Tyler J [They/He] Gray's Reviews > The Devil and the Deep: Horror Stories of the Sea

The Devil and the Deep by Ellen Datlow
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
6296289
's review

liked it
bookshelves: horror, 2010s, own, own-physical

My favorites of the stories include
Deadwater by Simon Bestwick
Fodder's Jig by Lee Thomas
What my mother left me by Alyssa Wong
A moment before breaking by A.C. Wise
Sister, Dearest Sister, Let me show to you the sea by Seanan McGuire
He Sings of salt and wormwood by Brian Hodge

The rest were various stages of slight dislike/not for me to I enjoyed it. I didn't hate any of the stories.

Overall average is 3.37

Really did enjoy it over all :)
11 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Devil and the Deep.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

March 21, 2018 – Shelved
March 21, 2018 – Shelved as: to-read
March 21, 2018 – Shelved as: horror
April 12, 2018 – Shelved as: 2010s
April 12, 2018 – Shelved as: own
April 12, 2018 – Shelved as: own-physical
May 23, 2018 – Shelved as: july-tbr
July 15, 2018 – Started Reading
July 15, 2018 –
page 19
5.65% "Deadwater by Simon Bestwick- 5 stars

It really touched me having also self-harmed for years, and been abused. It felt personal to me."
July 18, 2018 –
page 43
12.8% "Fodder's Jig by Lee Thomas- 4 stars"
July 18, 2018 –
page 61
18.15% "The Curious Allure of the Sea by Christopher Golden- 3 stars

I was liking it and thinking it'd make sense eventually but then the ending happened and...I still don't get it."
July 19, 2018 –
page 79
23.51% "The Tryal Attract by Terry Dowling- 3.5 stars

Creepy and was really into it but the ending felt rushed."
July 24, 2018 –
page 101
30.06% "The Whalers Song by Ray Cluley- 2.5 stars

Creepy with what was going on with the island, and I could see a bit of it's merits with the men and the sea, but still didn't care for it too much."
July 24, 2018 –
page 132
39.29% "A Ship of the South Wind- 2 stars

Maybe if I had slowed down, and understood it more, i'd have liked it more but as it is it mostly went over my head. Also feels like the wrong anthology for it."
July 25, 2018 –
page 147
43.75% "What my mother left by Alyssa Wong- 4.5 stars

I was worried i'd be the odd one out and not like this story at first. I didn't like Gina b/c I felt she could have had more sympathy for Emma and Emma wasn't the only one who should have apologized, even if what she said was a bit harsh. And then there's the whole Emma broke up w/ Clay yesterday...how are they in love already?

But it got better & YES to that ending!!"
July 25, 2018 –
page 171
50.89% "Broken Record by Stephen Graham Jones 2 stars

What...was...that? It's a short story and I kept getting so bored and side tracked."
July 25, 2018 –
page 187
55.65% "Saudade by Steve Rasnic tem- 2.75 stars

I don't get it. I felt for the guy and understood his loneliness. I don't get the ending though or what the deal was with the woman."
July 25, 2018 –
page 209
62.2% "A Moment Before BReaking by A.C. Wise- 3.75 stars

for now anyway. My brain is tired and I am not fully concentrating. I think I will enjoy this more upon a re-read but I did like it. Creepy, weird, sea-worthy."
July 26, 2018 –
page 223
66.37% "Sister, Dearest Sister, Let me show to you the sea by Seanan McGuire- 5 stars

I freaking LOVED this one!"
July 26, 2018 –
page 223
66.37% "The Deep Sea Swell by John Langan- 3.5 stars

Slightly hard to follow but still creepy, kept my attention. I liked it."
July 26, 2018 –
page 237
70.54% "Oops forgot to update the page"
July 26, 2018 –
page 263
78.27% "He sings of salt and wormwood by Brian Hodge- 4.5 stars

Really enjoyed this one. The surfing/diving/breath holding stuff, the slow building horror, the ocean's calling."
July 27, 2018 –
page 288
85.71% "Shit Happens by Michael Marshall Smith- 2.5 stars

Disgusting and not for me. Was horror though."
July 27, 2018 –
page 313
93.15% "haunt by Siobhan Carroll- 2 stars

Mostly went over my head, though I realize that's a me thing and there is plenty of merit here, I just couldn't get into it and need to research ship terms, among other things."
July 27, 2018 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.