Melanie's Reviews > City of Ashes

City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3030788
's review

it was ok
bookshelves: angels, demons, fae, fantasy, magic, paranormal, read-in-2018, shifters, vampires, young-adult

1.) City of Bones ★★★

“You are an arrow shot directly into the heart of the Clave, Jace. You are Valentine’s arrow. Whether you know it or not.”

I recently did a poll on Twitter, asking people if I should continue on with this series, or just throw in the towel and read Lady Midnight. I will say that the majority vote was for me to just skip it all, but so many of my best friends wrote to me and pleaded with me not to. So, here I am, continuing on.

I truly enjoyed City of Bones more than City of Ashes, which, I’m not going to lie, scares me for City of Glass, but I’m going to read it anyway. I just felt like this book has too many Harry Potter parallels. From the use of Fenrir Greyback to help Valentine justify being a bigot, to Valentine’s just general quest to collect horcrux-like items. Even the scene with him and Jace where Jace is screaming “I’m nothing like you!” I just felt like I could really see the Harry Potter fanfic shining through, honestly. And it made for a lot less enjoyable reading experience.

“A pair of werewolves occupied another booth. They were eating raw shanks of lamb and arguing about who would win in a fight: Dumbledore from the Harry Potter books or Magnus Bane.”

But you know what I did like? The Queen of Faerie and her entire underworld quote. You all, I was living for that entire chapter, and twisted as the end became. I was on the edge of my chair reading. Completely falling in love with the imagery. From the morbid dancing, to the fae feast, to the inability to lie yet to twists words like no one else. I was living for it. And I personally love Seelie and Unseelie fae courts, and it was just everything I wanted. If the entire book was set there I would have given it an easy five stars.

So, in my review for City of Bones, I did this little breakdown for each character, and I really enjoyed it! I think I’m going to try to continue on for all of Cassie’s books!

Clary - I still don’t think I dislike her as much as many, but she’s just mediocre if I’m being honest. Not a very interesting main character. And *unpopular opinion* she does Simon dirty.

Jace - Meanwhile, Jace just wants to do Clary, dirtily. Like, I am really trusting you all that what is going on isn’t real, but I can’t believe I didn’t get an answer in book two. I’m still side-eyeing all of you. But especially Jace, because that boy does not care. All the Joe Dirt vibes. Also, just in general, Jace does a lot of shitty things in this book (more on that later).

Simon - I felt like I was on a roller-coaster ride this book with Simon. But, I honestly like him. I am not here for any part of this weird triangle, but Simon is the best point, in my opinion. Also, he got a whole hell of a lot more interesting in this book. And I actually really like the Jewish rep in this book, all because of Simon.

Isabelle - Has a sidepiece fae guard boyfriend and talk about goals. I love her. Easily my favorite character with…

Magnus - My bisexual, Asian love! The star of this series, I swear to God. I legit was tearing up at the end when he used his powers to… take a swim. Lord, help me. What a confirmed angel. I will say though, when they said he was over one-hundred-years-old in this book, I kind of took a step back and paused, since he is starting a relationship with someone who isn’t even eighteen yet. Like, I don’t want to get shit for this, but, like, that feels bad and honestly skeevy. And he might have the body of a younger person, but him and Alec’s mindsets are lightyears apart. And even though I love Magnus on his own, I truly don’t love his relationship with Alec. At least not right now in the story. Which I know is a very unpopular opinion. Please, don’t hate me.

Alec - Annoying green-eyed monster. I’m sorry, friends! I know how much you all love him, but, like, no. I guess he was a bit better in this book, but I just really don’t seem to like him like everyone else.

Max - Izzy and Alec’s little brother, and a totally sweetie. He was mentioned in City of Bones, but I feel like this was the book that I actually got to see his character.

Luke - You all, I love Luke. And the end of this book? When he has accepted his life as it is, just to have Clary’s mom in it. Too pure. Luke is probably my fourth favorite character and is a shining light after seeing all these teenagers doing dumb things constantly.

Maia - I actually really liked the introduction of this new werewolf girl, even though my heart was breaking constantly for her. I don’t know how I feel about Simon’s instant feelings, but I like Maia a lot and can’t wait to read more about her!

