Kelly (and the Book Boar)'s Reviews > Less

Less by Andrew Sean Greer
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
11183856
's review

liked it
bookshelves: smort, i-read-it-wrong, read-in-2018, road-trippin, lgbtq

Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/

“Just for the record: happiness is not bullshit.”

I picked up Less for one reason and one reason alone . . . . .

“You won?”

“It’s not Pew-lit-sir. It’s Pull-it-sir. Holy fuck, Arthur, I won.”


Occasionally I like to prove that I don’t live on porn and murder alone and venture out. The world of award winners has generally worked out pretty well for me and, although I’m not a zealot about it, I try to squeeze in a Pulitzer, Man Booker or Edgar Award winner a couple times a year.

The story here is about Arthur Less. Quickly approaching 50 with one former partner dying and another getting married, Arthur feels he has no choice but to do one thing . . . .



Except the staying in more part. No, on the contrary Arthur will be going out more. A lot more. And all over the world. From Paris to Berlin to Morocco, Arthur will become quite the globetrotter in order to avoid facing the facts that he’s not getting any younger . . . or more successful . . . or better at relationships.

Less has the hardware that proves unarguably that I read it wrong. I don’t even have a valid reason, either, because the “off the top of my head” excuse why I didn’t fall over myself loving this one is that I didn’t really relate to Arthur. Obviously I can’t truly relate to all of the meth manufacturers, moonshine runners, cannibals and serial killers who manage to make their way into my cold, dead heart either, so like I said – invalid argument. I guess my main problem with poor Arthur was . . . .

“You talk like a child. You look and act very young.” . . . “Maybe you never grew up.” Maybe he never did.

I guess there’s no place in my life for middle-aged manchildren. It still gets 3 Stars, though, because even I couldn’t eff up and read it wronger than that ; )
68 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Less.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

May 4, 2018 – Started Reading
May 4, 2018 – Shelved
May 14, 2018 – Shelved as: smort
May 14, 2018 – Shelved as: i-read-it-wrong
May 14, 2018 – Shelved as: read-in-2018
May 14, 2018 – Shelved as: road-trippin
May 14, 2018 – Finished Reading
August 7, 2019 – Shelved as: lgbtq

Comments Showing 1-10 of 10 (10 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Ɗẳɳ 2.☊ (new)

Ɗẳɳ  2.☊ Obviously I can’t truly relate to all of the meth manufacturers, moonshine runners, cannibals and serial killers who manage to make their way into my cold, dead heart...

Yeah, right. Do you really expect anyone to believe that?


Kelly (and the Book Boar) I said "truly relate" since I sorta relate to almost all of them ; )


Michelle Only Wants to Read "Occasionally I like to prove that I don’t live on porn and murder alone and venture out."

Bahaha! This is SO perfect. Each time I'm about to pick another book or Audible I have to check my ratio of the psychopath/disturbed material on my shelves vs. what most people read, to prove I also am capable of venturing out. :D


Kelly (and the Book Boar) Glad I'm in good company here! (And I totally read two murdery books as soon as I finished this one.)


Amanda Van Parys I put in a hold for this at the library when Pull-its-sir was announced, then I found out he also wrote The Impossible Lives of Greta Wells and now I'm not so interested because I didn't care for that book... But I still feel like I have to give this a shot :|


Kelly (and the Book Boar) Amanda wrote: "I put in a hold for this at the library when Pull-its-sir was announced, then I found out he also wrote The Impossible Lives of Greta Wells and now I'm not so interested because I didn't care for t..."

I feel the same when about award winners. I just HAVE to see what the fuss is about.


message 7: by Jennifer (new) - added it

Jennifer Masterson I’m sorry this wasn’t better for you. Sometimes the award winners are great and sometimes not so much. Great review, Kelly! I’m probably going to skip it now.


Kelly (and the Book Boar) Thanks Jennifer! This character and I definitely didn’t have chemistry, but others seem to love it.


Barbara I loved this book! The descriptions about his world travels were so fun. The story made me fall in love with Dear Less, somewhat of a sad sack yet he still keeps on plugging along. The end made me Oh it would be a spoiler but I loved this and would recommend it to everyone.
One can read it on a weekend perfect for a long plane trip if you don’t mind laughing or crying (not sobbing just a few nice tears) in public.


Kelly (and the Book Boar) Barbara wrote: "I loved this book! The descriptions about his world travels were so fun. The story made me fall in love with Dear Less, somewhat of a sad sack yet he still keeps on plugging along. The end made me Oh it would be a spoiler but I loved this and would recommend it to everyone.
One can read it on a weekend perfect for a long plane trip if you don’t mind laughing or crying (not sobbing just a few nice tears) in public. ..."


Might I suggest you write your own review if you're that passionate about this book. The great thing about reading is everyone is entitled their own opinion. I found the ending contrived and I DEFINITELY never welled up about any of Arthur's shenanigans.


back to top