Melanie's Reviews > Radio Silence

Radio Silence by Alice Oseman
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3030788
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: contemporary, young-adult, lgbtqiap, buddy-reads, read-in-2018, favorites, own-voices
Recommended to Melanie by: kat



“…please just call me Radio. Radio Silence. I am, after all, only a voice on a radio, and there may not be anyone listening.”

Radio Silence is the best contemporary book I’ve ever read. Full stop. So, buckle in, because this is going to be a full-gush review, because this book was everything. And holy shit did it blow all my expectations out of the water.

I normally give a brief synopsis about the book I’m reviewing here, but Radio Silence almost feels too personal for me to even type this review, to be completely honest. But this is a book about a boy and girl and the different stages of their completely platonic friendship. We get to see them bond over a fandom, and we get to see them discover who they wish they could be.

Frances - Bisexual, biracial (Ethiopian and white), head girl at her high school, and an artist.
Aled - Gay, demisexual, creator of a up-and-coming podcast and Youtube channel.
Daniel - Gay, Korean immigrant, head boy at his high school.
Carys - Lesbian, Aled’s twin sister who has been missing for a while now.
Raine - Indian, selfless angel, who is pan!



And these five characters come together in this book and create something so beautiful that I don’t even have words for it. But this book can get pretty dark in certain places, so please use caution. Trigger and content warnings for talk of mental illness, implied depression, implied suicidal thinking, parental abuse, physical abuse, extreme invasions of privacy on social media and the internet, very hateful comments to a creator on the internet, and death of a pet.

“This hardly qualifies as a distress call anymore—by gods, if anyone was listening, I would have heard from you by now.”

First off, I want to talk about how people always hail Fangirl as the book they related to going into college, but I think Radio Silence does everything Fangirl does, but a million times better and more relatable. Both of these stories are about kids going into college, unsure of what they want out of life, both feeling like outcasts that can never truly be themselves. Both of these books even focus on fandoms and hidden identities. Hell, they even break up the mainstream story with stories from the fandom they love. The parallels are endless, and I’m not here to be negative about Fangirl, but I only thought that story was okay, where Radio Silence touched my heart and spoke to my soul.

We live in a world where our society puts so much pressure on kids to go to college. And I’m going to be really real with you all for a minute. My college? My parents picked. They knew before I was born I’d go to that college. My degree? My parents picked because science degrees get you jobs. The job I currently have? Because of that degree, not because of my wishes or wants. And I’m very privileged to have the education I have had, to go the college I went to, and to have the job that I currently have. But those core parts of my life were picked for me, and they have and will continue to impact my life forever. And that’s not just a reality for me, that’s a reality for so many people I know. And I’ve never read a book that confronts that the way Radio Silence does.

Radio Silence is a book about living your life for you. It’s okay to not know what you want, or who you even are, but you have to live your life for you. Society’s expectations, your parent’s expectations, your academic leader’s expectations, all of this can feel like the weight of the world on your shoulders. And it can be so heavy. Like, I promise, it feels so heavy sometimes still. But this is a love letter about making the weight not feel so heavy. And I swear to God, I turned the last page of this book and felt lighter. I truly believe books can have healing powers, and Radio Silence healed some of my wounds that I thought stopped bleeding years ago.

“I was going to be happy. Wasn’t I? I was. Uni, job, money, happiness. That’s what you do. That’s the formula. Everyone knows that. I knew that.”

I do think that Radio Silence is a story about becoming who you want to be, even if you don’t know who that person is yet, but I also think it’s a story about living with mental illness. Obviously, I’m not going to pretend that my experience is the end all be all, but mental illnesses are something you have to live with and fight with constantly. Aled is such a realistic character, and his mental illness is something that I think is so relatable to so many younger people (I want to say millennials so badly) and this book is going to mean so much to so many people. I honestly wish I could put this book into every single high school senior’s hands. Because school isn’t for everyone, and college isn’t for everyone, but validity and acceptance are for everyone.

