Terrie's Just Another Book B*tch's Reviews > The Highland Chieftain

The Highland Chieftain by Amy Jarecki
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
20834913
Just Another Book Bitch's ALWAYS SPOILER FREE REVIEW

Current status.... ๐Ÿค” trying to figure out how to marry a fictional character...from the past... I mean...it is 2018... Dunn MacRae... is the mouthwatering champion of the highlands. Breaks my heart. I really think I was born in the wrong era sometimes...then I make myself think of life without my iPhone and air conditioning ... ๐Ÿคท๐Ÿปโ€โ™€๏ธ

description


This story is about how perfect Dunn MacRae is for me ... ๐Ÿ™„ FINE! It's a love story about Dunn MacRae and Mairi MacKenzie. Don't get me wrong Mairi is great. She's lived a sheltered pampered life but she's a strong and caring woman that won't make you want to throw your Kindle (like some simpleton heroines can be) Mairi MacKenzie is the sweet heartbroken innocent daughter of an earl. When her engagement is canceled she's humiliated. She's left wondering what life has in store for her if anything at all...

I liked her I really did!

But Dunn MacRae is


description


He's the reason we buy, read, and swoon for romance reads!


Dunn is the sworn man of Captain Reid MacKenzie, Earl of Seaforth. MacRae is the highland champion. Revered for his strength and courage.

โ€œMacRae had earned his reputation because of his behemoth size and scale on the battlefield. He was a warrior. Ran into the face of danger when others were tucking their tails and fleeing.โ€


While Dunn appears to be the scowling brute on the sidelines he is SO MUCH MORE!. Dunn rides in to save our heroine and steals our hearts while he's at it. He proves to be the hero with a heart of gold. He's so sweet and romantic! He quickly became my favorite hero from all the Lords of the Highlands novels by Amy Jarecki. He takes the risk of showing Mairi how he feels even when he doesn't think he could ever deserve her.

โ€œBy allowing his heart to take over his judgment, he was playing with fire.โ€


This was such an easy read. I couldn't turn the pages fast enough. Amy has an easy way with words that transports us to another time and place. She easily captures our hearts. The Highland Chieftain is definitely my favorite of this series. But what I adore most about the Lords of the Highlands series, is that they are all true standalones. You can read them in any order you want and truly enjoy them. I have, and I'm in awe of the author's talent to make me feel like I'm not missing anything while simultaneously making me NEED the other books in the series. Well done Ms. Jarecki, I can't wait for the next book!

Thanks to Forever Romance for a paperback ARC and Amy Jarecki for the opportunity to review.

The Highland Chieftain hits retailers July 31st in the US and Canada, and August 30th in the UK

PURCHASE LINKS
Amazon US, Amazon UK, Amazon CA

Find/follow me on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter & My Blog Page
48 likes ·  โˆ™ flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Highland Chieftain.
Sign In ยป

Reading Progress

July 4, 2018 – Started Reading
July 4, 2018 – Shelved
July 4, 2018 – Shelved as: arc
July 4, 2018 – Shelved as: forever-romance-grandcentral-publis
July 5, 2018 – Finished Reading
July 7, 2018 – Shelved as: 5-bad-ass-stars
July 7, 2018 – Shelved as: contemporary
July 7, 2018 – Shelved as: cute
July 7, 2018 – Shelved as: favorites
July 7, 2018 – Shelved as: must-read
July 7, 2018 – Shelved as: swooned

Comments Showing 1-38 of 38 (38 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by DJ (new)

DJ Sakata I covet your mad skills!


Terrie's Just Another Book B*tch DJ wrote: "I covet your mad skills!"

HAHAHHAHA!!! Thank you DJ! Love your face!


message 3: by KAS (new)

KAS Absolutely loved your review, Terrie ;) Glad to hear how swoon worthy Dunn is. ๐Ÿ˜„ I love a great Highlander read, so will definitely be checking this one out!! XoXo


Terrie's Just Another Book B*tch KAS wrote: "Absolutely loved your review, Terrie ;) Glad to hear how swoon worthy Dunn is. ๐Ÿ˜„ I love a great Highlander read, so will definitely be checking this one out!! XoXo"

Thanks so much Kas!! These Highlanders are so worth it!! But umm.... Dunn is spoken for LMAO!! Hope you get a chance to read them!!


message 5: by Nicole (new) - added it

Nicole Johnson https://gph.is/2doNnhV

^^My reaction when clicking the buy link and discovering it isn't available yet. Girlllllllllllllllllllll, I'm not good at waiting. LOL!
Fab review. I definitely want to read this one.


