Emily Duncan's Reviews > Ruthless Gods

Ruthless Gods by Emily A. Duncan
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
66603963
's review

(Review from the author)
Read 2 times. Last read April 7, 2020 to April 9, 2020.

it's weird! it's cerebral! everyone is sad! it nearly killed me! it's a good 100 pages longer than WICKED SAINTS!

if you like cosmic horror, forests that want to eat you, and very sad very pretty boys and very tired very done with everything girls then i have a book for you.

that's all, see ya in 2020.

edit: 6.19.19: ~we have a cover~ and i'm just going to come out ahead of arcs and put the necessary content warnings here because we're dealing with about the same level of blood/self harm as Wicked Saints, about the same level of alcoholism (Serefin is Having A Time), i guess the same level of gore? That one is rough because each person's understanding of what gore is in a book is different, I didn't think WS was particularly gory but some readers did! So! Keep that in mind I think RG is about the same level in regards to that, some minor drug use as a magic avenue (it's mushrooms, but still!), the big one in this book is body horror/eye horror. Mainly eye horror. There is so much eye horror in this book I don't know what happened. So if eye stuff gets to you (it gets to me idk how i wrote this) I'd be careful with this one!

edit: 8.1.19: i have the Actual Page Numbers now and while there's weird eye stuff throughout the book but there's massive eye trauma on pages 513/514. So, those are the pages to avoid if it's something that squicks you out, and they absolutely can be skipped, you can figure out what happens in them in the next chapter.

edit: 4.9.20: it’s OUT have FUN drink WATER. I just listened to the sixteen hour audiobook in two days and it’s a DELIGHT.
478 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Ruthless Gods.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

Finished Reading
May 17, 2018 – Shelved
April 7, 2020 – Started Reading
April 9, 2020 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.