Sade's Reviews > Children of Blood and Bone

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
16037420
's review

did not like it


A thoroughly dissappointing read.
Before i dive into this review, i'd just like to say that i did like the premise of this book. I liked the fact that Tomi wanted to explore Yoruba mythology, i also absolutely loved the fact that she wanted to put Nigeria not just as a place representing Africa as a whole but a country with it's unique culture and all that - she failed in that though , but hey at least she didn't do the whole Africa is a country thing.

First of: Adeyemi had a chance really to properly explore yoruba mythology and you know just educate people but somewhere along the line everything started looking like a rebooted Netflix Version of your fave animie. How do you delete Olodumare, Olorun and Olofi and put Sky Mother??? Who is that?

Then this Nigeria depicted in this book is so lazy. I know, i know, people might say it's fiction but Nigeria is a real ass place. The least you can if you're going to use real places and basically base the identity of your characters as Nigerians is to actually PROPERLY represent such a country. First of Nigeria is freaking huge. So when these characters were hot steping from Lagos - Ilorin - Sokoto in a matter of days i'm sorry i just couldn't roll with it. Then the weather, i mean c'mon snow in Ibadan??? Look i never saw snow until i lived outside Nigeria for 2 years. So this thing she does where she sort of uses weak token gestures to make these characters believable Nigerians is sad. I mean what is with this dashikis they were wearing? I didn't even see one mention of an Agbada or a fila or something.

Now that i think about it, you're not even sure what era in Nigeria she's basing her characterisation of Nigeria on. I'm saying this because 1. she mentions Gombe State. Gombe was created in 1996 out of Bauchi State. Also, the author makes it seem like it's just Yoruba that exists in the whole of Nigeria. I find it difficult to imagine for example that people in Sokoto are going to care one hoot for a yoruba deity. Nigeria has so many tribes who i'm sure obviously have their own mythologies and the author basically saying the whole Nigeria is yoruba is just like i said, a lazy depiction of Nigeria.

Then the hair. See. I've noticed authors want to write in black women/girls but never want to write them with real hair. HOW WERE ZELIE & AMARI'S HAIR BONE STRAIGHT? Did they have relaxers? Binta's hair is literally described as falling in silky sheets. I mean how??? Inan describes Zelie hair like this "White locks that once fell in smooth sheets now cascade down her back in flowing waves" Ugh!!!! Forget the mushy description. But even when her hair is going natural, Tomi Adeyemi still refuses to give her the typical hair you would find on an average Nigerian girl. I mean except she had Fulani blood in her which she clearly didn't, This hair thing was a huge fail.
Could be wrong, but i honestly feel like she was pandering to her non African audience in terms of the hair & depiction of Nigeria. Which is why her characters for me almost feel like foreign Nigerians. I mean even the name of her main character is so not Yoruba. Fun fact: There's no 'z' in the yoruba alphabet so where did the name Zelie come from?

Let's dive into the plot proper...Which is frankly a hot mess. The magic system is completely unexplained which i felt was delibrately done in order to carry Inan's story arc. Then blood magic?? Really if anyone knows what that was all about, feel free to explain it to me please.
The constant need YA authors have to pair characters up like if that doesn't happen, the whole plot will spontaneously combust. The annoying, irritating fact that even though this author is a woman she couldn't make Zelie bad ass enough and stop being so damn emotional.
We have so few bad ass female MC's, and the few YA authors manage to write, have their abilities forever overshadowed by falling in love with some freaking dramatic shit of a male character that cannot get his priorities right.
Also whoa!!! The Avatar Last Airbender similarites were so glaring that i was unable to unsee them at every freaking point.

I honestly feel the bar is basically set on the floor for YA novels, which is why someone can toss in a few Yoruba words, add a real African country in it for good measure, have a gaping plot hole in terms of the magic system, give characters magic willy nilly but still have everyone go awwww because hey guess what, i know i didn't tell you how it works but don't worry here's two beautiful characters falling in love don't stress yourself on how everything works. You want to know the deal with Blood magic? shhh shhhh here's two beautiful characters kissing.

