Ellyn → Allonsythornraxx's Reviews > Truly Devious

Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
29281984
's review

really liked it
bookshelves: mental-illness, stars-3
Read 2 times. Last read February 7, 2020.

07/02/2020
3.75 ⭐
Okay, so I enjoyed this a lot more than I did the first time, and I really appreciate Stevie as a character + I really like how Maureen Johnson writes mystery and suspense. But I still have a lot of the same problems with this book that I had the first time, this entire book is build up and that really bothers me. I'll talk about it more in my review, but yeah, it's just annoying.

04/02/18
3 ⭐
I'M SORRY, WHAT? SUCH A BULLSHIT ENDING.
Nothing was resolved in this novel and I'm expected to wait an entire year to find out the answer to the mystery that was the entire fucking plot of this book. Are you telling me that I just read 432 pages of build up?????
I'll be more coherent later but for now, I'll just be pissed off.
4 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Truly Devious.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

January 24, 2018 – Shelved
January 24, 2018 – Shelved as: to-read
February 2, 2018 – Started Reading
February 2, 2018 –
page 80
19.05% "Listening to this on audio so my updates on pages are guesses

So far this is pretty meh."
February 3, 2018 –
page 110
26.19% "Chapter 6: These are some long ass chapters and nothing has really happened yet, though the flashbacks are pretty intriguing."
February 3, 2018 –
page 180
42.86% "Not totally sure how this is going to be a trilogy.

This feels similar to The Name of The Star, the main character and their relationships & school life takes priority over the murder mystery. Not my jam, but I think it's too early to speak/ decide how I really feel abt the book."
February 3, 2018 –
page 185
44.05% "Relatable anxiety rep"
February 3, 2018 –
page 255
60.71% "Why was she so anxious? Because she had anxiety.

So. Fucking. Relatable."
February 3, 2018 – Shelved as: mental-illness
February 3, 2018 –
page 310
73.81% "WAS THAT A PRINCESS BRIDE REFERENCE????

description"
February 3, 2018 –
page 335
79.76% "AND NOW A JURASSIC PARK REFERENCE??? I AM NERDING OUT YOU GUYS

description"
February 3, 2018 –
page 340
80.95% "I feel like there are a lot of characters in this novel and I feel like I don't remember who half of them are."
February 3, 2018 –
page 410
97.62% "I honestly have no idea who the murderer is."
February 3, 2018 –
page 410
97.62% "omf you guys is this what I think it is."
February 4, 2018 – Finished Reading
March 15, 2019 – Shelved as: stars-3
August 10, 2019 – Shelved as: series-tbr
September 6, 2019 – Shelved as: lowkey-tbr
February 6, 2020 –
20.0% "Does anyone else get high-key autistic vibes from Stevie?"
February 6, 2020 –
40.0% "It's interesting to me that this is sold as a mystery book but I'm nearing the halfway point and know almost nothing about the actual mystery."
February 6, 2020 –
70.0% "Okay, but Stevie's whole things about other people's anxiety levelling out hers and enabling her to think somewhat clearly to focus on them?? Damn, Maureen Johnson really gets it."
February 7, 2020 – Started Reading
February 7, 2020 –
95.0% "Maureen Johnson is SO good at writing suspense and making you question everything!"
February 7, 2020 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.