j e w e l s [Books Bejeweled]'s Reviews > A Simple Favor

A Simple Favor by Darcey Bell
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
68216634
's review

did not like it
bookshelves: books-bejeweled, audio

The only nice thing I can say about this convoluted, ridiculous and BORING hella long novel is that the author, Darcey Bell, is one lucky person. How she managed to get this stinker of a book sold for movie rights is beyond me. Maybe to the Lifetime channel, but MAJOR MOTION PICTURE starring Blake Lively, Anna Kendrick and Rupert Friend?

Unbelievable.

Maybe the movie will be done right, but if this is the story they are working from...I just don't know. Stay tuned in September 2018.

In the meantime, don't feel bad if you didn't read the book. Wait and see the movie.

UPDATE: Here's a link to the film trailer. It looks so good! I'm convinced they re-wrote this book to death. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fbNgG...

Note: Sorry for my harshness! I just finished a Liz Nugent novel and the difference between the writing is like comparing a first grader's writing to that of a literature professor's.
433 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read A Simple Favor.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

May 2, 2018 – Shelved
May 21, 2018 – Started Reading
May 21, 2018 –
page 0
"You know I gotta read this before the movie comes out- soon!"
May 22, 2018 –
40.0% "this is actually an audiobook...I want it to be over asap, so much talking talking talking ! Now I'm listening to it at 1.25 speed trying to get it over with! I just want to find out the ending!"
May 23, 2018 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-50 of 101 (101 new)


message 1: by jendlo (last edited May 23, 2018 05:38PM) (new) - rated it 1 star

jendlo Hear, hear!


message 2: by Kelli (new)

Kelli I always seem to pass this up on Hoopla. Thank goodness!


message 3: by Laurie (new)

Laurie Barshay Great review. Thanks for saving me the guilt of bailing on a book partway through. It’s off my list!


message 4: by Angie (new) - added it

Angie Haupt Thanks for saving me from it!


Cathie Miller Wish I had read this review a week ago!


message 6: by Miriam (new)

Miriam Smith Oh dear, sorry you didn't enjoy this one Jewels 😕


message 7: by Julie Parks (new)

Julie Parks Wow, thanks. I was actually considering this


message 8: by Patty (new)

Patty I agree, halfway to the book and I can’t bear to finish it


message 9: by Issy (new) - added it

Issy Yeah I just finished it and I feel the same way. Maybe this will be the one time that the movie will be better than the book.


message 10: by Sue (new) - rated it 1 star

Sue Dlugos Agree completely!!! So disappointing!


j e w e l s [Books Bejeweled] Issy wrote: "Yeah I just finished it and I feel the same way. Maybe this will be the one time that the movie will be better than the book."

THATS WHAT IM HOPING!!!


j e w e l s [Books Bejeweled] Laurie wrote: "Great review. Thanks for saving me the guilt of bailing on a book partway through. It’s off my list!"

Haaaaa! you're welcome, my dear!


message 13: by Shawna (new)

Shawna P. Whoa...I saw the trailer! Didn't know this was a book! Sounds like a total turd nugget ha!


message 14: by TELM (new) - rated it 1 star

TELM I was SHOCKED when I saw this book was becoming a movie! And with Blake Lively and Anna Kendrick?!?!? This book barely has what it takes to become a Lifetime movie. I can honestly say this is my least favorite book. Ever.


j e w e l s [Books Bejeweled] TELM wrote: "I was SHOCKED when I saw this book was becoming a movie! And with Blake Lively and Anna Kendrick?!?!? This book barely has what it takes to become a Lifetime movie. I can honestly say this is my le..."

Haaaa, TELM! this is one of the worst books for me, too!! I will be interested to see how the film turns out...


j e w e l s [Books Bejeweled] Tara wrote: "Well you know how they usually rewrite books completely when they get adapted.. Maybe they made it good! xD"

Yasssssss, Tara! Fingers crossed-the trailer looks so good!


message 17: by Carrie (new)

Carrie Ouch, hope your next is better!


message 18: by Tim (new)

Tim Fabulous review, Jewels!


