*Dee's Book Carousel*'s Reviews > Seize Me

Seize Me by Crystal Spears
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5618268
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: death, stripper, alpha-female, alpha, alpha-male, mc, mc-challenge, mc-vs-mc, russian, what-does-heroine-wants, what-does-the-hero-want, possessive, bestfriends, new-author, new-series, prez, kidnapped, past-brings-pain, flashbacks, flawed, father-dies, father-was-cruel, memorable-characters, memorable-hero, memorable-setting, change-for-her-only, change-is-good, changed-for-each-other, changed-man, changed-outlook, she-got-on-my-nerves-at-times, she-is-his-challenge, she-is-his-salvation, she-is-the-one, she-saved-him, angel, read-it-again, gritty, intense, tortured, cocky, tats, tear-jerker, gangs-all-here, age-aint-nothing-but-a-number-here, old-gangs-all-here, older-man-younger-woman, drugs, triggers, loyal-friends, loyalty, loyalty-to-family, instalust, a-twist-hero-wants-more, a-good-girl, cray-cray, cunning, hero-s-pov, blood-all-around, blood-sweat-and-tears, dark, pit-black-darker-than-dark, piercing, sassy, mafia, mafia-challenge, heart-wretching, heartbreak, first-in-series, good-series, loved-this-man, cheater, not-a-doormat, 2018-favorites, 5-stars-2018, 911, recommended-and-approved, arrogant-at-times-but-it-s-okay, confidence-is-growing, controlling, caustic-tongue, caveman-tendencies-for-sure, cover-alert, 1-percenter, a-hole, a-must-read, addiction, almost-anti-hero-like, all-for-the-family, angst, arguments-ruins-relationship, asshole, attraction-grows, babysits, backstabber, bad-boys, bad-man, bar, beat-up, betrayal, biker, blame-self, blunt, boss, bossy, brother, broody, brothers, brothers-got-ya-back, business-owner, character-w-child, childhood-friends, claimed, club, coming-of-age, comic-relief, confused, control, crime-boss, crimes-are-commited, cruel, daddy-issues, danger-danger, damage-control, deception, deductive-reasoning, demons, didn-t-see-this-coming, dirty-talking, doc, drug-dealer, drug-use, ex-gets-a-beat-down, ex-girlfriend, f-a-v-o-r-i-t-e-s, family, family-friend, family-ties, fast-paced, father, favorite-2018, favorite-author-alert, favorite-series, fear, feisty, fiesty, fighter, forgiveness, friend-killed, friends-are-supportive, fun-banter, gives-origins, go-to-author, goals-and-dreams, good-girl, good-vs-evil, gossip, grandparents, great-mother, great-series, growly, has-money, he-changed-for-the-best, he-falls-hard, he-found-her, he-gives-orders, he-is-the-one, he-loves-her, he-saved-her, highly-recommend, hitman, hottttttttttttttttt, human-trafficking, insecurities, it-s-all-in-the-name, jealousy, judge-me-not, laughing-out-loud, killing, legal-and-illegal-business, manipulator, manwhore, mc-vs-mafia, memorable, memories, mine, miscommunications, money-talks, murder, no-comfort-zone-here, no-holds-barred, no-push-over-heroine, obssessive, now-what, open-mouth-insert-foot-with-mate, payback-is-a-bitch, problem-ex-wants-you-back, protective-brother, protector, protector-s-instinct, rape, raw, respect, revenge, safety, secondary-character-you-loved, secondary-characters-you-hate, secretive, security, series, setting-memorable, setup, sex-is-memorable, sex-was-never-a-problem-for-hero, shooting, smart-and-cunning-man, smart-woman, smokingggggggggggg, so-worth-the-wait-and-wait-and-wait, spitfire-fiesty-heroine, spunky, stubborn-h-h, supportive-friends, supportive-man, surprises, the-hard-way, the-kiss-of-all-kisses-memorable, the-look-of-all-looks, twists-and-turns-ups-and-downs, ups-and-downs, vengeance, very-emotional-read, violence, watch-your-back, who-am-i, widow, wrong-place-at-the-wrong-time, wth, wow

This was a Buddy read in the Biker Babes group.

