Jayme's Reviews > The Perfect Wife

The Perfect Wife by J.P. Delaney
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
11345366
's review

really liked it
bookshelves: netgalley, buddy-read, publisher-s-invitation, traveling-sisters-read
Read 2 times. Last read June 24, 2019 to June 30, 2019.

"What Gates was to personal computers, Jobs was to smartphones, or Musk was to electric cars, Tim Scott was to AI (Artificial Intelligence); or would be, very soon."

So, when his "Perfect Wife", Abbie, goes missing, and has still not been found, nearly five years later, Tim does what any brilliant CEO of his own Robotics company would do...he recreates her as a "Cobot"-short for "companion robot"-designed to alleviate the loss of a "loved one".

After all, they do have their autistic son, Danny, to raise...and who better to raise him than his own mother?

Naturally, as chapters from the PAST alternate with chapters from the PRESENT, we learn that things were not always as perfect as they seem, and Tim Scott may have ulterior motives...

Though I am not a reader of Sci-Fi, JP Delaney manages to seamlessly merge this aspect of the book into the thriller genre, treating readers once again to a UNIQUE and perhaps cautionary tale of things to come!

I grew to care about cobot Abbie, as if she were a human...

Though not a fan of the debut novel, released under this author's pseudonym, I was impressed by the sophomore release, "Believe Me" and again with this book, and cannot wait to see what J.P. Delaney dreams up for us next..

I would like to thank Netgalley, Random House-Ballantine, and the author for the digital ARC, I received in exchange for my candid review!

This title will be released on Aug. 6, 2019!
30 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Perfect Wife.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

Finished Reading (Hardcover Edition)
April 12, 2018 – Shelved
April 12, 2018 – Shelved as: to-read
February 12, 2019 – Shelved as: netgalley
February 12, 2019 – Shelved as: buddy-read
February 21, 2019 – Shelved as: publisher-s-invitation
June 24, 2019 – Started Reading
June 24, 2019 –
page 1
0.23% "Next Up!"
June 28, 2019 –
50.0%
June 29, 2019 –
99.0% "RTC"
June 30, 2019 – Shelved (Hardcover Edition)
June 30, 2019 – Shelved as: traveling-sisters-read
June 30, 2019 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-19 of 19 (19 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Dita Isn't this a trip?


message 2: by marilyn (new) - added it

marilyn I'm going to try to get this book and join in with the group discussion, ASAP 😊


Jayme Yes! and YES!!


message 4: by Holly (new)

Holly  B Sounds interesting Jayme! Fabulous review!


Jayme It was Holly! I recommend! Hope you enjoy it!


Dita Yessss! So weird and cool and different...and weird again. : )


Carol (Bookaria) Glad you enjoyed it! I’m going to start this one soon


message 8: by Elyse (new)

Elyse Walters Hi Jamie! Happy you enjoyed this. Sounds good 🥰


message 9: by Marialyce (new) - added it

Marialyce This does sound interesting. Thanks for a great review, Jayme, that makes me add this book. :)


Jayme Hope you enjoy it Carol! Will watch for your review! 🤗


Jayme Hi Elyse! Staying cool in the pool? 😎


Jayme Thanks Marialyce! Hope you enjoy it! 📚


Jayme yessss! Dita ! Yess! 😊


message 14: by Lucy (new)

Lucy Langford Great review Jayme !


Jayme Thanks, Lucy!


Kaceey Fabulous review Jayme! Glad you enjoyed!🤗💕


message 17: by Michelle (new) - added it

Michelle Wonderful review, Jayme! 💜


Jayme Thanks Kaceey!


Jayme Thanks Michelle!


back to top