Miss me with this book!

448 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Children of Blood and Bone.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

April 6, 2018 – Started Reading
April 6, 2018 – Shelved
April 6, 2018 –
1.0% "quick stopover to see what the fuss is about."
April 6, 2018 –
1.0% "huh!!! okay so for some weird reason i thought this book wasn't going to really mention Nigerian names like you know you's be able to tell it was influenced by Nigerian culture but it wouldn't be explicit, but hey i can see Lagos on the map. I live in Lagos lol."
April 6, 2018 –
2.0% "is Saran a Nigerian name??"
April 6, 2018 –
4.0% "you know the problem with YA? Everything is over described."
April 6, 2018 –
4.0% "oooooooooooooo is this going to be a rich guy falling for a poor girl kind of thing? i can smell the romance already"
April 6, 2018 –
10.0% "Lagos is described perfectly.. I kinda picture Balogun Market here..."
April 6, 2018 –
10.0% "why can't the author just use light skin instead of copper skin tone.. everything just has to be so dramatic with YA."
April 6, 2018 –
12.0% "OOOOOOH FUCKING HELL!!!!!!!!! SHE DID NOT JUST DO THAT!!! OH MY DAYS!!!
Start panicking everyone!!!"
April 6, 2018 –
12.0% "ARE YOU JOKING????? ODFJOSDJAOPHJIHPOJFSPDJDJ oh my Gosh for fuck's sake Amari!!!"
April 6, 2018 –
12.0% "ewwwwwwwwwwww and now this is the part i hate.

"An unknown force burns behind his amber gaze, a prison i can't escape. Something in his spirit seems to claw into mine"

please why??? why???"
April 6, 2018 –
16.0% "Currently wondering why they've never once considered their father could be lying with the erratic way he behaves."
April 7, 2018 –
16.0% "OMG!!!! Inan is a pipe!!!"
April 8, 2018 –
18.0% "YA authors just love writing pretty words
"A strange sensation rushes through me, surfing through my veins, trapping the breath in my chest. With it, warmth buzzes under my skin. A death....
A spirit.
Magic"
Like I'm just here like nawa oh."
April 9, 2018 –
23.0% "Ahn ahn SNOW IN IBADAN?????? IBADAN??????? hai!!! i know this is fantasy but i'm sorry i can't wrap my head around snow in Ibadan. not even possible."
April 10, 2018 –
25.0% "god this inan is so dramatic.. i'm just like dude chill the fuck out already.. ahn ahn"
April 10, 2018 –
25.0% "ok you know what, this actually doesn't make sense!!
ahn ahn.. what kind of wuru wuru writing is this one?