After reading "Seize Me" (Breakneck, #1) by Crystal Spears, I will say that all the other MC books I've read were tame and gentle reads compared to this one! Sugar coated too!

The author said it best in her letter to readers:

"You will have questions all throughout this novel; those questions will be answered as you continue to read Seize Me. I would also like to warn you that I did not hold back on any details with certain aspects of writing this novel and some areas might be difficult for you to read. I wanted to make my fictitious world gritty, raw, and full of angst. Nothing is held back. So here is my warning before you enter the world of ‘Breakneck’. If you can’t stand reading about drugs, violence, sex, murder, and vengeance, then this isn’t a world for you. It also contains explicit language and some rape scenes. Although I thank you for purchasing my novel, I feel it is my duty to warn you ahead of time."

That letter was simply a honest but frank warning of what was to come while reading "Seize Me." That being said, this gritty book did seize me from the start with the heroine's thought-provoking prologue to the very end of the story. Breakneck was a vivid world of foul language, violence, sex galore, drugs, murder, torture leading to vengeance that will keep both of your brows raised or jaw ticking due to the subject matter but also make you realize that the characters and situations in the story were all valid to the world of 1 percenter's MC.

Heroine, Winter Belov aka Star aka Angel was a mob boss' daughter who fell in love with an employee of her father. When cruel Daddy dearest finds out about their affair, he blows Allen's head away as and that along breaks Winter. After awhile, Winter empties her bank account and flees her father's clutches and begins anew. She finds a job at a stripper joint and finds a bff in Lana aka Hazel who had a major crush on Pyro, a member of Breakneck MC. As a favor to her bff, Lana, she commits to dancing a private party for the Breakneck President, Braxxon Breakneck with Lana. On the way to the Breakneck compound, Lana's car breaks down and Star calls Pyro. From that point on in the story you get angsty T.R.O.U.B.L.E. : "drugs, violence, sex, murder, vengeance"and various cheating moments with gritty details. Not planning on giving any more spoiler but if you are a fan of the 1 percenter's lifestyle, you will be engaged with this book but if the author's letter above upset you, then DO NOT READ THIS BOOK!

5 "Seize Me" dirty stars *****
13 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Seize Me.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

March 29, 2018 – Started Reading
March 29, 2018 – Shelved
March 29, 2018 –
page 12
4.69% "Lana aka Hazel has to let her friend, Winter aka Star know about the Breakneck MC Prez:

“He’s turning thirty, and word has it…he’s far from being smacked by an ugly stick.”"
March 29, 2018 –
page 20
7.81% "“Baby you’re probably nodding into the phone, right? But here’s the thing sweetness; since I can’t see you, let me hear the words.” -Pyro"
March 29, 2018 –
page 35
13.67% "Star is 'boss' when rules are not followed..."
March 29, 2018 –
page 35
13.67% ""That voice could melt chocolate. Please let his face match that sex filled voice; please, please, please I silently beg as my panties dampen."

-- Star's inner thoughts"
March 29, 2018 –
page 35
13.67% "“No, it’s okay Braxxon. Who the fuck do I think I am? I’ll tell you Pyro,” I coo quietly staring into his eyes. “My name is Winter Aaliyah Belov.”

and she knows the lifestyle well! uh, em!"
March 29, 2018 –
page 155
60.55% "Winter/Star can go from hot to cold in no time flat! lol

“Don’t give me that shit; you know what he did. Where the fuck is your Prez, Pyro? I swear I’m gonna have him eating his own dick for supper!”"
March 29, 2018 –
page 155
60.55% ""I inhale sharply before letting a tear escape the corner of my eye. A bag of damn gummy bears. One thing is for certain. I hate that I hate him because I think I just might love him, all because of a bag of gummies that he knew I would need. I open the bag, stuff one in my mouth, and silently cry myself to sleep."

