Brenda's Reviews > Nine Perfect Strangers

Nine Perfect Strangers by Liane Moriarty
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
2337007
Frances Welty, popular romance writer who'd just felt her first rejection, had thought her career and future were assured at fifty-five years of age. The impulsive booking at Tranquillum House, a health and wellness resort (which was expensive), had her questioning her own decisions on the long and tiring drive from Sydney. Her arrival showed her a beautiful old home built in the 1800s, renovated to within an inch of its life, with a staircase reminiscent of the Titanic (in the film with Leonardo DiCaprio and Kate Winslet; which made Frances smile) – perhaps she might enjoy it after all.

Meeting the other eight guests – Carmel, Tony, Lars, Napolean and his wife Heather and daughter Zoe, Jessica and her husband Ben – felt strange. But even stranger was the fact the course started with five days of silence. Not a word to be spoken; no eye contact – five days! Frances knew that would be difficult. Within that period, there were meditation classes, walking, massage therapy, smoothies and meals, plus free time to swim in the luxurious pool. All to be done in silence.

But each and every guest had a secret – and who were the people in charge of the resort? Were the guests comfortable with all that was happening to them? Some were – some most definitely weren’t…

Nine Perfect Strangers is the latest by Aussie author Liane Moriarty and wow! How different, how intriguing, how bizarre – how fabulous! I thoroughly enjoyed it, and even with it being almost 500 pages, I flew through it. I can see this one being made into a movie – it would be fantastic on the big screen. I have no hesitation in recommending Nine Perfect Strangers highly, and wish to thank Pan Macmillan Australia for my uncorrected proof ARC to read in exchange for my honest review.
74 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Nine Perfect Strangers.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

May 29, 2018 – Shelved
May 29, 2018 – Shelved as: to-read
May 29, 2018 – Shelved as: 2018-release
May 29, 2018 – Shelved as: aussie-authors
May 29, 2018 – Shelved as: contemporary-fiction
July 26, 2018 – Shelved as: arc
July 26, 2018 – Shelved as: uncorrected-proof
July 26, 2018 – Shelved as: sent-by-publisher
July 26, 2018 – Shelved as: reviewing-by-request
September 14, 2018 – Started Reading
September 14, 2018 – Shelved as: 5000-books
September 14, 2018 – Shelved as: own-read
September 15, 2018 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-15 of 15 (15 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Erin I submitted a request for this book a week ago on NetGalley, but it’s still pending.
Oh well, I’m on hold at the library too. Either way, I hope to be reading it soon!


Erin Hope you enjoyed it :)


Brenda I did Erin :) I have written my review but know how strict they are with embargo dates (even though others have posted their reviews) so thought I'd just wait the three days...


message 4: by Gloria (new) - added it

Gloria Bernal Anxious to read your review, Brenda.


Brenda Thanks :) I'll post it on the 18th - I promise :)


message 6: by Wendy (new) - added it

Wendy Great review Brenda!


Brenda Thanks Wendy!


message 8: by Li'l Owl (new)

 Li'l Owl Sounds interesting, Brenda! Great review and I love the cover!


Brenda Thanks Owl - it's different isn't it!


message 10: by Lisa (new) - added it

Lisa Love your review Brenda, can't wait to read this one. :)


Brenda Thanks Lisa! A good read :)


message 12: by Toni (new) - rated it 4 stars

Toni Great review Brenda, without revealing a thing! So proud! Just enough to tempt us, as if we needed it! Haha. JK. I "wished" for it on Netgalley, but wasn't surprised I never heard back. I get Elin Hilderbrand books right away but never Liane Moriarty's. Oh well. One more day. The title reminds me of Agatha Christies novel "And then there were none" and the 1965 film, "Ten Little Little Indians" directed by George Pollock, where ten people show up at this remote house, all strangers, and one by one they end up dead. They all had secrets to hide too. Check it out. It's fabulously creepy and very Hitchcock like. Cheers.


Brenda Thanks Toni :)


message 14: by Bianca (new) - added it

Bianca Excellent review, Brenda.


Brenda Thanks Bianca :)


back to top