Dee-Ann's Reviews > The Street Sweeper

The Street Sweeper by Elliot Perlman
Rate this book
Clear rating

I got to the point of no return last night ... I just had to finish the last 100 pages, and thus are feeling the effects today. Great book, which is a mirage of peoples lives and periods of time. Not too sure about the final paragraph and was expecting a little bit more Ver good though. It is a bit harrowing with the descriptions of the death camps and it is near impossble to imagine the savagery required to manage and work these areas.
6 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Street Sweeper.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

December 21, 2011 – Shelved
March 25, 2012 – Started Reading
March 25, 2012 –
page 36
"getting into it"
March 26, 2012 –
page 40
"acts of racism make me cringe, in that the victims are often helpless, in the wrong place at the wrong time."
March 31, 2012 –
page 85
April 1, 2012 –
page 102
"the links are fascinating"
April 2, 2012 –
page 110
"complex ... but I want to follow more of what is happening to Lamont."
April 9, 2012 –
page 270
"This book could make the year 12 booklist in the near future, though not sure about all the dates and references. It has me hooked."
April 10, 2012 –
page 280
"The atrocities are hard to deal with, on both continents."
April 11, 2012 –
page 284
"I naively thought the atrocities stopped at the end of WW11."
April 15, 2012 –
page 388
"Almost missed my busstop this morning as I was so engrossed in the story. Very bleak at the moment."
April 16, 2012 –
page 438
"I could not get the incinerator images out of my head lst night ... I just have to read on to hopefully replace them with other images."
April 17, 2012 – Shelved as: australian-authors
April 17, 2012 – Shelved as: five-star
April 17, 2012 – Shelved as: historical-fiction
April 17, 2012 – Shelved as: goodreads-giveaway
April 17, 2012 – Shelved as: memoir
April 17, 2012 – Shelved as: library-book-reading-session
April 17, 2012 – Finished Reading

Comments (showing 1-1 of 1) (1 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Mish Dee-Ann, I completely forgot to write a review on this but I’ve written one now – Amazing book and compelling read. I hope you enjoy it :)

back to top