Imogen - This character just pissed me off mostly, but I feel like I should mention her mostly because of the last name “Herondale” and how I know you all go buck-wild over a person named Will Herondale that I haven’t met yet! But, it was probably pointless of me to bring this character up.

Valentine - The Voldemort vibes were abundant in this one. But he also felt like a mustache twirling and finger tapping villain, too. And he’s obviously playing all these kids.

Okay, everything else in my review is going to be kind of spoilery. Nothing major, and no huge plot points or anything, but just things that really bothered me and I kind of want to talk about. And, they are all about Jace.



First off, Jace outs Alec and it was so gross and made me so uncomfortable. In front of Clary and Simon, while Luke and Maia are also in the house. And the whole scene is painted like Jace is doing “good” by “not caring” and “wanting Alec to be honest with him” when Alec is obviously unhappy and very uncomfortable. And then after, he expected Magnus to "step up" and confirm that he was seeing Alec. Like, all of Chapter Twelve was disgusting, and it was all because of Jace.

Trigger and content warnings for abuse, bullying, murder, death, abduction, captivity, outing someone, and incestuous things (that is probably going to end up not being incest, but it still told in a way where it looks like incest).

“The greatest fear in Jonathan’s life is the love he feels for his sister.”

Okay, I’m just going to say it. Jace is totally, 100%, without question, okay with fucking Clary while he thinks she is his sister. Now, I’m hoping, and praying, and really thinking that this fandom, and all my friends, wouldn’t want me to read this series if they knew incest was truly in it. But, this book had me shook. Jace legitimately does not care. He even says at one point that no one has to know and that they can just keep it a secret. Like, Lord, clean my eyes, please. I can only imagine what all you where thinking, reading this for the first time, being little kids.

The last thing I guess doesn’t really have much to do with Jace, but actually Valentine. Why did he have to specifically choose the blood sacrifice victims that he did? I mean, the spell legit only called for the blood of children of the four houses (warlock, werewolf, vampire, and fae), why did he have to keep going after two of the most important and watched over ones? He could have legit got any random one off the streets and been a thousand times more successful.

Overall, I didn’t love this one, and I know I sound kind of negative in the paragraphs above, but I did have fun while reading this. I mostly liked every scene without Jace being problematic, and I read it in under twenty-four hours! Yet, I do like this world! And I think that the whole topic of “downworlders” and how people can believe that others have “not as pure blood” is something that I think is still damn important to be talking about in 2018. I will for sure continue on with City of Glass, and hopefully I will enjoy it more!

Blog | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Youtube | Twitch
145 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read City of Ashes.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

April 26, 2018 – Shelved
April 26, 2018 – Shelved as: to-read
April 26, 2018 – Shelved as: angels
April 26, 2018 – Shelved as: demons
April 26, 2018 – Shelved as: fae
April 26, 2018 – Shelved as: fantasy
April 26, 2018 – Shelved as: magic
April 26, 2018 – Shelved as: paranormal
April 26, 2018 – Shelved as: read-in-2018
April 26, 2018 – Shelved as: shifters
April 26, 2018 – Shelved as: vampires
April 26, 2018 – Shelved as: young-adult
July 19, 2018 – Started Reading
July 19, 2018 –
40.0% ""Magnus strode through the gate. The High Warlock was wearing black leather pants, a belt with a buckle in the shape of a jeweled M, and a cobalt-blue Prussian military jacket open over a white lace shirt. He shimmered with layers of glitter."

My idol, honestly. 💛✨"
July 19, 2018 –
60.0% "FAE QUEEN AND FAE UNDERWORLD?

"
July 19, 2018 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-42 of 42 (42 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Elise (TheBookishActress) wow you're so valid, just so fucking valid i love you


Melanie Elise wrote: "wow you're so valid, just so fucking valid i love you"

Hehehe! I love YOU! 💗 And I just looked up a Jace gif for my review... and I'm like... this the human all the girls like? *falls down forever* GOODBYE!