wuru wuru: basically means when you're trying to cut corners."
April 10, 2018 –
26.0% "also why on earth does he think she has the power to take magic away??? i mean!!"
April 10, 2018 –
26.0% "hein!!!! hai!!! Oluwa oh!!!
basically all Inan has been thinking about/ saying.
Inan: i can smell her soul .. turquoise clouds. Kill her.. kill the magic.. Kill her.. Kill the magic"
April 10, 2018 –
26.0% "his accent hums thick and heavy????
YA books are harder than adult fiction.. nothing is ever straight forward"
April 11, 2018 –
26.0% "This book feels like its going to take forever to finish. Like why is it so long????!!!!!"
April 11, 2018 –
30.0% "Currently wondering if there’s a significance to the fact that her hair isn’t 4c"
April 11, 2018 –
31.0% "This feels so Avatar Last Airbender ish."
April 12, 2018 –
31.0% "why is there a mamalawo??? Also aren't all these maji people tethered to the gods??? i'm so confused"
April 12, 2018 –
31.0% "i'm so fucking confused right now. why is that when the protagonist is involved the rules suddenly change.
is it not the magic thing that has been established since?"
April 12, 2018 –
32.0% "there's something called blood magic...maybe it's like blood bending?
i really don't think the powers are well explained though."
April 12, 2018 –
32.0% "so i'm kinda confused, if this sentaros or whatever they're called can do this why on earth did they need this mamalawos?"
April 12, 2018 –
32.0% "apparently Zelie soul has a sea salt scent..
mehn i just can't with this descriptions.........ehen he has started again Kill her Kill magic.. that's all Inan's thoughts are"
April 12, 2018 –
35.0% "HOW DID HE GET HIS OWN??? I MEAN I DON'T UNDERSTAND!!!!"
April 12, 2018 –
35.0% "SO YOU'RE TELLING ME ALL THIS BOY HAD TO DO WAS BASICALLY YOGA TO UNLEASH HIMSELF??? mschewwwww!!!! Meanwhile the Female lead had to go through all that ceremony??"
April 12, 2018 –
36.0% "Nigeria has a desert??? I feel like if you’re going to use a real country in your book the least you can do is get the seasons and the terrain right... These people are moving from Lagos - Illorin - Sokoto like it’s beans. And i’m just like 😳😳😳"
April 12, 2018 –
37.0% "Im not sure if the author was going for an unapologetic strong female lead, but this zèlie girl just stresses me out with the rubbish she does. Why doesn’t she just think of the bigger picture? All these emotional calls she’s making is just ugh!!!"
April 13, 2018 –
38.0% ""There's a strange aura about him, something commanding, something golden.."

Could have just stopped at "something commanding" and we'd get the gist. but nope gotta be all sing song and add something golden too,
ugh!!"
April 13, 2018 –
38.0% "no idea how this magic thing works..
i feel like the author was deliberately vague on basically how the the whole magic system works just so she could put in anything.
Can't challenge something you don't know the mechanics of."
April 13, 2018 –
41.0% "WTF!!!!!????Who is Minoli and how on earth did she help?? Seriously y'all this book is taking the piss now."
April 13, 2018 –
41.0% "I feel like Inan doesn't think "Kill her. Kill Magic" he might die or something."
April 13, 2018 –
41.0% "huh??? when did he have time to dye his hair??? dude hasn't taken his bloody helmet off in forever."
April 13, 2018 –
41.0% "i'm not even sure a court of thorns and roses..roses and thorns (is that the name?) annoyed me this much...This is some serious piss taking."
April 13, 2018 –
42.0% "why is she getting naked??? why is she getting naked??? why is she getting naked??????
WTF is happening???? omg you guys!!!!
i'm going to to the gym cos i can't anymore!!!"
April 13, 2018 –
42.0% "Inan’s charater is atrocious. He sounds like an overgrown-baby, every time he opens his mouth or we get a glimpse of his thoughts."
April 15, 2018 –
55.0% "Can you just enter another person’s thoughts like that? Is that how it works?
Things are being said but nothing is being explained."
April 15, 2018 –
55.0% "It’s always amusing how authors put in black female characters but always give them manageable black hair. Miss me with this.
Anyways what’s the deal with the hair? Also how on earth was Zèlie’s hair bone straight? Did she relax it?"
April 15, 2018 –
62.0% "We’re doing lovey dovey now. Okay.."
April 15, 2018 –
62.0% "Also it’s actually ludicrous at this point that people keep referring to Amari as a noble on sight. The girl is wearing normal clothes, has basically been living like a normal person for weeks. So except there’s some sort of distinguishing facial feature that nobles have, I’m calling BS on this."
April 15, 2018 –
65.0%
April 15, 2018 –
65.0%
April 15, 2018 –
65.0%
April 15, 2018 –
66.0% "Sigh"
April 15, 2018 –
68.0% "Inan is basically Prince Zuko (Avatar Last Airbender reference)"
April 15, 2018 –
68.0% "Inan is basically Prince Zuko (Avatar Last Airbender reference)"
April 15, 2018 –
70.0% "Why is there love or is it sexual tension?? I’m tired of this book. I can’t lie."
April 15, 2018 –
71.0% "Omg this is like adult kissing that’s going on here!!! How is this book YA??? These characters are indulging in neck kisses..Neck kisses are like kryptonite from a guy you like. I mean that is so HOT!!! Is this YA???"
April 15, 2018 –
71.0% "HEI!!!!!!!!! HEI!!!!!!!!!!! WHAT IS GOING ON???

