Iris's Reviews > The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
72911146
Um, wow. Almost a month later, and I still don't know how to review this book.

This book was intense. It played with my mind, and kept me guessing for most of the book. I have to say, I did guess the big plot twist, but not until a couple chapters before, and it still blew me away.

And the CHARACTERS! They were all sooo good! Monique did get on my nerves at times (*cough cough* her comment about Evelyn being ready to come out as a gay woman, and Evelyn being like 'did you not hear anything I just said? I'm bisexual you idiot.' (Eveylyn is amazing)), but for the most part I did quite like her, and her plot line was fascinating.

And then there was Evelyn. I loved Evelyn with all of my being. Evelyn was manipulative and deceitful, yes. She was greedy at times. But she was SUCH a good character! And she learned! She developed! And honestly I adored her from the start!

Also this book was SO PAINFUL! 😭😭😭😭😭

And ajagskhfhjgjfdshfgh I just loved it so much! The other characters were also great! And literally just everything about this book was amazing! Even if I did predict the big twist a little... But it didn't even matter, this book just blew me away. Completely and utterly.

I cannot recommend it more.

***Initial reaction, July 20, 2018***

Wow. I. Am. In. Pain. RTC.

Buddy Read with Karima!
52 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

June 3, 2018 – Shelved
June 3, 2018 – Shelved as: to-read
July 7, 2018 – Started Reading
July 7, 2018 –
page 0
0.0% "I've heard nothing but good things about this one, so fingers crossed I'm going to love it!

Buddy reading with Karima!"
July 7, 2018 –
page 39
9.75% "I'm really liking the characters so far!"
July 8, 2018 –
page 82
20.5% "This is sooooo good so far!"
July 9, 2018 –
page 106
26.5% "Evelyn is so deceitful and manipulative and I love it."
July 10, 2018 –
page 140
36.08% "Ooh, this is getting good!"
July 11, 2018 –
page 162
41.75% "THIS IS SO INTRIGUING AND AMAZING!"
July 12, 2018 –
page 184
47.42% "Evelyn is something of an evil genius."
July 13, 2018 –
page 211
54.38% "Things just got VERY interesting!"
July 14, 2018 –
page 241
62.11% "I am LOVING this book, and I am SO intrigued as to where it's going!"
July 15, 2018 –
page 260
67.01% "Uh-oh. Uh-oh. Uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh uh-oh UH-OH!!!!"
July 16, 2018 –
page 288
74.23% "Whoo, Monique! You go girl!"
July 19, 2018 –
page 362
93.3% "Called it. But still. Wow."
July 20, 2018 – Shelved as: emotional-pain
July 20, 2018 – Shelved as: contemporary
July 20, 2018 – Shelved as: historical-fiction
July 20, 2018 – Shelved as: impossible-to-put-down
July 20, 2018 – Shelved as: perfect-endings
July 20, 2018 – Shelved as: read-in-2018
July 20, 2018 – Shelved as: wow
July 20, 2018 – Finished Reading
September 15, 2018 – Shelved as: lgbtq
November 12, 2018 – Shelved as: 5-stars
November 12, 2018 – Shelved as: adult
November 12, 2018 – Shelved as: girl-power
November 12, 2018 – Shelved as: my-favourites

Comments Showing 1-5 of 5 (5 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Megan P ☆ I'm loving this so far!


message 2: by Fergus (new) - added it

Fergus Thanks for your wonderful spontaneity!


Iris Megan wrote: "I'm loving this so far!"

It's such an amazing book, right?! Hope you continue to love it!


message 4: by Ilhem (new) - added it

Ilhem Definitely reading this!!


Iris Ilhem wrote: "Definitely reading this!!"

Yesss! It's so good!


back to top