Charity Hang onto your seat cause if you think he's too much now (which you are totally correct about) just waaaaaait. It gets so much worse!


message 4: by Ana (new) - rated it 4 stars

Ana Isabel Guerra Hang in there! Before finishing you should read The Infernal Devices - those are much better and help explain the end of TMI. Also, more of Magnus there 😃
And for those of us who read the book before the movie/serie, that Jace sucks ..


Bells Duarte Hey! This was a great review! I do love this series and but I always try to be aware of it's flaws (it's totally the weakest series in the Shadowhunter World. TID and TDA are so much better that sometimes I just think I love this ones over nostalgia - well, and Simon). I never really give much attencion to Jace have outing Alec and I just re-watched Love, Simon and this paralel gotta me pissed. HOW COULD I NEVER NOTICE THAT?! I RE-READ THIS BOOK LIKE 3 TIMES ALREADY! THAT'S JUST MESSED UP!
From the 3 first one's city of glass is the best, especially because ter pov's change a lot more and we don't have to deal with Jace's angst as much.
Excited to see how you enjoy it! Have a great read and day 💓
PS: think as Jace as Alex Petyeffer because however Dom is sweet he's just does not do justice.


Mary Oh dear lord idk why but I enjoyed this series in middle school despite hating all of the characters. I think it was because there were demons in it but ouch this series wasn't good haha. I rated these books way too high


Melanie Charity wrote: "Hang onto your seat cause if you think he's too much now (which you are totally correct about) just waaaaaait. It gets so much worse!"

*the heaviest of breathing* Hahaha! 💗xx


Melanie Ana wrote: "Hang in there! Before finishing you should read The Infernal Devices - those are much better and help explain the end of TMI. Also, more of Magnus there 😃
And for those of us who read the book bef..."


This is the feedback I needed! Thank you, Ana! All my friends promise me that I'll enjoy TID, so I have my fingers crossed! 💗xx


Melanie Bells wrote: "Hey! This was a great review! I do love this series and but I always try to be aware of it's flaws (it's totally the weakest series in the Shadowhunter World. TID and TDA are so much better that so..."

Thank you so much for this comment, love! It makes me really happy that you think this one is the weakest! I have already read a few chapters in CoG and already like it way more! Thank you so much for this lovely comment! I hope you're having an amazing day and having happy reading! 💗xx


Melanie Mary wrote: "Oh dear lord idk why but I enjoyed this series in middle school despite hating all of the characters. I think it was because there were demons in it but ouch this series wasn't good haha. I rated t..."

Hahaha, you're always valid with me, my love! It's totally just me reading them so much later! I'm sure so many of my middle school favs are 100 times more gross and problematic! And... it will be worth it to get to the fae in Lady Midnight!!! Hahaha! Always on brand! Happy reading, Mary love! 💗xx


Lance I think you’ll enjoy CoG, the rest of the series is a toss-up tho. I personally enjoyed CoFA while everyone else seems to hate that book and was sort of neutral on CoLS.


Melanie I started reading this series because of the tv show. Currently I only have the last two books in TMI, the last one in TID and Tales of Shadowhunter Academy to read before I can finally jump into Lady Midnight. I just want to say that Magnus and Alec are my favorite characters in the tv show. In the books... only Magnus really. I actually don't really like Alec, specilly in book 4 and 5 (I have spoilers). But I do know that he grows a lot and is actually an awesome character in TDA.


Melanie Lance wrote: "I think you’ll enjoy CoG, the rest of the series is a toss-up tho. I personally enjoyed CoFA while everyone else seems to hate that book and was sort of neutral on CoLS."

This is such good feedback, Lance! Thank you, love! This comment means the world to me! And... I already like CoG so much more! I hope you're having happy reading, love! 💗xx


Melanie Melanie wrote: "I started reading this series because of the tv show. Currently I only have the last two books in TMI, the last one in TID and Tales of Shadowhunter Academy to read before I can finally jump into L..."

This makes me feel so much better, Melanie! You have no idea! Like... I didn't know much going into these books! But I knew about the ship of Alec and Magnus... so I was expecting fireworks. But... all those fireworks only come from Magnus for me, so far! Haha! So thank you for this validation, love! And we for sure need to talk more once I get deeper into this book! Happy reading! 💗xx


Melanie Melanie wrote: "This makes me feel so much better, Melanie! You have no idea! Like... I didn't know much going into these books! But I knew about the ship of Alec and Magnus..."