“She breathes her voice ragged. Her fingers dig into my back, pulling me closer”

Ahhhhhhhhh this book just did a 360 because this is not PG13"
April 15, 2018 –
72.0% "So just one kiss and she agrees to this stupid plan?
We need to talk about how authors keep writing female leads that lose their head and sense because Man!! Sick of it!!"
April 15, 2018 –
75.0% "Ahn ahn did Inan just say this? What is doing this boy sef?"
April 15, 2018 –
76.0% "Your dream of a new Orisha? That plan didn’t even make sense in the first place. What is this ehn??"
April 15, 2018 –
83.0% "Oh for fuck’s sake.
On a positive note: Getting to the end, these chapters have actually been kinda exciting. Loved Amari in these chapters too."
April 15, 2018 –
83.0% "If they have sex in this dream place do they have sex in real life? Or it’s just basically like having a really HOT dream. Cos I don’t understand."
April 15, 2018 –
84.0% "How is this book so freakin long though. ???"
April 15, 2018 –
85.0% "Please please please don’t tell me there’s a love triangle in this thing.. I will fight this author."
April 15, 2018 –
87.0% "How did I get myself into this mess?? Will this book ever end?"
April 16, 2018 –
90.0% "i can taste the end. Also i'm pretty sure i've guessed the problem with her. The answer lies in Avatar the Last Airbender could be proved wrong but we'll see."
April 16, 2018 –
91.0% "gosh this female MC's are the worst!!!"
April 16, 2018 –
91.0% "Chapter 80:
rolling my eyes so far back i can't believe my eyes haven't popped out of my head!!!
How did this author write such an incredibly naive and totally irritating character. Kai!!!!
I can't be an editor."
April 16, 2018 –
92.0% "ULTIMATE SACRIFICE???? TF JUST HAPPENED??? THIS DOESN'T MAKE ANY SENSE!!!!!!!!!!!
OMG I'M SO ANNOYED!!"
April 16, 2018 –
92.0% "OMG this is completely unbelievable!!! everyone in this book has lost the plot..Like jokes aside, i'm in shock."
April 16, 2018 –
96.0% "WTF!!!"
April 16, 2018 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-50 of 81 (81 new)


message 1: by Bibi (new) - rated it 1 star

Bibi I've read reviews that allege same, but since I've never read Airbender...*shrugs* What I do know is that this book is painful to read.


message 2: by Sade (new) - rated it 1 star

Sade Bibi wrote: "I've read reviews that allege same, but since I've never read Airbender...*shrugs* What I do know is that this book is painful to read."

Oh you should totally watch the last airbender (not the movie though, that was like despair and sorrow) it's AMAZING!!!!!
I think people are just psyched that it's set in Nigeria and there are yoruba words there cos i mean, it's just so bleh.


message 3: by Bibi (new) - rated it 1 star

Bibi You're updates are too much 🤣🤣


message 4: by Sade (new) - rated it 1 star

Sade Lol YA novels bring out the best in me


Gerchia YAY! ANOTHER PERSON WHO DIDN'T FALL FOR THE HYPE! lol. Love the review. Couldn't agree more. Don't even get me started on the love story. Never in my life did I end up wanting one part of the main pairing to die. Never.


message 6: by Sade (new) - rated it 1 star

Sade Gerchia wrote: "YAY! ANOTHER PERSON WHO DIDN'T FALL FOR THE HYPE! lol. Love the review. Couldn't agree more. Don't even get me started on the love story. Never in my life did I end up wanting one part of the main ..."

lol like!!!! i wasn't expecting like something epic honestly but wow!! the plot holes were just way too glaring to ignore and ugh the love part, that was just No!!


message 7: by Colleen (new) - added it

Colleen I forced myself to read to about page 100 then stopped. I was getting a headache from all the eye rolling I was doing.


message 8: by Mary (new)

Mary I KNEW this was another pre-crash hype train! So glad I didn't buy into it. Bless your review!