Terrie's Just Another Book B*tch LMAO!! Sorry! Getting through my ARCS. Totally worth the pre-order though!


message 7: by Kim (new)

Kim Sutton Great review! Think youโ€™ve just made me want to read historical for the first time


Terrie's Just Another Book B*tch Kim wrote: "Great review! Think youโ€™ve just made me want to read historical for the first time"

GURRL! YOU MUST!!


message 9: by KFForever (new)

KFForever Ages since I've read a historical romance but your review has certainly opened my...ahem, appetite for a Scottish brute!!!


message 10: by Hanne (new)

Hanne Excellent review, Terrie :) x


message 11: by Melissa (new)

Melissa Great review, Terrie! ๐Ÿ’œ


Terrie's Just Another Book B*tch KFForever wrote: "Ages since I've read a historical romance but your review has certainly opened my...ahem, appetite for a Scottish brute!!!"

MMM Scotsman *sigh* Get on it girl!


Terrie's Just Another Book B*tch Hanne wrote: "Excellent review, Terrie :) x"

Thanks so much Hanne! <3


Terrie's Just Another Book B*tch Melissa wrote: "Great review, Terrie! ๐Ÿ’œ"

Thank you Melissa!!


message 15: by Maureen (new)

Maureen You really do post some fantastic reviews Terrie ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป


Terrie's Just Another Book B*tch Maureen wrote: "You really do post some fantastic reviews Terrie ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป"

Thank you so much Maureen <3


message 17: by Tish (new)

Tish (Cocktails & Fairytales) Amazing review!!


message 18: by Nikki (new)

Nikki (Saturday Nite Reader) solid gif game!


Terrie's Just Another Book B*tch Tish wrote: "Amazing review!!"

Thank you so much Tish!!


Terrie's Just Another Book B*tch Nikki wrote: "solid gif game!"

๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚Thanks Nikki!


message 21: by Jeneane (new)

Jeneane Dude now I want to read a bodice ripper again


message 22: by Deanna (new)

Deanna Awesome review! Love the gifs too!


Terrie's Just Another Book B*tch Jeneane wrote: "Dude now I want to read a bodice ripper again"

๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚THEY'RE A MUST! Gotta get back to the old school romance!


Terrie's Just Another Book B*tch Deanna wrote: "Awesome review! Love the gifs too!"

Thank you so much Deanna!! ๐Ÿ’œ


message 25: by S.H. (new)

S.H. Timmins I love the passion you write your reviews with! If anyone can champion a book they love, you are the hero. ๐Ÿ˜Š


Terrie's Just Another Book B*tch S.H. wrote: "I love the passion you write your reviews with! If anyone can champion a book they love, you are the hero. ๐Ÿ˜Š"

Awe Thank you hon! I think I just sound crazy! LMAO


message 27: by Amy (new)

Amy Jarecki I always hide under a blanket when I hop onto Goodreads, but I must say, this review was delightful to wake up to this morning. Thank you, Terrie, you are fab!


Terrie's Just Another Book B*tch Amy wrote: "I always hide under a blanket when I hop onto Goodreads, but I must say, this review was delightful to wake up to this morning. Thank you, Terrie, you are fab!"

Awe!! Yay!! Thank you Amy!! โค๏ธโค๏ธ


message 29: by [deleted user] (new)

Amazing review Terrie! :)


message 30: by Chelsea (new) - added it

Chelsea Fantastic review, Terrie! Glad you enjoyed this a lot.... especially the hero ๐Ÿ˜˜


Terrie's Just Another Book B*tch Katiria wrote: "Amazing review Terrie! :)"

Thank you Katiria! โค๏ธ


Terrie's Just Another Book B*tch Chelsea wrote: "Fantastic review, Terrie! Glad you enjoyed this a lot.... especially the hero ๐Ÿ˜˜"

Thank you Chelsea! That I did! โค๏ธ


message 33: by Nikki (new)

Nikki (Saturday Nite Reader) Solid gif game! ๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿป


message 34: by Karla (new)

Karla Strand Wowsers you really liked that guy haha. Romance is not my gig but your reviews are!


Terrie's Just Another Book B*tch Nikki wrote: "Solid gif game! ๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿป"

๐Ÿ˜‚Thanks Nikki! โค๏ธ


Terrie's Just Another Book B*tch Karla wrote: "Wowsers you really liked that guy haha. Romance is not my gig but your reviews are!"

Awe! Thank you Karla! โค๏ธ


message 37: by Nicki (new)

Nicki White Fantastic review.


Terrie's Just Another Book B*tch She Always Reads wrote: "Fantastic review."

Thank you Cia! โค๏ธ


back to top