Ur welcome. I actually really enjoyed CoG, but I hate CoFA with a passion xD The only reason I gave it 2 instead of 1 star was because of a few things and the ending. So I'm actually dreading picking CoLS up, specially because some spoilers that I have. But I have to get that over with specially because I really want to read Clockwork Princess (I'm actually reading both series in publication order so I need to read CoLS before that one) and I'm really curious about CoHF since so many people seem to like that too. I do really like the TID tho so that's cool.


Catherine Melanie, if you love Magnus you should read The Bane Chronicles after you're done with TMI. Also, there are references to what happens in Tales From the Shadowhunters Academy in TDA, so maybe you should read it before Lady Midnight or at least ask someone to summarize it for you :) I read TMI after falling in love with Magnus and Alec in the tv show (show!Malec is OTP ♥). But I wasn't disappointed, because I knew from people who read the books before what I was getting into and I knew how problematic Cassandra Clare was so it doesn't come as a surprise that she writes problematic things. TID and TDA are better (not really hard), but far from being as great as so much people say. The last book of TDA (that will come out in December) is on my tbr list because I like to finish series, then I'm done with Clare (note to everyone who love the books: this is a personal opinion and if you like those books, good for you!)


Karen funnily, i can't stand this series so much anymore, though i used to love it. i can't read her newest works either. my favourites by clare remain the infernal devices


Melanie Catherine wrote: "Melanie, if you love Magnus you should read The Bane Chronicles after you're done with TMI. Also, there are references to what happens in Tales From the Shadowhunters Academy in TDA, so maybe you s..."

Ohhhh! I am so excited for The Bane Chronicles now! Yeah, I honestly don't know how I'm going into my first read of these with so little spoiled for me... but I am! Holy shit, I wish I had Jace and Clary's PROBLEM spoiled for me.... I needed the warning! Hahaha! But I love how all my friends are just like "It's fine, Melanie, just get to TID!" Hahaha! Warms my heart! I'll keep you updated on this... journey! And thank you for these words, love! You're the best! 💖xx


Melanie Karen wrote: "funnily, i can't stand this series so much anymore, though i used to love it. i can't read her newest works either. my favourites by clare remain the infernal devices"

Like, it's so addicting and totally quick reads! But... I am almost 50% into CoG and Jace and Clary are STILL (at least thinking they are) brother and sister.... and I'm like... I am going to have to cleanse my eyes and soul after this book! Hahahaha! But I am so excited for TID! And I hope you're having the happiest of reading, Karen love! 💖xx


☆★Tinja★✮ A Court of Pizza and Laziness The spin-offs are way better 💜💜


Melanie ☆★Tinja★✮ A Court of Pizza and Laziness wrote: "The spin-offs are way better 💜💜"

Thank you for this, my love! (I needed it! Haha!) Happy reading, beautiful! 💖xx


message 22: by Hamad (new)

Hamad It was originally written as a HP Fan-fiction so you're not wrong :D


Melanie Melanie wrote: "Ohhhh! I am so excited for The Bane Chronicles now! Yeah, I honestly don't know how I'm going into my first read of these with so little spoiled for me..."

Just don't read the Bane Chronicles before you read TID, it has some spoilers. Also you should either read TID and TMI in publication order or read all of TID before reading the last book of TMI because, you guessed it, spoilers xD And yeah, like someone already said, read Tales of Shadowhunter Academy before jumping into TDA (:


COMPLETELY_BOOKISH Please don't read Lady Midnight before TMI and TID. Yes, you may be able to understand the basic story of Lady Midnight but that's about all you'll get out of it in my opinion. I would recommend continuing on and finishing City of Glass, which in my opinion is leagues better than the previous two books, if you're still not enjoying the series by then, then I would more seriously consider skipping to Lady Midnight or maybe just not reading Cassandra Clare books at all, because the series might just not be for you.


Melanie Melanie wrote: "Melanie wrote: "Ohhhh! I am so excited for The Bane Chronicles now! Yeah, I honestly don't know how I'm going into my first read of these with so little spoiled for me..."