Nenia ✨️ Socially Awkward Trash Panda ✨️ Campbell Wow, this is such a fantastic, informative review!


message 10: by Sade (new) - rated it 1 star

Sade Nenia ✨ Queen of Literary Trash, Protector of Out-of-Print Gems, Khaleesi of Bodice Rippers, Mother of Smut, the Unrepentant, Breaker of Convention ✨ wrote: "Wow, this is such a fantastic, informative review!"

Thanks Nenia.. I really was expecting a proper depiction of Nigeria but can't get it all i guess :(


message 11: by Sade (new) - rated it 1 star

Sade Colleen wrote: "I forced myself to read to about page 100 then stopped. I was getting a headache from all the eye rolling I was doing."

lol It was so nauseating


message 12: by Sade (new) - rated it 1 star

Sade Mary wrote: "I KNEW this was another pre-crash hype train! So glad I didn't buy into it. Bless your review!"

Thanks Mary :)


Sammie Great review! I'm so glad I'm not alone in being disappointed in this. I've been learning more about Yoruba and had fallen in love with them, so when I heard this was inspired from that culture, I was excited. But not for long. My gripes are pretty much the same as yours.

I actually thought this read very much like Zutara fanfiction, where you don't need to develop the characters because, you know, your readers already know them. Which doesn't work in standalone high fantasy all that well. I actually got a little bit in, started realizing the plot was basically all the plot points of Avatar: The Last Airbender, and then I promptly told hubby everything that was going to happen. And I was right about almost everything. So it's pretty sad that I could call most of the plot at maybe 15% of the way through.


message 14: by Sade (new) - rated it 1 star

Sade Sammie wrote: "Great review! I'm so glad I'm not alone in being disappointed in this. I've been learning more about Yoruba and had fallen in love with them, so when I heard this was inspired from that culture, I ..."

Thank you Sammie. yeah it was a real let down. especially as you know she could have done something totally different and bad ass...


Gerchia Bibi wrote: "I've read reviews that allege same, but since I've never read Airbender...*shrugs* What I do know is that this book is painful to read."

Omg Bibi. No truer words have been spoken. I keep thinking that I should be happy. There's finally more books with POC main characters. And although I kind of am, I just feel expect more from an author of color. We've been have generic plots and forced love interests. I felt like maybe I was judging it too hard. But I just couldnt find it in me to love this or give it three stars. And that's painful really.


message 16: by maria (new)

maria this was a really eye-opening review and i'm glad i read it before i finished the book. though i know almost nothing about african mythology so can't have any say in regards to that, i can agree on the fact that it seems as though she's made the magic system purposefully confusing for inan's sake. thanks for writing this, though, it's really good for people who know nothing about africa or nigeria in particular to be aware of these things while we're reading the book (to know it isn't accurate etc).


message 17: by edge of bubble (new)

edge of bubble I love the ending of your review especially!


message 18: by Sade (new) - rated it 1 star

Sade edge of bubble wrote: "I love the ending of your review especially!"

hahaa thanks edge :)


message 19: by Sade (new) - rated it 1 star

Sade maria wrote: "this was a really eye-opening review and i'm glad i read it before i finished the book. though i know almost nothing about african mythology so can't have any say in regards to that, i can agree on..."

Thank you Maria :)


Melissa Stacy Hello, ijeoma Agbaje. Thank you very much for this review! I learned a lot! :)

I first read your review a few weeks ago, and reread it today, with all of your updates this time, and that made me laugh! Your updates reminded me of what it felt like reading this book! :D

I had to read this novel twice before I could understand it well enough to write a review. I struggled pretty hard to understand the magic system, and some places I had to reread 4 or 5 times before I felt like I had a grasp of how things worked.

