may ➹'s Reviews > The Song of Achilles

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
68157476
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: read-2018, adult, buddy-reads, diverse, ebook, i-actually-cried, important-messages, rep-lgbtqiap, library, my-heart, my-soul-hurts, pov-1st, pov-male, retelling, romance, good-ending, 5-star, read-2019, mythology, favorites, read-2020, historical-fiction, rereads, rep-lgbtqiap-mlm
Recommended to may ➹ by: dyl
Read 3 times. Last read March 15, 2020 to March 16, 2020.

5/9/20: yes it’s 5pm on a regular Saturday evening and I’m thinking about “I would know him in death, at the end of the world” and crying..... no one talk to me

——————

3/16/20: this is one of those books that get better every time you reread it and by better I mean worse because you will cry over every little thing that happens

——————

3/7/19: imagine being me and rereading this and having no care for my own emotions and wondering why I’m crying at 2 am

(I already want to reread it again)
235 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Song of Achilles.
Sign In »

Quotes may ➹ Liked

Madeline Miller
“I could recognize him by touch alone, by smell; I would know him blind, by the way his breaths came and his feet struck the earth. I would know him in death, at the end of the world.”
Madeline Miller, The Song of Achilles

Madeline Miller
“Name one hero who was happy."
I considered. Heracles went mad and killed his family; Theseus lost his bride and father; Jason's children and new wife were murdered by his old; Bellerophon killed the Chimera but was crippled by the fall from Pegasus' back.
"You can't." He was sitting up now, leaning forward.
"I can't."
"I know. They never let you be famous AND happy." He lifted an eyebrow. "I'll tell you a secret."
"Tell me." I loved it when he was like this.
"I'm going to be the first." He took my palm and held it to his. "Swear it."
"Why me?"
"Because you're the reason. Swear it."
"I swear it," I said, lost in the high color of his cheeks, the flame in his eyes.
"I swear it," he echoed.
We sat like that a moment, hands touching. He grinned.
"I feel like I could eat the world raw.”
Madeline Miller, The Song of Achilles

Madeline Miller
“In the darkness, two shadows, reaching through the hopeless, heavy dusk. Their hands meet, and light spills in a flood like a hundred golden urns pouring out of the sun.”
Madeline Miller, The Song of Achilles

Madeline Miller
“He is half of my soul, as the poets say.”
Madeline Miller, The Song of Achilles


Reading Progress

June 23, 2018 – Started Reading
June 23, 2018 – Shelved
June 23, 2018 –
2.0% "2% in and it’s already gay god bless"
June 23, 2018 –
8.0% "i swear to god if this doesn’t get more exciting by 25% i’m going to give up on all historical fiction even if it’s gay"
June 27, 2018 – Shelved as: read-2018
June 27, 2018 – Shelved as: adult
June 27, 2018 – Shelved as: buddy-reads
June 27, 2018 – Shelved as: diverse
June 27, 2018 – Shelved as: ebook
June 27, 2018 – Shelved as: i-actually-cried
June 27, 2018 – Shelved as: important-messages
June 27, 2018 – Shelved as: rep-lgbtqiap
June 27, 2018 – Shelved as: library
June 27, 2018 – Shelved as: my-heart
June 27, 2018 – Shelved as: my-soul-hurts
June 27, 2018 – Shelved as: pov-1st
June 27, 2018 – Shelved as: pov-male
June 27, 2018 – Shelved as: retelling
June 27, 2018 – Shelved as: romance
June 27, 2018 – Finished Reading
January 2, 2019 – Shelved as: good-ending
February 9, 2019 – Shelved as: 5-star
March 7, 2019 – Started Reading
March 9, 2019 – Finished Reading
March 10, 2019 – Shelved as: read-2019
June 25, 2019 – Shelved as: mythology
January 22, 2020 – Shelved as: favorites
March 15, 2020 – Started Reading
March 16, 2020 – Shelved as: read-2020
March 16, 2020 – Finished Reading
March 17, 2020 – Shelved as: historical-fiction
May 9, 2020 – Shelved as: rereads
September 5, 2020 – Shelved as: rep-lgbtqiap-mlm

Comments Showing 1-14 of 14 (14 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Shruhashi Dey happy reading! I can't wait to get my hands on this book!!


lily ☁️ Finally!!!


maddie It's so worth it though


Thérèse AAA HAVE FUN READING (and crying)


clara this book is my FAVOURITE thing in the world. hope you enjoy! 💜


maddie the last line gets me EVERY SINGLE TIME


message 7: by [deleted user] (new)

oh no i dont think im ready oh no


message 8: by [deleted user] (new)

btw im at like page 200


message 9: by Jackie (new) - added it

Jackie oh shoot do i have to read this now


message 10: by [deleted user] (new)

YOUR CRIED. FOUR STARS!!! YESSS


Emily // Mixed Margins I pretty much had the same reaction. I thought I was crazy because I heard it was so sad but about 90% I was stone faced. And then abruptly it hit and I was ugly crying by the end.


madeline ♡ ahh i just heard madeline miller speak last night!!! i wanna reread so bad


message 13: by Anj (new) - rated it 4 stars

Anj I'M CURRENTLY READING THIS BOOK AND YES, I CAN'T GET OVER THIS BEAUTIFUL SHIP #PATRILLESLOVEEEE oh wow that ship name sounds weird .


message 14: by Ruci (new) - rated it 4 stars

Ruci Tukana Oh Madeline, why my heart!😢


back to top