Maggie's Reviews > The Night Circus

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
Rate this book
Clear rating

's review
Nov 19, 2011

it was amazing
bookshelves: children-ya, fiction, library-copy, recommended-by-a-friend
Read 2 times. Last read July 22, 2017 to August 1, 2017.

It's an indicator of how much I enjoyed this book that I went out and bought my own copy the minute I finished reading it. What a delight.

Erin Morgenstern presents us with an incredibly inventive book, which unfolds from three time periods -- the reader's present, the past of Marco and Celia beginning in 1873 going forward chapter by chapter to Bailey's time, and Bailey's time in 1902. Marco and Celia are the pawns of Alexander and Hector, who force the children into a competition they neither understand nor can withdraw from. To stage the competition, a wonderful and wondrous circus is created, which is staged by and peopled by fascinating and wonderful characters and where magic appears before the readers' eyes.

Don't try to resist the allure of this incredible circus. Chocolate mice with licorice tails, carmel popcorn, hot chocolate with cinnemon, and a hundred amazing performers and tents await. Recommended.
3 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Night Circus.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

November 19, 2011 – Shelved
November 19, 2011 – Shelved as: children-ya
November 19, 2011 – Shelved as: fiction
November 19, 2011 – Shelved as: library-copy
November 19, 2011 – Shelved as: recommended-by-a-friend
Started Reading
December 9, 2011 – Finished Reading
July 22, 2017 – Started Reading
August 1, 2017 – Finished Reading

Comments (showing 1-3)

dateUp arrow    newest »

Antof9 I'll be interested to read your review! I've read quite a few here since my book club read this book, and ... they are widely diverse :)

Maggie 38 pages in. So far it's very good and very inventive. However, I really, really dislike one of the characters -- what a snake!

Antof9 hmmm ... yes. I know the snake of which you speak!

back to top