Jayme I didn’t like it either...really? A movie? 🤔


message 20: by Melissa (new)

Melissa Love your honesty . . . that's one heck of a casting.


message 21: by Anne (new)

Anne What a great honest review!


message 22: by Dylan (new) - rated it 1 star

Dylan SKSKSKSSKSKSK DRAG IT!!

I'm so angry that this got a major movie deal.


Melissa Peters Totally agree! Had never heard of this until I saw the movie trailer, and wow, was this not good, in addition to sputtering to a lackluster finish. Hoping they change a TON for the movie (can't believe I'm cheering for that)!


message 24: by Sam (new) - rated it 2 stars

Sam I saw the trailer and read the book. The trailer definitely made the book seem like it was going to be a lot more interesting than it was. I can only imagine that they have re-written the plot for the film because otherwise people are going to be incredibly disappointed.


Jayme just saw the trailer-looks good-had to have a great screenwriter if it is!! 🤔


j e w e l s [Books Bejeweled] Jayme wrote: "just saw the trailer-looks good-had to have a great screenwriter if it is!! 🤔"

haha Jayme! Yes, the trailer looks slick and cool.....hmmm-did you read the book?


message 27: by Ali (new) - rated it 1 star

Ali OMG serioussssly. Who does Bell know??


message 28: by Nikki (new) - rated it 1 star

Nikki (Saturday Nite Reader) You weren’t harsh, I couldn’t get over the first plotline with Chris, I simply couldn’t and it wasn’t necessary. This book was not for me, but agree that the movie looks much better (hopefully they rewrote heavily).


Jasmine Ugh I know right? The movie must be re written a lot


message 30: by Mariah (new)

Mariah Which book by Liz Nugent did you read? *trying to find some good suspense books


j e w e l s [Books Bejeweled] Mariah wrote: "Which book by Liz Nugent did you read? *trying to find some good suspense books"

Nugent's LYING IN WAIT is a dark, twisted psychological suspense novel set in Dublin. If you take a look at my BooksBejeweled shelf, Mariah (on my profile page) ---It is filled with mostly all psyche suspense books which I've read and rated! Thanks so much and good look with your quest! Should be easy, 2018 has been a banner year for the genre--so many great new books out!


message 32: by Autumn (new)

Autumn I saw a trailer for the movie and wondered if it was a book first. Kind of bummed this looks pretty bad, but I'll still probably see the movie because I <3 Blake Lively. Sorry you had to suffer through this!


j e w e l s [Books Bejeweled] Autumn wrote: "I saw a trailer for the movie and wondered if it was a book first. Kind of bummed this looks pretty bad, but I'll still probably see the movie because I <3 Blake Lively. Sorry you had to suffer thr..."

haaa, Autumn! I love Blake, too! I will definitely be watching for the curiosity factor if nothing else....I am really interested in how it will play out....with one of the most overused soap-opera trick endings in history.


message 34: by Andi (new)

Andi (A Literal Hottie) I respect harsh reviews! I find way too many good reviews of terrible books on Goodreads


Stacey Luce I soooo wanted a different ending. Maybe the movie won’t disappoint me the way the book did.
Great review Jewels!


Tracy HAHAHAHA What a review! I think the movie will be better LOL


message 37: by Bren (new) - rated it 2 stars

Bren I LOVED it at first..stayed up all night 2 finish..but it got absurd..I mean crazy absurd. I do want to see the film though.


Teresa I agree. It was not even close to being like Gone Girl which kept me up all night because I couldn’t figure it out or Girl on the Train which actually scared the crap out of me so much I haven’t even watched the movie yet. This was lukewarm. It had something there and then it fizzled. And the whole Stephanie storyline was just ick. I feel like that would’ve been better served trying to provide better background on Emily and her family.


message 39: by Bren (new) - rated it 2 stars

Bren I felt like Emily was another Amy from Gone Girl but when reading, I always knew she was a book character. I could feel how the writing was trying to make her crazy. Ever since "Gone Girl" lots of writers have done this. Emily's "fish" speech was to much like Amy's "cool girl" speech. But Emily had no complex aspects to her. And while reading I kept thinking "how much more out there is the writer going to make this"?

