jeniwren's Reviews > The Stone Angel

The Stone Angel by Margaret Laurence
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4225979
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: classic, fiction

This is one of a series of novels featuring women’s lives in the fictional province of Manawaka Canada. This is said to be her most loved novel about feisty Hagar Shipley who is nearing the end of her long life. Her son and daughter in law think it is time for a nursing home but Hagar thinks not and escapes in one last effort to hold onto independence. It is here that she reflects back on her unhappy marriage, as a domineering parent to her youngest son and then as an isolated middle aged woman with stern principles. This was such a beautiful read and I look forward to the other four books in the sequence.
6 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Stone Angel.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

February 2, 2018 – Shelved
February 2, 2018 – Shelved as: to-read
February 3, 2018 –
page 0
February 3, 2018 –
page 40
"Perusing my shelves this morning I decided on this one and I know already it was a good choice:)"
February 3, 2018 –
page 40
February 3, 2018 –
page 40
February 3, 2018 –
page 40
February 3, 2018 –
page 40
February 3, 2018 –
page 40
February 3, 2018 –
page 40
February 4, 2018 – Started Reading
February 5, 2018 –
page 85
February 7, 2018 –
page 145
February 11, 2018 – Shelved as: classic
February 11, 2018 – Shelved as: fiction
February 11, 2018 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-6 of 6 (6 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Michael (new)

Michael Lee I, too, enjoyed this series, especially A Jest of God: http://www.librarything.com/work/1936...


jeniwren I do have this one waiting on my tbr :)


jeniwren Did you read the books in any particular order and does it matter?


message 4: by Michael (new)

Michael Lee I read The Jest of God first. I don't think it really matters what order you read them, but it was a while ago that I read them.


message 5: by Michael (new)

Michael Lee And by the way, best wishes for 2019! I look forward to continuing to follow your reading recommendations.


jeniwren Wishing you a great reading year for 2019 also! I am going to put Jest Of God on my holidays reading stack :)


back to top