Holly B's Reviews > The Tattooist of Auschwitz

The Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather   Morris
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
39749481
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: historical-fiction, net-galley, read-in-2018

Against all odds...

The story of two extraordinary people, Lale and Gita survive the horrors of Auschwitz and find solace in each other. The book is based on their true story.

Lale has the job of tattooist and must tattoo numbers on the arms of countless men, women and children. One day he tattooed #34902 on the arm and Gita. He recalled this day as the day "he tattooed her number on her left arm, she tattooed her number on his heart."

An incredible and memorable story that shows the strong will of human survival and the risks that so many took to save not only their own lives, but those of others. The story follows their years together at Auschwitz and beyond the war. The writing was straight forward without a lot of depth into the characters emotions, yet as a reader, it stirred up all my feelings of intense sadness, fear and shock of what they endured.

Many thanks to Bonnier Publishing/Netgalley for my ARC in exchange for an honest review.
118 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Tattooist of Auschwitz.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

January 26, 2018 – Started Reading
January 26, 2018 – Shelved
January 27, 2018 –
page 100
34.72%
January 28, 2018 –
page 200
69.44%
January 30, 2018 – Shelved as: historical-fiction
January 30, 2018 – Shelved as: net-galley
January 30, 2018 – Shelved as: read-in-2018
January 30, 2018 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-47 of 47 (47 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by DJ (new) - added it

DJ Sakata On my TBR!


Holly  B DJ wrote: "On my TBR!"

Hope you do enjoy it DJ!


message 3: by Jaline (new) - added it

Jaline Great review, Holly! This is one I really want to read. 😊


Brenda - Traveling Sister Great review, Holly!


Holly  B Jaline wrote: "Great review, Holly! This is one I really want to read. 😊"

I hope you do Jaline! The characters are so memorable.


Holly  B Brenda wrote: "Great review, Holly!"

Thanks Brenda!


message 7: by Meredith (new)

Meredith Wonderful review, Holly!


message 8: by Maureen (new)

Maureen Lovely review Holly😄


Marialyce Glad you liked this one, Holly.


Holly  B Meredith wrote: "Wonderful review, Holly!"

Thank you Meredith!


Holly  B Marialyce wrote: "Glad you liked this one, Holly."

Thanks Marialyce!


Holly  B Maureen wrote: "Lovely review Holly😄"

Thanks Maureen!


message 13: by Nazanin (new)

Nazanin Fantastic review, Holly! Glad you had a good time with this one!


Carol (Bookaria) Beautiful review, Holly! Glad you enjoyed it


Holly  B Nazanin wrote: "Fantastic review, Holly! Glad you had a good time with this one!"

It is a great story Nazanin!


Holly  B Carol (Bookaria) wrote: "Beautiful review, Holly! Glad you enjoyed it"

Thanks Carol! It was a great book.


message 17: by Dana (new) - added it

Dana Nice review, Holly!


message 18: by Helga (new)

Helga Great review Holly!


Holly  B Helga wrote: "Great review Holly!"

Thanks Helga!


Holly  B Dana wrote: "Nice review, Holly!"

Thank you Dana :)


Norma * Traveling Sister Wonderful review, Holly! Looks like you finished even before I started. Lol
I still hope to squeeze this in!


Holly  B Norma wrote: "Wonderful review, Holly! Looks like you finished even before I started. Lol
I still hope to squeeze this in!"


I hope you do Norma! It is so good.


Karen Wonderful review Holly! Great book!


Holly  B Karen❄️ wrote: "Wonderful review Holly! Great book!"

Yes! Thanks Karen!


Holly  B Karin wrote: "Great review, Holly! Adding it."

Thanks so much Karin!


message 26: by Rae (new) - rated it 4 stars

Rae Great review, Holly! Have added it to my TBR list. It sounds like a great read.


Holly  B Rae wrote: "Great review, Holly! Have added it to my TBR list. It sounds like a great read."

I hope you do like it Rae! Thank you


message 28: by Kendall (new)

Kendall Great review Holly! So glad you enjoyed this one :).


message 29: by [deleted user] (new)

very nice account, holly! really sweet.


Mary Beth *Traveling Sister* Excellent review Holly! I enjoyed reading this with you and loved this one too.


Holly  B Kendall wrote: "Great review Holly! So glad you enjoyed this one :)."

I did! thanks Kendall!


Holly  B paulie wrote: "very nice account, holly! really sweet."


Thanks Paulie!!


Holly  B Mary wrote: "Excellent review Holly! I enjoyed reading this with you and loved this one too."


Enjoyed reading and sharing thoughts on this one Mary!!


message 34: by Julie (new)

Julie Wonderful review, Holly!


Holly  B Julie wrote: "Wonderful review, Holly!"

Thanks so much Julie!


message 36: by Sarah (new) - added it

Sarah Very nice review Holly. This one is on my TBR list


Holly  B Sarah wrote: "Very nice review Holly. This one is on my TBR list"

Yay! Looking forward to your thoughts Sarah!


Cheri Wonderful review, Holly! So glad to see your 5 stars!


Holly  B Cheri wrote: "Wonderful review, Holly! So glad to see your 5 stars!"

Thanks! Cheri!


Susanne  Strong Nice revie Holly!


Holly  B Susanne wrote: "Nice revie Holly!"

Thanks Susanne!


Adrian Dooley Nice review Holly. Such a powerful book.


Holly  B Adrian wrote: "Nice review Holly. Such a powerful book."

Yes, Thanks so much Adrian!


message 44: by JV (new) - added it

JV A wonderful write-up, Holly! Looking forward to reading this one 🥰


Holly  B JV wrote: "A wonderful write-up, Holly! Looking forward to reading this one 🥰"


It really is such a memorable book and I loved it! Hope you enjoy JV!


message 46: by Nicola (new) - added it

Nicola Gipson I’m looking forward to reading this soon Holly. I recently watched an interview with the author. It’s amazing to think how successful this book has been considering she’s never written a book before. Terrific review. 🥰


Holly  B Nicola wrote: "I’m looking forward to reading this soon Holly. I recently watched an interview with the author. It’s amazing to think how successful this book has been considering she’s never written a book befor..."

I've thought about that Nicola! It could be a GR winner as well. I'd love to see the interview. I still think about this read! xoxo


back to top