Melanie's Reviews > The Lost Sisters

The Lost Sisters by Holly Black
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3030788
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: fae, fantasy, read-in-2018, young-adult, romance
Read 2 times. Last read October 25, 2019.



1.) The Cruel Prince ★★★★★
2.) The Wicked King ★★★★★

“Fairy tales are full of girls who wait, who endure, who suffer. Good girls. Obedient girls. Girls who crush nettles until their hands bleed. Girls who haul water for witches. Girls who wander through deserts or sleep in ashes or make homes for transformed brothers in the woods. Girls without hands, without eyes, without the power of speech, without any power at all. But then a prince rides up and sees the girl and finds her beautiful. Beautiful, not despite her suffering, but because of it.”

No one weaves words and magic like Holly Black. No one. And I don’t even have words to express how amazing it feels to be back in this world. Not only did it make me appreciate The Cruel Prince more, it also made me emotional because of all the foreshadowing for The Wicked King. This is a pivotal short story that completely immersed me, captivated me, and reinforced that this is my favorite series of all-time.

It was so smart to format this story in a letter, that Taryn is writing to Jude, but in second person. It is eerie, and haunting, and it makes the reading experience feels so much more intimate, real, and unforgettable. Every time I open a Holly Black book, I feel like I’ve stepped right into the realm of fae, and this short story was no different.

“Faeries despise humans as liars, but there are different kinds of lying. Since you and I first came to Faerie, Jude, we’ve lied to each other plenty.”

The Lost Sisters allows you to see small glimpses into important scenes of The Cruel Prince, but we get to see it all unfold from Taryn’s point of view. I see a lot of reviews say that it made them sympathize with her, but it made me feel worse for Jude. This isn’t a redemption arc. This isn’t a happy ending. This isn’t what you’re expecting. This is just an honest look at Taryn’s feelings; and if I’m being honest, they are still really selfish.

“It’s terrible to be a girl trapped in a story. But you can be more than that. You can be the teller. You can shape the story. You can make all of Faerie love you.”

But Taryn really is trying to carve out her own place in a world that she never asked to live in. Vivi, Jude, and Taryn didn’t ask to lose their mother, be ripped from their home, and forced to live among people who will never make them feel like they belong. But all three girls feel and handle things very differently. Vivi feels sadness and wishes to escape. Jude feels angry and wishes for revenge. Taryn feels inadequacy and wishes for love. And all of these things are valid, and none of things are lesser, they are just different.

“His hair was bright in the moonlight, his face as handsome as heartbreak.”

But this book also really shines a spotlight on Locke. And he truly is the gaslighting, manipulative, abusive, royal jerk. This book really shows how easy it for abusive people to be manipulative. How they can twist everything to make it feel like it is all your fault. How they can make you crave their attention. How easy it is to feel like you’re being loved, not abused.

Honestly, the most interesting element of this book for me was the introduction of Edir, and the entire secret party and all the attendees. Again, it really reinforced (to me) that Locke is totally going to end up being the big bad of this entire story. Also, I just have a really soft spot in my heart for bard-like characters. And sometimes we really do need to listen to the songs of the mothers and women that came before us, to know how worthy of a new song we all really are.

“But that night, a pebble struck my window and I saw the shape of a boy standing below, smiling up at me as though he already knew all my secrets.”

My favorite part of the book? A whisper from Cardan. God, I’m so soft and weak and on brand. It’s really pathetic at this point. Seeing Cardan in this book was hard at first, really hard, I’m not going to lie, but seeing how far he’s come? How far him and Jude have both come? Lord, help me. It is almost funny to see them interact in this short story, knowing the storm that awaits them in The Wicked King.

Overall, I loved this. I really was expecting to feel differently after turning that last page, but this was still such an atmospheric ride that I truly never wanted to end. This series, this world, these characters, everything is just a tier above the rest. This is the series of my heart and soul. And Holly Black never ceases to amaze me. I stan one fae queen, and it is her. It will always be her.

“Let’s start with a love story. Or maybe it’s another horror story. It seems like the difference is mostly in where the ending comes.”