- Heroine does have manic emotions... on to Braxxon's POV... PLEASE!"
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: death
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: stripper
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: alpha-female
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: alpha
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: alpha-male
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: mc
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: mc-challenge
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: mc-vs-mc
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: russian
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: what-does-heroine-wants
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: what-does-the-hero-want
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: possessive
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: bestfriends
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: new-author
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: new-series
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: prez
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: kidnapped
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: past-brings-pain
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: flawed
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: flashbacks
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: father-dies
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: father-was-cruel
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: memorable-characters
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: memorable-hero
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: memorable-setting
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: change-for-her-only
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: change-is-good
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: changed-for-each-other
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: changed-man
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: changed-outlook
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: she-got-on-my-nerves-at-times
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: she-is-his-challenge
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: she-is-his-salvation
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: she-is-the-one
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: she-saved-him
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: angel
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: read-it-again
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: gritty
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: intense
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: tortured
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: cocky
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: not-a-doormat
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: tats
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: tear-jerker
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: gangs-all-here
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: age-aint-nothing-but-a-number-here
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: old-gangs-all-here
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: older-man-younger-woman
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: drugs
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: triggers
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: loyal-friends
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: loyalty
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: loyalty-to-family
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: instalust
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: a-twist-hero-wants-more
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: a-good-girl
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: cray-cray
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: cunning
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: hero-s-pov
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: blood-all-around
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: blood-sweat-and-tears
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: dark
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: pit-black-darker-than-dark
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: piercing
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: sassy
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: mafia
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: mafia-challenge
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: heart-wretching
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: heartbreak
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: first-in-series
March 29, 2018 – Shelved as: good-series
March 29, 2018 – Finished Reading
March 30, 2018 – Shelved as: loved-this-man
March 30, 2018 – Shelved as: cheater
March 30, 2018 – Shelved as: not-a-doormat
March 30, 2018 – Shelved as: 2018-favorites
March 30, 2018 – Shelved as: 5-stars-2018
March 30, 2018 – Shelved as: 911
March 30, 2018 – Shelved as: recommended-and-approved
March 30, 2018 – Shelved as: arrogant-at-times-but-it-s-okay
March 30, 2018 – Shelved as: confidence-is-growing
March 30, 2018 – Shelved as: controlling
March 30, 2018 – Shelved as: caustic-tongue
March 30, 2018 – Shelved as: caveman-tendencies-for-sure
March 30, 2018 – Shelved as: cover-alert
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: 1-percenter
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: a-hole
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: a-must-read
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: addiction
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: almost-anti-hero-like
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: all-for-the-family
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: angst
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: arguments-ruins-relationship
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: asshole
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: attraction-grows
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: babysits
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: backstabber
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: bad-boys
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: bad-man
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: bar
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: beat-up
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: betrayal
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: biker
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: blame-self
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: blunt
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: boss
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: bossy
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: brother
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: broody
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: brothers
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: brothers-got-ya-back
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: business-owner
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: character-w-child
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: childhood-friends
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: claimed
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: club
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: coming-of-age
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: comic-relief
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: confused
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: control
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: crime-boss
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: crimes-are-commited
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: cruel
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: daddy-issues
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: danger-danger
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: damage-control
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: deception
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: deductive-reasoning
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: demons
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: didn-t-see-this-coming
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: dirty-talking
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: doc
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: drug-dealer
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: drug-use
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: ex-gets-a-beat-down
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: ex-girlfriend
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: f-a-v-o-r-i-t-e-s
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: family
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: family-friend
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: family-ties
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: fast-paced
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: father
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: favorite-2018
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: favorite-author-alert
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: favorite-series
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: fear
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: feisty
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: fiesty
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: fighter
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: forgiveness
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: friend-killed
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: friends-are-supportive
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: fun-banter
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: gives-origins
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: go-to-author
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: goals-and-dreams
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: good-girl
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: good-vs-evil
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: gossip
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: grandparents
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: great-mother
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: great-series
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: growly
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: has-money
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: he-changed-for-the-best
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: he-falls-hard
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: he-found-her
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: he-gives-orders
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: he-is-the-one
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: he-loves-her
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: he-saved-her
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: highly-recommend
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: hitman
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: hottttttttttttttttt
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: human-trafficking
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: insecurities
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: it-s-all-in-the-name
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: jealousy
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: judge-me-not
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: laughing-out-loud
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: killing
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: legal-and-illegal-business
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: manipulator
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: manwhore
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: mc-vs-mafia
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: memorable
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: memories
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: mine
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: miscommunications
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: money-talks
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: murder
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: no-comfort-zone-here
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: no-holds-barred
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: no-push-over-heroine
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: obssessive
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: now-what
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: open-mouth-insert-foot-with-mate
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: payback-is-a-bitch
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: problem-ex-wants-you-back
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: protective-brother
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: protector
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: protector-s-instinct
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: rape
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: raw
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: respect
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: revenge
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: safety
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: secondary-character-you-loved
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: secondary-characters-you-hate
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: secretive
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: security
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: series
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: setting-memorable
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: setup
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: sex-is-memorable
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: sex-was-never-a-problem-for-hero
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: shooting
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: smart-and-cunning-man
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: smart-woman
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: smokingggggggggggg
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: so-worth-the-wait-and-wait-and-wait
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: spitfire-fiesty-heroine
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: spunky
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: stubborn-h-h
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: supportive-friends
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: supportive-man
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: surprises
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: the-hard-way
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: the-kiss-of-all-kisses-memorable
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: the-look-of-all-looks
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: twists-and-turns-ups-and-downs
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: ups-and-downs
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: vengeance
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: very-emotional-read
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: violence
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: watch-your-back
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: who-am-i
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: widow
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: wrong-place-at-the-wrong-time
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: wth
April 1, 2018 – Shelved as: wow

