Ingo's Reviews > Aftermath

Aftermath by Kelley Armstrong
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
8842081
's review

it was amazing

Obvious Trigger warning: Bullying.
After reading and the reviewing That's not what happened I was in the mood for more school shootings, and this turned out, to be even better. Again about the way the story that gets known is not really what happened, with an obvious twist I guessed early on, and a few other twists, I did not guess.

Liked the MC's Skye & Jesse, with how they changed after the shooting and grew up, not talking to each other for 3 years and then meeting again when Skye is forced to change school again. Swoonworthy realistic romance during a rocky patch in their live.
Very good characterizations, even in the minor characters, like the adults and Tiffany and Chris. As this is a current book, technology (chats, video sending, hacking) was integrated. And very well, no mistakes, everything is very real without being embellished or too much hacking. For that alone I could have given 1 star extra, so far I found a lot of books are missing the technology angel or get it wrong. But even without that I would have given 5 stars.
So suspenseful, I read it rather fast (under 3 days), well done romance-thriller about a school shooting, with current technology and a real page-turner.
Solid 5 stars, Highly recommended.

Family-ending may be a little to neat for some, but I can live with that.
flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Aftermath.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

April 27, 2018 – Shelved
September 1, 2018 – Started Reading
September 2, 2018 –
33.0%
September 2, 2018 –
47.0%
September 2, 2018 –
69.0%
September 3, 2018 –
91.0%
September 3, 2018 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-1 of 1 (1 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Ingo (last edited Sep 03, 2018 06:25AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Ingo (Copied from the review of That's not what happened)
Looked for other books about school shootings and more or less randomly picked these from a goodreads list:
Hate List (owned that one already as an ebook bought 6 years or more ago, not read yet...)
Aftershock - Andrew Vachss is one of my favourite authors, but ebook is too expensive
This Is Where It Ends (bought as an ebook, had this on my TBR for quite some time)
School Days (looked for Robert B Parker books way back, August 2009, bought and read the paperback, may read it again)
Quicksand by Malin Persson Gilolito As it would have been a translation anyway, I bought it in the German translation as: Im Traum kannst du nicht lügen (Malin Persson)
and
In the Skin of a Monster (bought as an ebook)

no ebook - Endgame Nancy Garden
no ebook - Quad C.G. Watson, Carrie Gordon Watson
That I have bought these books does not really mean I will read and review them. The Spenser one I read already, this one offers a nice twist on the reasons for a school shooting. Worth reading for that. As a Spenser thriller, it is as expected, I think (memory is hazy), wether you like them or not. Recommended.

A different kind of school shooting is also to be found in Andrew Vachhss first book which was a long time unpublished - A bomb built in hell. The story was and probably still is available on his webpage for free, but I think you can also buy it in different formats in the usual shops.
Also, I still have Columbine in my TBR-bought pile (looked into that, the reviews where rather mixed, but I still want to read it someday).


back to top