This book also shines a spotlight on how fucking toxic the internet, fandoms, and just human beings in general can be. The things people say to other people, especially the people they claim to idolize, not even thinking twice about how that’s another breathing, living, human being on the other side of the screen that is reading your hurtful words. You all, I could write an entire review on this part of Radio Silence alone. But instead I’m just going to encourage you to read this masterpiece of a book that realistically depicts it better than I ever could.

But my favorite thing about Radio Silence is probably how it is one, gigantic, love letter to art. All kinds of art, all mediums of art, but this book is truly a celebration of art everywhere. The world we live in constantly tells us how art should be a hobby, not a career, but when I sit back and think about the people who I admire most in the entire universe? Well, they are all artists. Instead of constantly belittling art and not encouraging ourselves to pursue it as a mainstream dream, Radio Silence comes along and makes you feel so hyped and excited to celebrate art and creators everywhere. This book is an honest to God gift to the world, I swear it.

My second favorite thing about Radio Silence was the depiction of friendships. The beautiful and light parts, the really ugly and dark parts, the comfortable parts, the hard parts, the selfish parts, the selfless parts, all the realistic parts. When I got a few percent into this book, I knew the author had to be around my age, because this book feels so real. I mean, every element of this book feels really real, but the friendship between France and Aled specifically felt really real to me. Frances and Aled’s friendship felt so much like me and a person I miss with all my heart’s friendship. But I wasn’t as good of a friend, like Frances was, but this book really made me wish that I would have been.

“People move on quicker than I can comprehend. People forget you within days, they take new pictures to put on Facebook and they don’t read your messages. They keep on moving forward and shove you to the side because you make more mistakes than you should.”

My third favorite thing about this book was Frances’ mother. Holy shit, talk about mom goals. Just thinking about how much better of a place this world would be if more parents were like Frances’! Especially when she is contrasted to Aled and Carys’ mom in this story. Unconditional love, support, and acceptance is such a powerful force, especially being wielded by a parent who has a child unsure of who they are. But that force can be just as powerful in the hands of good friends, too.

Overall, I don’t feel like I’m the same person after reading this book. And I know I will cherish it forever. This is easily the best book I’ve read for Pride this year, and easily one of the best books I’ve read in all of 2018. This book literally took a piece of my heart and I will never ask for it back. I can’t wait to read everything else that Alice Oseman creates.

“I wonder—if nobody is listening to my voice, am I making any sound at all?”

Blog | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Youtube | Twitch

Buddy read with Alexis at The Sloth Reader, May at Forever and Everly, & Lily at Sprinkles of Dreams! ❤
326 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Radio Silence.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

May 4, 2018 – Shelved
May 4, 2018 – Shelved as: to-read
May 4, 2018 – Shelved as: contemporary
May 4, 2018 – Shelved as: young-adult
May 4, 2018 – Shelved as: lgbtqiap
May 31, 2018 – Shelved as: buddy-reads
May 31, 2018 – Shelved as: read-in-2018
June 16, 2018 – Started Reading
June 16, 2018 –
20.0% "Wow, I'm already so in love with this. But holy moly, this is really making me aware of my "most contemporaries are set in the US" privileged. JUMPERS? ASOS? SHREDDIES?"
June 22, 2018 – Shelved as: favorites
June 22, 2018 – Shelved as: own-voices
June 22, 2018 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-43 of 43 (43 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Elise (TheBookishActress) OH MY GOD. OH MY GOD YES.


may ➹ so ready to love this one!!!!!


Melanie Elise wrote: "OH MY GOD. OH MY GOD YES."

RIGHT? I just know it's going to be a favorite! ILYSM! 💗xx


Melanie may ➹ wrote: "so ready to love this one!!!!!"

Same, beautiful! 💗xx


Elise (TheBookishActress) OH YES!!!!!


message 6: by Hemant (new) - added it

Hemant Kumar Added to tbr, thanks for the nice review :)


message 7: by Emily May (new)

Emily May I always enjoy your reviews but this one really spoke to me. I'm putting this on hold at my library right now.