I finally finished editing my review for this book today. I also rated this book only one star. My review focuses on the religious ableism in the book, the main character's immoral behavior, and the problematic allegorical messaging. Because I am not an own voices reviewer, I linked your review into mine as an example of an own voices review (in this case, someone familiar with Yoruba and Nigerian mythology), and I just wanted to let you know that.

My review ended up being so long, I had to publish it on my website and just put my link here on Goodreads. If you want to know where to find that, it is here --
https://melissastacy-thoughtcandy.com...

Thank you again for your review! I hope your next reads have been more enjoyable! :)

Sincerely,
Melissa


message 21: by Jumoke (new)

Jumoke Thank you for this. I did the audible version and not only did the narrator not have a Nigerian accent she did not even come close to pronouncing the words correctly.
She uses actual cities and states in Nigeria but can be bothered to describe them accurately e.g ilorin a coastal city bordering on island? The protagonists ride lions-do we have lions in Nigeria? They eat antelope meat? For where?
Like you said this was a pretty generic and tired plot that if it was set in Europe or America with white characters the book would not receive all the positive attention it’s getting. The only thing unique about this book is it’s location.
I hate to say this but are they lowering the bar for black authors because they are black or they think they can market this as different because the characters are black?


Melissa Stacy Jumoke wrote: "I hate to say this but are they lowering the bar for black authors because they are black or they think they can market this as different because the characters are black?"

These are excellent questions. And truly frightening for being such excellent questions. Thank you for sharing. <3


message 23: by Sade (new) - rated it 1 star

Sade Jumoke wrote: "Thank you for this. I did the audible version and not only did the narrator not have a Nigerian accent she did not even come close to pronouncing the words correctly.
She uses actual cities and sta..."


like i was so excited that she actually used Nigeria, not knowing it was going to be some sort of token version.


message 24: by [deleted user] (new)

Hi! I really enjoyed your review. As far as the hair thing goes - my understanding was that their straightened hair was a sign of wrongness. Zélie's hair was described as coiled and curly when she was a child, but when the magic was taken/after the Raid, it straightened. Throughout the course of the story, as she regained her magic/as that part of her world was made right again, her hair was described as curling back up. Just wanted to throw that out there. Hope you like your future reads better than this one!


message 25: by Sade (new) - rated it 1 star

Sade Margaret wrote: "Hi! I really enjoyed your review. As far as the hair thing goes - my understanding was that their straightened hair was a sign of wrongness. Zélie's hair was described as coiled and curly when she ..."

oooh i get but that still isn't really the kind of hair you would find on the average Nigerian. The girls' you would usually find with the kind of hair the author used are usually Fulani..This is not to say you can't find girls' from other region with this kind of hair but that's like finding a needle in a haystack. it's just not that common especially for the ethnic group she picked.


message 26: by Jane (new) - rated it 4 stars

Jane Igharo I really enjoyed the book but I agree with a lot with what you said. As a Nigerian I was expecting some Nigerian lingo but there was none. The characters used a lot of American phrases and that was confusing for me and unrealistic.


message 27: by Sade (new) - rated it 1 star

Sade Jane wrote: "I really enjoyed the book but I agree with a lot with what you said. As a Nigerian I was expecting some Nigerian lingo but there was none. The characters used a lot of American phrases and that was..."

yeah... i was totally enjoying it at first but ughhhhhhhh the main protagonist was just too silly for me.. Half of the things she did, i wanted to burst into the book and shake her hard lol.


Venessa Thank you for this review. I gave literally just finished this book and I am so disappointed.

Thank you for pointing out the fact that the MC has straight hair because that got to me too. It's almost like its justified. There's a scene where Zélie and Amari are talking and Amari mentions how Zéline's hair has curls and Zéline responds that it's due to her power - like what?

Also, something that really annoyed me were the decisions made by some of the characters in this book! Zélie is so immature, I wanted to go into this world and smack her myself! Was that just me? Lol.

Great review!


