayFrightAThon"
October 29, 2018 –
page 252
65.63% "➽ Day Four: Holy moly what a perfectly cruel ending break! And I am always here for people going to the library to solve mysteries! I’m just not sure what to think of Peaceful Valley or Theo’s sus ass right now, but I can’t wait to read more tomorrow! #FridayFrightAThon"
October 30, 2018 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-17 of 17 (17 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Abby Dunn I loved this book, hope you enjoy it!


(Bern) Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas Hope you enjoy it Melanie!


Melanie Abby wrote: "I loved this book, hope you enjoy it!"

This makes me even more excited, Abby! I hope you're having happy reading! 💛xx


Melanie (Bern) Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas wrote: "Hope you enjoy it Melanie!"

Thank you so much, love! I hope you're having the happiest of reading! 💛xx


Rachel I hope you like this! I thought it was much better than Final Girls.


Jessica I’m a day late, but I’m joining in for this round! 🙂


Melanie (TBR and Beyond) Literally just read this in a day and really enjoyed it. Didn't expect it to be as good as it was!


Melanie Rachel wrote: "I hope you like this! I thought it was much better than Final Girls."

Awh, thank you, Rachel! I hope you're having happy reading, love! 💛xx


Melanie Jessica wrote: "I’m a day late, but I’m joining in for this round! 🙂"

That rating makes me so happy! Thank you for joining us, love! It was an honor! I hope your next read is five star worthy! 💛xx


Melanie Melanie (TBR and Beyond) wrote: "Literally just read this in a day and really enjoyed it. Didn't expect it to be as good as it was!"

Right? Like... that ending! Those twists! I am really pleasantly surprised with this one! But I hope the next thing you pick up is five star worthy! 💛xx


message 11: by Sree (new) - rated it 5 stars

Sree This makes me even more excited, Abby! I hope you're having happy reading! Right? Like... that ending! Those twists! I am really pleasantly surprised with this one! But I hope the next thing you pick up is five star worthy!


message 12: by Sree (new) - rated it 5 stars

Sree Right? Like... that ending! Those twists! I am really pleasantly surprised with this one! But I hope the next thing you pick up is five star worthy!


message 13: by KAS (new) - rated it 5 stars

KAS Glad this one was an overall good read for you, Melanie! I rarely read thrillers and found this to be a great read, too ;). Fabulous review!! xoxo


Amanda Ahhhh, I just finished this book the other day! I liked his first book, Final Girls, better but loved this one too. Agreed on how Emma handles the epilogue--tbh I found myself on Vivian's side, even though obviously she's a terrible person.

And it pisses me off that he uses a gender neutral pseudonym. I've read a lot of reviews where people refer to the author with female pronouns, and it honestly makes me feel a little sick that he's cashing in on the success of amazing thriller writers like Gillian Flynn and others. He's a fantastic writer, and he actually writes women really well--there's no need to trick readers into thinking he's a woman. It just leaves a bad taste in my mouth. Bleh.


Melanie KAS wrote: "Glad this one was an overall good read for you, Melanie! I rarely read thrillers and found this to be a great read, too ;). Fabulous review!! xoxo"

Awh, thank you so much, love! I hope you're having the happiest of reading! 💛xx


Melanie Amanda wrote: "Ahhhh, I just finished this book the other day! I liked his first book, Final Girls, better but loved this one too. Agreed on how Emma handles the epilogue--tbh I found myself on Vivian's side, eve..."

yes to ALL of this, Amanda! I was totally on her side, too! And... yeah... I honestly thought it was a woman author when Final Girls came out. It took me a long time to realize he was a man, and it just feels... so cheap and gross. Blah! BUT I hope you're currently reading something five star worthy, love! And thank you for this comment! 💛xx


message 17: by MASTER UTSAV (new)

MASTER UTSAV From my point of view, it's very good book.

Nice review Melanie


back to top