Comments Showing 1-12 of 12 (12 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Paganalexandria Great review Dee. Happy you loved it! It was a lot to take in.


message 2: by *Dee's Book Carousel* (last edited Mar 30, 2018 01:04PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

*Dee's Book Carousel* True, It was a lot to take in but well worth the read! "Seize Me" would be a book that I would read again and again! The feels in this books made me laugh, cry, holler, roll my eyes and ever question some of the characters' actions and even ask why? on several occasions! I do understand the ratings that readers gave ranging from 1 to 5 stars but I literally had to take my personal judgements out of it and rate it base on Spears not wanting to water-down her characters and situations. So five stars I gave it!


Paganalexandria Deetimes wrote: "True, It was a lot to take in but well worth the read! "Seize Me" would be a book that I would read again and again! The feels in this books made me laugh, cry, holler, roll my eyes and ever questi..."

It blew me away the first time reading it.


*Dee's Book Carousel* I was going to go right into "Withstanding Me" but I really need to finished Eve Vaughn's Obsessed.


AlligatorSmith loves to read One of my all time favs. Wish she was still writing this series or others!


*Dee's Book Carousel* When you finished that book did you feel drained AlligatorSmith?... I'm literally tired... from it... I couldn't go to sleep until 2 hours later... it had me so wired! So I would like to think that maybe the author, Crystal Spears is somewhere on a beach writing or finishing up her next book in The Breakneck series! HAPPY THOUGHTS!


*Dee's Book Carousel* When you finished that book did you feel drained AlligatorSmith?... I'm literally tired... from it... I couldn't go to sleep until 2 hours later... it had me so wired! So I would like to think that maybe the author, Crystal Spears is somewhere on a beach writing or finishing up her next book in The Breakneck series! HAPPY THOUGHTS!


AlligatorSmith loves to read Yes, this one was crazy to read. But I thought about for a long while and still think it's one of the craziest coolest MC book out there. Yes, may she still be writing, wherever (and whoever) she is now.


*Dee's Book Carousel* She seized us for sure... and she is working on the next book too!


AlligatorSmith loves to read That's great. I know I tried looking for her current status on facebook and her web presence a little while ago and couldn't find anything, so I'm glad to heart there's more coming...


*Dee's Book Carousel* Did you leave her a message just asking if she was still working on other books in the Breakneck series?


Michelle Great review. I'm definitely adding it.


back to top