Blog | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Youtube | Twitch

Content and trigger warnings for murder, death, self-harm, bullying, and grey area cheating.
474 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Lost Sisters.
Sign In »

Quotes Melanie Liked

Holly Black
“Fairy tales are full of girls who wait, who endure, who suffer. Good girls. Obedient girls. Girls who crush nettles until their hands bleed. Girls who haul water for witches. Girls who wander through deserts or sleep in ashes or make homes for transformed brothers in the woods. Girls without hands, without eyes, without the power of speech, without any power at all. But then a prince rides up and sees the girl and finds her beautiful. Beautiful, not despite her suffering, but because of it.”
Holly Black, The Lost Sisters


Reading Progress

July 10, 2018 – Shelved
July 10, 2018 – Shelved as: to-read
July 10, 2018 – Shelved as: fae
July 10, 2018 – Shelved as: fantasy
July 10, 2018 – Shelved as: read-in-2018
July 10, 2018 – Shelved as: young-adult
October 1, 2018 – Started Reading
October 1, 2018 – Shelved as: romance
October 1, 2018 – Finished Reading
October 25, 2019 – Started Reading
October 25, 2019 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-47 of 47 (47 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Alex (PaperbackPiano) Ahaha Melanie, you made me giggle :')


Melanie Alex (PaperbackPiano) wrote: "Ahaha Melanie, you made me giggle :')"

Awh, thank you, Alex! I aim to please! Hehe! Happy reading, beautiful! 💗xx


anna I thought the same thing about Taryn! Why is she going to make me like her? Which I’d be okay with. But then I wondered if she is going to make us hate Taryn and Locke to setup something in a future book...


Melanie anna t wrote: "I thought the same thing about Taryn! Why is she going to make me like her? Which I’d be okay with. But then I wondered if she is going to make us hate Taryn and Locke to setup something in a futur..."

Hahaha! This warms my heart! I feel like... I'm just not going to be the same person after this novella! Haha! I hope whatever you're currently reading is five star worthy, Anna! 💗xx


drEADS_alot I'm assuming I need to read this to really understand Wicked King, right? Probably a dumb question, but is seems some of the .5 books in certain series aren't really 'must reads', at least I've found that to be the case in some instances.


Melanie drEADS_alot wrote: "I'm assuming I need to read this to really understand Wicked King, right? Probably a dumb question, but is seems some of the .5 books in certain series aren't really 'must reads', at least I've fou..."

It's a hard question, because I've read The Wicked King and feel like I understood it just fine, BUT I think this book will make me appreciate it a lot more. Especially in Regrades to Taryn and her motives. But I'll let you know come October 2nd, love! Happy reading! 💗xx


Camile Souza (This Chamber of Books) Ohhh is it that close already ahhh I had no idea it was this close ookay it's fine I'm fine


Melanie Camile wrote: "Ohhh is it that close already ahhh I had no idea it was this close ookay it's fine I'm fine"

Hahahaha! This is honestly my mood, too. Like.. I'm ready, right? RIGHT? RIGHHHHHT? Happy reading, beautiful! 💛xx


message 9: by Ana (new) - rated it 3 stars

Ana Guerra OMG! Thanks for this post 🙋🏻‍♀️🙌🏼


Melanie Ana wrote: "OMG! Thanks for this post 🙋🏻‍♀️🙌🏼"

You are so welcome, love! Happy reading! 💕xx


message 11: by Pris (new)

Pris I already feel emotional from your review, haha xx


Sol ~ TheBookishKing Amazing review as always 💚💛💙


Perla Torkan can't wait to read this one, because I completely forgot about it. Also, I love the fact that this isn't a redemption arc, cause that would just feel weird to me...


message 14: by Rachel (new) - added it

Rachel I loved this review. I haven't read any books in this series but do you think reading this one first to see if i like it would be a good way to go?


Melanie pris wrote: "I already feel emotional from your review, haha xx"

Hahaha! I love you and this comment, Pris! 💛xx


Melanie Solomon ~ TheBookishKing wrote: "Amazing review as always 💚💛💙"

Awh, thank you, my love! 💛xx


Melanie Perla wrote: "can't wait to read this one, because I completely forgot about it. Also, I love the fact that this isn't a redemption arc, cause that would just feel weird to me..."

Yeah! It's for sure just a behind the scenes look! But... it's so damn good, Perla! Happy reading, sweetheart! 💛xx


Melanie Rachel wrote: "I loved this review. I haven't read any books in this series but do you think reading this one first to see if i like it would be a good way to go?"