Melanie Elise wrote: "OH YES!!!!!"

Such perfection! I still can't believe this book exists in the world 💕xx


Melanie Hemant wrote: "Added to tbr, thanks for the nice review :)"

Awh, thank YOU for this kind comment, Hemant! I hope you enjoy! Happy reading! 💕xx


Melanie Emily May wrote: "I always enjoy your reviews but this one really spoke to me. I'm putting this on hold at my library right now."

Awh, Emily, you are too kind. I hope this one touches you, too! And I hope whatever you're currently reading is five star worthy, beautiful! 💕xx


Alex ✰ Comets and Comments ✰ Awesome review, babe <3


Thérèse such a beautiful review for a beautiful book!! well done <3


message 13: by j e w e l s (new) - added it

j e w e l s YASSSSS! Must read this....thanks Mel for your inspiring review💗💗💗💗


Melanie Alex ✰ Comets and Comments ✰ wrote: "Awesome review, babe <3"

Awh, thank you so much, Alex love! 💗xx


Melanie Therese wrote: "such a beautiful review for a beautiful book!! well done <3"

Awh, thank you so much, Therese! You are so kind! 💗xx


Melanie j e w e l s wrote: "YASSSSS! Must read this....thanks Mel for your inspiring review💗💗💗💗"

Awh, Jewels! This comment made my night! I hope you love it, beautiful! 💗xx


may ➹ i love this review and i love you and i'm so happy we were able to buddy read this amazing book 💖💖💖


Melanie may ➹ wrote: "i love this review and i love you and i'm so happy we were able to buddy read this amazing book 💖💖💖"

I love youuuuu! And seriously, you are like my good luck buddy reader charm now! So... please read everything with me forever? Thanks! Hehe. 💗xx


message 19: by Gelisvb (new)

Gelisvb up on my tbr!


Melanie Gelisvb wrote: "up on my tbr!"

I hope you love this one, babe! Also - I'm so excited for our buddy read next month! 💗xx


message 21: by Silke (new) - added it

Silke I put this one on my tbr! I’ve heard so much about it and the synopsis sounds amazing


Melanie Silke wrote: "I put this one on my tbr! I’ve heard so much about it and the synopsis sounds amazing"

Awh, this warms my heart! This book just... was every single thing I've ever wanted! I hope you enjoy it, too! Happy reading! 💗xx


message 23: by Susan (new) - added it

Susan Melanie, Your review touched me. You made me consider human suffering where heretofore I had not even thought about because my experiences with college are so different. Thank you for that. And... I will be sure to read this book. xxxoooxxx


message 24: by ً (new) - rated it 5 stars

ً Raine is pansexual! Alice Oseman released a short story on her blog that was about her falling in love with a character from one of her books.


Melanie Susan wrote: "Melanie, Your review touched me. You made me consider human suffering where heretofore I had not even thought about because my experiences with college are so different. Thank you for that. And... ..."

Awh, thank you for these words, Susan! I really hope you connect and love this book, too! I am still beyond words when trying to talk about it, hehe! Happy reading, love! 💗xx


Melanie mar wrote: "Raine is pansexual! Alice Oseman released a short story on her blog that was about her falling in love with a character from one of her books."

Well, Mar, you just completely made my entire day! I am so, so, so, so happy right now! Thank youuuu! And I hope you're having the happiest of reading! 💗xx


message 27: by Rain (new) - rated it 2 stars

Rain Wow, beautiful review, adding to my list.


Melanie Rain wrote: "Wow, beautiful review, adding to my list."