Blake West The magic system was actually explained very well and made sense. How about instead of bashing an INCREDIBLE author you go write a best-selling book and get it picked up for a movie before it’s even out.


message 30: by Nenia ✨️ Socially Awkward Trash Panda ✨️ (last edited Aug 12, 2018 06:55PM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Nenia ✨️ Socially Awkward Trash Panda ✨️ Campbell Blake wrote: "The magic system was actually explained very well and made sense. How about instead of bashing an INCREDIBLE author you go write a best-selling book and get it picked up for a movie before it’s eve..."

LOL, what are you, the review police? How about instead of bashing an INCREDIBLE reviewer, you go add on to your own and enjoy the book with people who feel the same as you instead of soliciting your opinion where it's not welcome.


message 31: by Sade (new) - rated it 1 star

Sade Blake wrote: "The magic system was actually explained very well and made sense. How about instead of bashing an INCREDIBLE author you go write a best-selling book and get it picked up for a movie before it’s eve..."

Mama i made it... i got my very own troll
description


message 32: by Sade (new) - rated it 1 star

Sade Nenia ✨ Queen of Literary Trash, Protector of Out-of-Print Gems, Khaleesi of Bodice Rippers, Mother of Smut, the Unrepentant, Breaker of Convention ✨ wrote: "How about instead of bashing an INCREDIBLE reviewer."

Thank you for the compliment Nenia. I'm totally blushing here :)


Nenia ✨️ Socially Awkward Trash Panda ✨️ Campbell ijeoma Agbaje wrote: "Nenia ✨ Queen of Literary Trash, Protector of Out-of-Print Gems, Khaleesi of Bodice Rippers, Mother of Smut, the Unrepentant, Breaker of Convention ✨ wrote: "How about instead of bashing an INCREDI..."

<3


message 34: by Uche (last edited Aug 16, 2018 11:17PM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Uche
Like I'm just here like nawa oh.

WTF is happening???? omg you guys!!!!
i'm going to to the gym cos i can't anymore!!!



How is this book so freakin long though. ???



^^^ THIS! I kept asking myself the same thing!

Can I just say that I find your liveblogging more entertaining than the book?


message 35: by Sade (new) - rated it 1 star

Sade Lol thank you Uche


Imade (Bridge Four) Thank you for this review abeg. You're one of the real ones left.


message 37: by Sade (new) - rated it 1 star

Sade Imade (Bridge Four) wrote: "Thank you for this review abeg. You're one of the real ones left."

Thank you :)
That means a lot.


message 38: by Beth (new) - rated it 1 star

Beth Ok you put down so many things that bothered me but I didn't have the energy to write about in my own lazy review. What you said about the outfits though reminded me of how incredibly FRUSTRATED I was trying to get a visual on like.....literally anything in this book. What do the characters look like? Idk? What's a dashiki? I had to Google it and guess at what was most accurate. And I'm still not sure what the deal is with the animals. Like they don't have regular animals but as far as I can tell the only difference is that these ones are bigger and have horns. And Röen??? What ethnicity is he? He sounds East Asian maybe but that's a long ways away, and his name doesn't exactly help clue us in. After reading your review I want even more to hear Adeyemi actually explain her book. Like if you go on Leigh Bardugo's website you can read about her inspiration and her research and see pictures of what a kefta roughly is, etc. Even in a European inspired fantasy world, you have to really describe your world to your readers so they understand the setting they're entering. Telling a story in a setting inspired by a culture from a completely different continent means there's even less that you can assume your readers can know or infer going into your story. I was so lost the whole time reading it, and wished she'd at least had some supplementary stuff on her website or something (though your review makes me wonder how much research there'd be to share).


message 39: by Sade (new) - rated it 1 star

Sade Beth wrote: "Ok you put down so many things that bothered me but I didn't have the energy to write about in my own lazy review. What you said about the outfits though reminded me of how incredibly FRUSTRATED I ..."