I'd for sure read The Cruel Prince first! This book just... helps you appreciate The Cruel Prince more, really. And it will spoil a lot of things that happen in The Cruel Prince! But happy reading with whatever you pick up, Rachel love! 💛xx


Lindsay Bilgram Cardan is the real hero of Lost Sisters, this novella definitely made me even more brokenhearted for Jude, and I love how much you love this series (it too, is my favorite series of all time and is basically my entire life<3)


message 20: by Rachel (new) - added it

Rachel Melanie wrote: "Rachel wrote: "I loved this review. I haven't read any books in this series but do you think reading this one first to see if i like it would be a good way to go?"

I'd for sure read The Cruel Prin..."


Ohh thank you Mel!! Your definitely the best 💜


Melanie Lindsay wrote: "Cardan is the real hero of Lost Sisters, this novella definitely made me even more brokenhearted for Jude, and I love how much you love this series (it too, is my favorite series of all time and is..."

Awh, I love how much you love it too, Lindsay! Truly a gift from above! (The series... and Cardan!) 🧡xx


Nashua Savannah williams Hi I need help how can you read a book


Nashua Savannah williams Hi friends can y'all add me


Melanie Nashua Savannah williams wrote: "Hi I need help how can you read a book"

Hello! Are you from the US? I saw some international friends having problems being able to download it, too! But if you're in the US it's $2.99 on Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/Lost-Sisters-H...

Happy reading! 🧡xx


message 25: by Cindy ✩☽♔ (new)

Cindy ✩☽♔ Sounds like I need to reach this ASAP 💕


Melanie Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔ wrote: "Sounds like I need to reach this ASAP 💕"

Yes, Cindy love! And then come gush with me! Happy reading! 🧡xx


message 27: by Donna (new)

Donna Wonderful review!!!


message 28: by KAS (new)

KAS Amazing review, Melanie ;) So fabulous this author always pleases!! xoxo


Melanie Donna wrote: "Wonderful review!!!"

Thank you so much, Donna love! 💖xx


Melanie KAS wrote: "Amazing review, Melanie ;) So fabulous this author always pleases!! xoxo"

Awh, thank you, love! Ahhh! This series is just... it's everything *fangirls forever* but I hope you're having a wonderful October and having the happiest of reading, sweetheart! 💖xx


message 31: by Deanna (new)

Deanna Fantastic review, Melanie!! <3<3


Kelly⁷ I'm sure your review is amazing just by the first quote! I can't wait to read this novella, that's why I'm not reading the review right now! *crying*


Melanie Deanna wrote: "Fantastic review, Melanie!! <3<3"

Thank you so much, Deanna love! I hope you're having happy reading! 💛xx


Melanie Ky wrote: "I'm sure your review is amazing just by the first quote! I can't wait to read this novella, that's why I'm not reading the review right now! *crying*"

Yeah, that first quote so damn good. The fae queen blesses us! Haha! I can't wait to gush with you over this story, love! Happy reading! 💛xx


Rebecca Love this review. I cannot wait for the Wicked King. It’s agony.


Melanie Miri ♪ Book Dragoness ♪ wrote: "Great review, Melanie! I really like the quotes you chose for this review. I requested my library to add "The Lost Sisters" to their ebook collection, now I just have to cross my fingers."

Awh, thank you so much! I have my fingers crossed for you, love! And I hope you're having happy reading! 💖xx


Melanie Rebecca wrote: "Love this review. I cannot wait for the Wicked King. It’s agony."

Awh, thank you so much, Rebecca! I can't wait for you to fall in love with it! Happy reading! 💖xx


Harry J Good!


Melanie Harry wrote: "Good!"

I hope you're having happy reading, Harry! 💕


message 40: by Bernice (new)

Bernice Omar .


message 41: by Bernice (new)

Bernice h


message 42: by Bernice (new)

Bernice n


message 43: by Bernice (new)

Bernice nn. m n k


message 44: by Kat (new) - added it

Kat Valentine Excellent review Melanie!💖😉


Melanie Kat wrote: "Excellent review Melanie!💖😉"

Thank you so very much, Kat! 💖xx


message 46: by Nightsister (new)

Nightsister Very funny.

Imi


message 47: by Nightsister (new)

Nightsister HaHa very funny,

nice work sister!


back to top