Just don't read the Bane..."



Hehe, I won't! I promise! But oh my gosh and I excited! Ahhh! I hope I am able to get through so many of these in August! Thank you so much again! 💕xx


Melanie BOOKLION_01 wrote: "Please don't read Lady Midnight before TMI and TID. Yes, you may be able to understand the basic story of Lady Midnight but that's about all you'll get out of it in my opinion. I would recommend co..."

I won't! Well.. at least not yet! Hehe!I am 75% into CoG and for sure enjoying it more than CoA! But... it's totally because of Izzy and Simon! Hahaha! I hope it's a real ship and I'm not making this up! Because... they are EASILY my fav! 💕xx


Teresa Power through the not-as-good original series so that you can enjoy the much better TID and TDA :)


Melanie Teresa wrote: "Power through the not-as-good original series so that you can enjoy the much better TID and TDA :)"

Yay, Teresa! Thank you! I am so dang excited to finally start TID! I hope you're having happy reading currently, too! 💕xx


alyssa i didn’t like this one much either! and lovely review too, melanie 💕


Mayim de Vries I gave the same rating, Mel. Book 3 was even worse and I abandoned Ms Clare afterward.


Melanie ally wrote: "i didn’t like this one much either! and lovely review too, melanie 💕"

Awh, thank you so much, Ally! Happy reading, love! 💗xx


Melanie Mayim wrote: "I gave the same rating, Mel. Book 3 was even worse and I abandoned Ms Clare afterward."

This is what people are telling me, and I'm scared! Hahaha! But I have to see if the historicals are better/worth the hype! Haha! But I hope you're currently having the happiest of reading, my love! 💗xx


Mayim de Vries I do xoxo And may the pages of the next book be magical for you too.


Catherine Oh well, we all scared Melanie. That's no good. A lot of people who love TID and TDA are glad they read TMI if only to be able to enjoy the others books. Maybe you'll even like some things about the next TMI books, who knows? I'm not the best person to talk about Clare's books because the fact I'll be done after the last TDA book is also due to the fact I already couldn't stand Clare before reading any of her books and it obviously doesn't have a good influence on my reading experience. So I usually avoid talking about it to not start anything here with her fans that will give me a headache, but really lovely Melanie, just read and see if you enjoy ♥ Don't pay any attention to us anymore if you must :p


Emily But, this book had me shook.

Actual LOL. You wrote so many words about this book. Words I wrote about this book: zero. There is literally nothing to be done until you get to the answer to the Jace/Clary question.


Melanie Catherine wrote: "Oh well, we all scared Melanie. That's no good. A lot of people who love TID and TDA are glad they read TMI if only to be able to enjoy the others books. Maybe you'll even like some things about th..."

Hehehe! I love paying attention to you all! And I'm equal parts scared... and hyped! Hehehe! I really have my fingers crossed for TID! 💗xx


Melanie Emily wrote: "But, this book had me shook.

Actual LOL. You wrote so many words about this book. Words I wrote about this book: zero. There is literally nothing to be done until you get to the answer to the Jace..."


TOO MANY WORDS! 💗xx


Kriss I love faeries so much that I was honestly so upset that faeries were not more featured in this series. Like I am pumped to finally get around to Lady Midnight because it should have more faeries stuff and I am READY. I live for scary, dangerous faeries. Sign. Me. Up.


message 39: by J. (new) - rated it 2 stars

J. Taylor The characters are way better on the TV show, the only thing is that season 1 is actual crap but halfway through season 2, it gets so good. And while Clare gets to keep writing mediocre books at least in my view, they cancel the show which is 100x better.


message 40: by Therese (new)

Therese THANK YOU FOR ACKNOWLEDGING THE WHOLE “idc if ur my sister let’s fuck anyway” THING BC I NEVER SEE ANYONE ELSE TALK ABOUT IT AND IT’S!! SO!!! GROSS!!!!


message 41: by Jo (new) - added it

Jo Carter Did they seriously compare Mangus Bane to Dumbledore?


message 42: by Lilly (new)

Lilly Redford I just don't get that i mean there both wizards but you know i dont actually know I personally think dumbledore is better


back to top