Rute Canhoto's Reviews > Nate Rocks the World

Nate Rocks the World by Karen Pokras Toz
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5706229
's review
Nov 29, 2011

really liked it

** spoiler alert ** Acabei de ler “Nate Rocks the World” dia 15 de Dezembro de 2011 e dou-lhe 4 estrelas.
Esta é a história de Nathan Rockledge, um rapazinho de 10 anos que tem uma imaginação muito fértil. Para ele, tudo é pretexto para a criação de uma elaborada aventura mental, acompanhada de muitos rabiscos à mistura.
É uma narrativa um pouco diferente, na medida em que parece que não existe uma história específica, mas sim várias que irão culminar num ponto-chave. É-nos contada a vida de Nathan, não dia-a-dia, mas seguindo os episódios mais importantes que se sucedem no calendário até se chegar à desejada viagem de férias à Florida.
Não é um género literário que costumo ler com frequência, mas gostei. Agradaram-me particularmente as reflexões que o Nate faz acerca de certos episódios e que retratam a inocência infantil. A título de exemplo (e sendo um pouco spoiler), o Nathan diz que ainda não percebeu porque é que o pai continua a dar jóias à mãe no Natal, se ela chora sempre; já devia ter percebido que isso a deixa triste. Lol! Este género de piadas remete-me para “As Aventuras do Menino Nicolau” (“Le Petit Nicolas”), de René Goscinny e Jean-Jacques Sempé. Para quem não conhece, a personagem do Menino Nicolau nasceu nos anos 50, primeiro em jornal e só depois passou para livro. Esta é uma criança que nos conta a sua vida (disputas, conversas com os amigos, relação com o professor, etc) de acordo com o seu ponto de vista e numa linguagem muito própria. Neste aspecto, achei ambas as histórias se aproximavam, por isso quem gosta de uma, deve gostar da outra =)
Também me agradou o que aconteceu no fim: o Nate tornou-se no herói que sempre imaginou ser – foi como um sonho tornado realidade. Tenho apenas a apontar que acho que o final podia ter sido um pouco mais desenvolvido indo, por exemplo, até ao final das férias, só para completar o ciclo.

******************************************************************

I finished reading "Nate Rocks the World" on 15th December 2011, and I give it a four-star rating.
This is the story of Nathan Rockledge, a ten-year-old boy, who has a very fertile imagination. For him, everything is a pretext for an elaborate mental adventure, accompanied by many written doodles and scribbles.
This is a narrative a little different since it seems that there isn’t about a specific story, but there are several run parallel to each other and merge together at one key point. We chronologically follow Nathan's important milestones in his life up until he goes on a much-desired vacation to Florida.
This book is a genre I seldom read, but I liked it. I particularly liked Nate’s reflections about certain episodes, which illustrated the childhood innocence. For example (this is a little spoiler), Nathan says he doesn’t understand why his father keeps on giving jewelry to his mother at Christmas if she cries every time and that he should have realized by now that it makes her sad. Lol! This reminded me of "Le Petit Nicolas", by René Goscinny and Jean-Jacques Sempé. For those not familiar with it, Nicolas is character created in the 50s, appearing first in newspapers and then as a book. Nicolas is a child who tells his life story (discussions, conversations with friends, the relationship with his teacher, etc) according to his point of view and in a language of its own. I thought that both Nate’s and Nicolas’s stories were similar. So if you read and enjoyed “Le Petit Nicolas”, you’ll enjoy this book and vice versa.
What happened at the end pleased me as well: Nate became the hero he always wanted to be - it was like a dream come true for him. I just think that the end could have been a little more developed; for example, it could have been extended till the end of the holidays, just to complete the cycle.
1 like · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Nate Rocks the World.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

November 29, 2011 – Shelved
December 10, 2011 – Started Reading
December 10, 2011 –
page 7
5.34%
December 12, 2011 –
page 44
33.59%
December 14, 2011 –
page 85
64.89%
December 14, 2011 –
page 101
77.1%
December 15, 2011 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.