Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader's Reviews > The Mercy Seat

The Mercy Seat by Elizabeth Hartley Winthrop
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
32340179
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: 2018-reads, arcs, kindle-version
Recommended to Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader by: Cheri

5 stars to emotive and lyrically-written, The Mercy Seat! 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟

Thanks to my friend, Cheri, for this recommendation. As you can see, I adored it!

It is 1943 in New Iberia, Louisiana, and Willie Jones is eighteen-years-old and sitting in prison cell on the eve of his execution by electric chair.

Told through sometimes short vignettes, we hear multiple perspectives in third person carefully pieced together. The DA who prosecuted Willie, Willie’s father who is lugging a gravestone on a highway via an old mule (imagine, oh how my heart hurt), a married couple, Ora and Dale, who have secrets of their own; all of these viewpoints round out this story and add so much depth.

This book was the starkest contradiction of beauty and brutality, pure of heart and total heartbreak. Elizabeth Winthrop’s gift for prose is beyond memorable, not only to my ear as I felt I was hearing these characters speak to me as I read, but also to my heart, as the words were etched firmly there.

I recommend this one without hesitation to my friends who enjoy eloquent writing and deeply moving, important stories. The Mercy Seat is a standout.

Thank you to Elizabeth Winthrop, Grove Press, and Netgalley. The Mercy Seat is available now!

My reviews can also be found on my shiny new blog www.jennifertarheelreader.com
89 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Mercy Seat.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

May 1, 2018 – Shelved
May 1, 2018 – Shelved as: to-read
May 2, 2018 – Shelved as: to-read-owned-books
May 2, 2018 – Shelved as: 2018-reads
May 2, 2018 – Shelved as: arcs
May 2, 2018 – Shelved as: kindle-version
May 12, 2018 – Started Reading
May 19, 2018 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-37 of 37 (37 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

DeAnn What a glowing review! This one sounds great and fits right into my reading!


message 2: by Nazanin (new)

Nazanin Fab review, Jennifer! Glad you enjoyed it! xoxo


message 3: by Maureen (new)

Maureen Wonderful review Jennifer 😊


message 4: by KAS (new)

KAS You have been recommended some really great books lately, Jennifer ;) Glad you are enjoying and fabulous review!! XoX


Carol (Reading Ladies) This sounds great! 👍


message 6: by Marialyce (new)

Marialyce Wonderful review and a wonderful shiny new blog as well.


Mary Beth *Traveling Sister* Terrific review, Jennifer!


message 8: by Rita (new)

Rita Schuldt Great review! The book sounds like something that I would like, especially now that the Jim Crow laws are back in fashion.


message 9: by Linda (new)

Linda Nice review, Jennifer. This sounds good!


message 10: by Julie (new) - added it

Julie Awesome review, Jennifer!!


message 11: by Kendall (new)

Kendall Excellent review Jennifer!! Glad you enjoyed 😊❤️


message 12: by Kara (new) - added it

Kara Hansen A beautifully written review~ you have sold me on adding it to my TBR list, thank you!


message 13: by Antoinette (new) - added it

Antoinette Excellent review, Jennifer. Cheri sold be on this one as well:)


Jenny••Steamy Reads Blog•• Great review ❤️


message 15: by Angela M (new) - added it

Angela M Great review, Jennifer. Good luck with your new blog .


message 16: by Jen (new) - added it

Jen Awesome review, Jennifer!


message 17: by Deanna (new)

Deanna Another awesome review, Jennifer!! :)


message 18: by *TUDOR^QUEEN* (new)

*TUDOR^QUEEN* Lovely review, dear 😊💟


message 19: by Elaine (new)

Elaine Thanks for an insightful review.


message 20: by Virginia (new)

Virginia C Great review! 📚
I want to read.
Happy reading day!


message 21: by Meredith (new)

Meredith Lovely review, Jennifer!


message 22: by Susanne (new)

Susanne  Strong Beautiful review Jennifer!


message 23: by Esil (new) - rated it 4 stars

Esil Excellent review, Jennifer. I definitely have to read this one.


Cheri Lovely review, Jennifer, I loved this: "the starkest contradiction of beauty and brutality, pure of heart and total heartbreak." I'm so glad that you loved this one, too. Thanks for the shout-out!


message 25: by Babydimps (Suzy) (new)

Babydimps (Suzy) Awesome review Jennifer! Love seeing all the stars! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


message 26: by Maureen (new)

Maureen Great review, Jennifer!


Diane S ☔ Just finished this and loved your review.


Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader DeAnn wrote: "What a glowing review! This one sounds great and fits right into my reading!"

Thanks, DeAnn! I’m so excited you plan to read it too!

Nazanin wrote: "Fab review, Jennifer! Glad you enjoyed it! xoxo"

Thanks so much, Nazanin! Xo 😘

Maureen wrote: "Wonderful review Jennifer 😊"

Thanks, Maureen!

KAS wrote: "You have been recommended some really great books lately, Jennifer ;) Glad you are enjoying and fabulous review!! XoX"

Thank you, KAS! I really have been so lucky, it has contributed to my streak! Xo 😘

Carol (Reading Ladies) wrote: "This sounds great! 👍"

Thanks so much, Carol!


message 29: by JanB (new)

JanB What a terrific review Jennifer! I love it when writing speaks to my heart and touches me. I’m adding


message 30: by Tammy (new)

Tammy Excellent, Jennifer!


message 31: by Mischenko (new) - added it

Mischenko Beautiful review, Jennifer!! <333


message 32: by Melissa (new) - added it

Melissa Crytzer Fry Jennifer - this review is incredible. This book is definitely added to my TBR. Ooh- a shiny new blog!!!


message 33: by Magdalena (new) - added it

Magdalena Beautiful review, Jennifer!


Lindsay - Traveling Sister Sounds wonderful! Fantastic review Jennifer! 💕


DeAnn Jennifer, I almost have no words about this book. Simply amazing! Gorgeous prose and heartbreaking topic. This one will stick with me.


Karenita shivers!! Added to my list. Thanks, Jennifer!


message 37: by Gwen (new) - added it

Gwen Markson Jennifer, you nailed this story with your review... I just finished it-found it hard to put down-and so appreciate when a book touches my soul...


back to top