yeah it was super disappointing how she made her characters. From what i read on her blog and behind the book i think she wants people to focus less on where they're from and more on the struggles a minority group faces. She mentions the increased violence on black people in America and tries to tie it into the book but i'm just like umm okay even if you couldn't get basic Nigeria right (i mean it's not that hard anyways) could have at least given us a strong plot, but nope, Fail on both counts.


message 40: by Elowen (new)

Elowen I gave up on this book last night because I was too frustrated to continue. I had high hopes for this novel. It's been hyped so much and the author seems a really nice person, plus I was really excited when I read the description. But when I started reading it I was so disappointed. Inan's chapter where he burns a whole village just because his father tells him to, and then apparently hasn't even bothered to actually look for his sister and Zélie... that made no sense. A character who deep down knows something is morally wrong, but still doesn't hesitate to burn a village with so many innocent people just because his father said so and he's trying hard to live up to daddy's expectations... I'm sorry, I'm not interested in reading about characters like that.
I was looking forward to a Nigeria-inspired fantasy but other than the Nigerian place names and some terminology that I had to guess the meaning of, this world seemed just like any other generic fantasy setting. I've never been to Nigeria but imho Nnedi Okorafor did a much better job with Lagoon (which admittedly is sci-fi) and Akata Witch.
Anyway, I was starting to doubt myself when I put this book down unfinished (so many 5-star reviews!) so I thought I'd try to find some Goodread reviews by Nigerian readers, because I actually thought that maybe Nigerian readers would take away much more from this book, and be able to enjoy it more. Apparently I was wrong :-) Thank you for your review.


message 41: by Sade (new) - rated it 1 star

Sade Thank you so much Elowen. The book was pretty disappointing all round.


4EVER2Binluv Ok wow. I gave this book 3 stars originally, but when reading this and seeing how much pandering is in this for something that is supposed to show African pride is kind of disgusting.... I'm knocking this bad boy down to a 2 star


message 43: by M. (new) - rated it 1 star

M. So, there's a Nigerian Daenerys in that book...


message 44: by Sade (new) - rated it 1 star

Sade M. wrote: "So, there's a Nigerian Daenerys in that book..."

lol i never thought about that angle.


Nina ✳The Surgebinder ✳ This is one strong review...


Aniece Futch You know, I expected to hate this review. I was telling myself I won't even read it because I thought the book was amazing. But now that I've discovered Yoruba religion (read: Ifa) I realize you're so right. Valid points.


message 47: by Rachel K (new)

Rachel K This has to be the best review I've read for this book! I was so excited to read this book because the premise and setting were completely different to what is normally out there for YA fantasy books. But I found Zelie's character disappointing and the magic confusing and inconsistent, so I didn't end up finishing it.


Celina My interpretation of the women’s hair being silky and straight is that their magic had been taken from them. As she builds her magic, Zelie’s hair gets curlier. I also took the setting to be partly fantasy and so the incorrect distances, etc didn’t seem a problem.


message 49: by Sade (new) - rated it 1 star

Sade Celina wrote: "My interpretation of the women’s hair being silky and straight is that their magic had been taken from them. As she builds her magic, Zelie’s hair gets curlier. I also took the setting to be partly..."

Honestly not a problem if you viewed it that way... But there’s really only so much an author can erase of a country / people in the name of ‘fantasy’ if she wanted to create a new world she could have done it like Harry Potter.
Black hair just isn’t silky smooth like that. Zelie wasn’t bi-racial. Have you seen the hair of a typical Nigerian girl? I can tell you my hair wasn’t silky smooth until i got it relaxed. Black hair just isn’t like that, sure there’s maybe a 1% group that may be born with hair like that but that’s like looking for a needle in a haystack. It’s not Black hair. . If it was just ‘fantasy’ she could have made their skin green so we know the rules of being Nigerian don’t apply.
With the settings, c’mon I mean was there a reason to put in snow? Nigeria is a warm country. See she really could have taken the yoruba aspect and created her own world and it would have worked perfectly for this abstract Black Country she tried to create.


Sophy H Well said Ijeoma. I thought the book was severely lacking.


« previous 1
back to top