Awh, thank you so very much, Rain! I hope you enjoy this one, too! Happy reading! 💗xx


Helena Summers Wonderful review, Melanie! I already had it on my priority list, but now I really need it. I can relate to the now knowing what to do with your life right now, so I hope I connect to it as much as you did


preoccupiedbybooks Great review! I love this book, Alice Oseman is amazing :)


✨    jamieson   ✨ I'm weeping, I love this book so much I'm so glad you love it too. Its just so fucking amazing and I thank Alice Oseman every day for writing it because it means the word to me. Her other works are all amazing too especially I Was Born for This I recommend them all so much I love her so much


Melanie Helena wrote: "Wonderful review, Melanie! I already had it on my priority list, but now I really need it. I can relate to the now knowing what to do with your life right now, so I hope I connect to it as much as ..."

Awh, thank you so much, Helena! I truly hope this is the perfect book for you! You'll have to let me know what you think after you've read! Happy reading, beautiful! 💕xx


Melanie preoccupiedbybooks wrote: "Great review! I love this book, Alice Oseman is amazing :)"

Thank you so much, love! Now I want to read and and every single thing by her! I'm so in love! Happy reading! 💕xx


Melanie ✨ jamieson ✨ wrote: "I'm weeping, I love this book so much I'm so glad you love it too. Its just so fucking amazing and I thank Alice Oseman every day for writing it because it means the word to me. Her other works are..."

Awh, thank you so much for this kind comment, Jamieson! I will for sure pick that up next, thank you! I feel like I gave Alice Oseman like $100 in June, but I'm totally okay with that, because I'm so dang in love! I hope whatever you're currently reading si five star worthy, beautiful! 💕xx


message 35: by Julijana (new) - added it

Julijana I can't stop thinking about this review?? I just finished high school, and am currently in the process of enrolling into medical school and I feel like if I read this book I'm going to spend most of it on the floor crying, which is peculiar since I generally don't read contemporaries (because most of the ones I've encountered are cheesy romances. Yeah, romance without magic or space travel? No thanks.). Fangirl had an impact on me because I had read it at just the right time, right in my first year of high school, and considering my own falls and growth these past four years, I feel like based on your review this book would be an excellent medium for self-reflection for who I am now, as well as a guiding light for what lies ahead. Definitely added it to my tr list and bumped it to priority 🙌🏻❣


Melanie Julijana wrote: "I can't stop thinking about this review?? I just finished high school, and am currently in the process of enrolling into medical school and I feel like if I read this book I'm going to spend most o..."

Awh, thank you so much, Julijana! This is honestly the book I wish I had when I had just graduated high school! I bet you'll connect so very much with it. I actually think you'll love this! Please come back (or DM me anywhere) and let me know! And I'm wishing you the happiest of reading! And I hope you have a lovely summer before college! 💕xx


Red_Queen_Lover I literally love this book. Like, a little too much if that's possible. Aled was my favorite character. And although it said that Frances and Aled weren't going to fall in love, I still thought it would happen. What a surprise!! I was surprised and slightly awef at Aled and relationships.


Celeste this should definitely have a spoiler warning because you just spoiled the whole book...


Melanie Celeste wrote: "this should definitely have a spoiler warning because you just spoiled the whole book..."

Because I break down the characters? I barely even talk about the plot of the book? But go off I guess?


Melanie Red_Queen_Lover wrote: "I literally love this book. Like, a little too much if that's possible. Aled was my favorite character. And although it said that Frances and Aled weren't going to fall in love, I still thought it ..."

Awh, this comment makes me so happy! This book is just such a masterpiece, truly! but I hope whatever you're currently reading is five star worthy, love! 💛xx


message 41: by Olivia (new) - added it

Olivia Just went out and bought the book because it sounds like it's a real worthy thing to read. I'm excited.


Melanie Olivia wrote: "Just went out and bought the book because it sounds like it's a real worthy thing to read. I'm excited."

Awh, this warms my heart so much, Olivia. More than you'll even know! Happy reading, love! 💛xx


message 43: by erica (new) - added it

erica Such a good review!! I need to read this book!! Thank you so much for opening up. Your personal story made your review so powerful :)


back to top