I have read so many lackluster thrillers lately. Some of my favorite thrillers are from the seventies or eighties. The writing was just in general better.


j e w e l s [Books Bejeweled] Bren wrote: "I felt like Emily was another Amy from Gone Girl but when reading, I always knew she was a book character. I could feel how the writing was trying to make her crazy. Ever since "Gone Girl" lots of ..."

Teresa wrote: "I agree. It was not even close to being like Gone Girl which kept me up all night because I couldn’t figure it out or Girl on the Train which actually scared the crap out of me so much I haven’t ev..."

Bren wrote: "I LOVED it at first..stayed up all night 2 finish..but it got absurd..I mean crazy absurd. I do want to see the film though."

Tracy wrote: "HAHAHAHA What a review! I think the movie will be better LOL"

Great comments, guys!!! thank you so much for your input, I love reading your thoughts and reviews, too!! xxxxxx


message 41: by Banet (new)

Banet Haictin Thanks for saving me my precious hours. Will just wait for the movie then


message 42: by Liz (new) - rated it 1 star

Liz Just finished felt the same, im baffled


Letitia Just finished the book and feel the same as you.


Iryna semi-hiatus (Book and Sword) ohhh sounds horrible lol I wasn't gonna watch the movie because m not a fan of Kendrick's but now Im not going to read the book either because it sounds so bad lol


message 45: by Heather (new) - added it

Heather Bruch I haven't read the book but saw an advance screening for the movie, it was really good. My friend and I really enjoyed it and everyone we talked to in the crowd afterwards enjoyed it.


message 46: by Lisa (new) - added it

Lisa Graham This is why it is in the fiction, psychological crime drama genre vs non fiction, its not real life. Its a fantasy escape book as many readers enjoy. Often the movie becomes more popular & well liked than the book & has many different twists the book doesnt. Many things in a book cant be replicated or translated into a 2hr movie, & vice versa. Quite frankly, the fact that its doing so well either means people loved the book & want the movie or want the movie becuse of the plot & actors in it, in turn often read the book after.
Whatever the reason, its off to a great start. The author should be very proud of herself, instead of listening to the haters who dont understand why she got a movie deal.


j e w e l s [Books Bejeweled] Lisa wrote: "This is why it is in the fiction, psychological crime drama genre vs non fiction, its not real life. Its a fantasy escape book as many readers enjoy. Often the movie becomes more popular & well lik..."

Thanks, Lisa! I'm more than a little familiar with psychological suspense/domestic noir genres....and the ending is not worth the slog it takes to get through the novel. Believe me. Utterly soap opera ridiculous-ness...Also, it appears you haven't read this novel you are so passionately defending? why not?


message 48: by Heather (new) - added it

Heather Bruch I enjoyed the movie so much I was going to buy the book and was surprised to find it had fairly low ratings.

Guess I'll stick to just the movie.


message 49: by Jenna (new)

Jenna Bookish Lisa wrote: "This is why it is in the fiction, psychological crime drama genre vs non fiction, its not real life. Its a fantasy escape book as many readers enjoy. Often the movie becomes more popular & well lik..."

I appreciate honesty in reviews, positive or negative. You seem offended that Jewel didn't like the book. Why? I personally abhor writing negative reviews, but I do it when appropriate because I'm a reviewer, not an advertising service. People read reviews to get an idea of whether or not a book is worthwhile; without honesty, the whole thing is meaningless.


j e w e l s [Books Bejeweled] Heather wrote: "I haven't read the book but saw an advance screening for the movie, it was really good. My friend and I really enjoyed it and everyone we talked to in the crowd afterwards enjoyed it."

Yay! I'm hoping the movie is MUCH MUCH better than the book. It sounds like they changed up the tone to be more humorous....that could work! I'm ready to see it myself!


« previous 1 3
back to top