Debra's Reviews > Inspection

Inspection by Josh Malerman
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5032725
's review

liked it
bookshelves: netgalley

Best laid plans and all that......

What happens when good old D.A.D and M.O.M keep their "children" in the dark? That really is the question! J is one of the 26 Alphabet boys. They are being raised by D.A.D. and his "staff". The boys are smart, they are being raised to be prodigies. They only know each other, their school, their D.A.D. and the people who work at the school. They fear disease almost as much as they fear becoming spoiled rotten and being sent to the Corner. *shivers* J has always been happy with the status quo, but he like the other boys are getting older, they are maturing, and they are beginning to ask questions. Meanwhile, another school exists. A school run by M.O.M who raises 26 girls, one of whom is named K. She has questions as well.

This book was a slow burn for me. Very different from Malerman's books such as Bird Box and Unbury Carol. Kudos for him for originality and creativity. Seriously, my hat is off for him thinking outside of the box and being unique. But this was a little slow for me until, well, it wasn't. The end of the book really kicks things into high gear. What happens when people are kept in the dark? What happens when you learn about the existence of others? What happens when those you trusted kept secrets and lied to you? What happens when you learn the truth?

I do like the use of the alphabet or letters for the children. I thought he did a good job showing how the adults stayed detached. No real names for the kids- unless the letter of the alphabet constitutes as a name Reminded me of Bird Box when the children were known as boy or girl. They have an identity and yet not an identity at the same time.

This was a solid 3 star read for me. The slowness brought it down a little for me. It is thought provoking. A great book for discussion. I love the premise but would have liked more intensity throughout. I can almost see this played out as a movie. There is a sense of dread throughout the book. As a reader, I wanted to know what would happen when the "truth" came out. What happens when those who were never supposed to meet, do in fact meet? Plus, I really wanted to know how one became spoiled rotten and got sent to the Corner? What was the corner?

Thank you to Random House Publishing Group-Ballantine and NetGalley for proving me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All the thoughts and opinions are my own.
118 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Inspection.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

August 14, 2018 – Shelved
August 14, 2018 – Shelved as: to-read
January 26, 2019 – Started Reading
January 26, 2019 – Shelved as: netgalley
January 27, 2019 –
10.0%
January 28, 2019 –
16.0%
January 28, 2019 –
24.0%
January 29, 2019 –
38.0%
January 29, 2019 –
48.0%
January 30, 2019 –
54.0%
January 30, 2019 –
73.0%
January 30, 2019 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-32 of 32 (32 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Susanne  Strong OOH!!! Super excited to see your review Debra!!!!


message 2: by sue (new)

sue Me too!


Debra Susanne wrote: "OOH!!! Super excited to see your review Debra!!!!"

fingers crossed that it's good!


Debra sue wrote: "Me too!"

: )


message 5: by Felicia (new)

Felicia I've still not been approved 😩😩😩😩


Debra Felicia wrote: "I've still not been approved 😩😩😩😩"

That sucks : ( fingers crossed you get approved soon!


Kendall How far are you into this? You enjoying it so far? I just started it last night.


Debra Kendall wrote: "How far are you into this? You enjoying it so far? I just started it last night."

Kendall, I just finished. This was slow for me the entire read but the end did pick up. 3 star read for me. How are you liking it?


message 9: by Dita (new)

Dita Following along!!


message 10: by KAS (new)

KAS I am reading “The Bird Box” right now, and always finding my mouth hanging open ;) This author is definitely creative. Glad you enjoyed this one and wonderful review, Debra!! 😊💜


message 11: by Paula (new)

Paula Kalin Terrific review as always, Debra!


Debra KAS wrote: "I am reading “The Bird Box” right now, and always finding my mouth hanging open ;) This author is definitely creative. Glad you enjoyed this one and wonderful review, Debra!! 😊💜"

Thank you KAS! I LOVED Bird Box! He is creative!


Debra Paula wrote: "Terrific review as always, Debra!"

Thank you Paula!


message 14: by Shaina (new) - added it

Shaina This still sounds interesting you know! Well done, Debra. :)


Debra Shaina wrote: "This still sounds interesting you know! Well done, Debra. :)"

Thank you Shaina!


Zoeytron Good review, Debra!


Debra Zoeytron wrote: "Good review, Debra!"

Thank you Zoeytron!


Kendall Fab review Debra! Just finished this tonight and felt the exact same as you. It was SO SLOW. Felt like it would never pick up.


Debra Kendall wrote: "Fab review Debra! Just finished this tonight and felt the exact same as you. It was SO SLOW. Felt like it would never pick up."

Thank you Kendall! Very slow with a killer ending. But it did seem like they went bat shit crazy really fast.


message 20: by Felicia (new)

Felicia I'm not going to read your review because I want to go in blind on this one. I assume it's a spectacular review as always. I'm just going to sit here in your comments and sob because I still haven't been approved. 😭😭😭😭😭😭


message 21: by Jayme (new)

Jayme Terrific review Debra! I am seeing a lot of mediocre reviews for this one!


Holly  B Nice review Debra! I hope this works for me.


Mary Beth *Traveling Sister* Fab review, Debra! I loved Bird Box! Sorry this
was a slow read for you. ❤


message 24: by Michelle (new) - added it

Michelle Excellent review, Debra! 💕


Debra Felicia wrote: "I'm not going to read your review because I want to go in blind on this one. I assume it's a spectacular review as always. I'm just going to sit here in your comments and sob because I still haven'..."

Shucks! You have been waiting a long time. I hope you get approved soon!


Debra Jayme wrote: "Terrific review Debra! I am seeing a lot of mediocre reviews for this one!"

Thank you Jayme! It's just so darn slow for most of the book.


Debra Holly wrote: "Nice review Debra! I hope this works for me."

Thank you Holly!


Debra Mary Beth *Traveling Sister* wrote: "Fab review, Debra! I loved Bird Box! Sorry this
was a slow read for you. ❤"


Thank you Mary Beth!


Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader Wonderful review, Debra! I’ve been super curious about this one!


Debra Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader wrote: "Wonderful review, Debra! I’ve been super curious about this one!"

Thank you Jennifer! It's a slow read until the end but definitely thought provoking.


message 31: by Sandra (new) - added it

Sandra Great review! :)


Debra Sandra wrote: "Great review! :)"

Thank you Sandra!


back to top