SueBee★bring me an alpha!★'s Reviews > Long Shot

Long Shot by Kennedy Ryan
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
15735368





⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2! Long Shot (stand-alone). A bad decision, years of regrets, a love that could never be, but for the dream that kept them alive!

“If you were mine, Iris there would be no doubt what position you’d hold in my life. You’d be center. I’d play you at the five.”

Books in Hoops series are stand-alones:
Book 1: Long Shot
Book 2: Block Shot
Book 3: Hook Shot


Long Shot (stand-alone) is the against-all-odds love story, spanning years, between NBA superstar and businessman August West and college grad and aspiring sports marketer Iris DuPree.

Two strangers met in a bar their last year in college. They spent a night chatting basketball and feeling an undeniable connection. It was before he would be drafted to the NBA. Before he knew who she was and that she belonged to another. His life-long arch-enemy, in fact.

And so, they walked their separate ways and took different directions in life. But over the years, in their darkest moments, they’d think back on that night, on that fork in the road; the what if’s; the could-have beens; the (im)possibilities of second chances; the odds of a Long Shot.

“In my dreams I choose him, my prince, instead of the fraud. In this parallel universe, at this second-chance juncture, I turn right instead of choosing wrong… and there only there, we are together.”



Eight words to describe August West: Patient, naïve, considerate, methodical, reflective, focused, noble and oh so sweet.



Seven words to describe Iris DuPree: Naïve, lonely, meek, impressionable, stubborn, conflicted and patient.

Long Shot, told from dual POVs. It’s a beautiful, heart-wrenching, yet hopeful and inspiring tale of about life’s tough choices and poor timing. Their impossible love preservers thanks to the steadfast and fierce resolve of August and the surviving spirit of his Iris. To read an extended epilogue, [click here]

“She is singular, obliterating every kiss that came before her, eliminating the possibility of anyone else ever tasting this good.”

***
Hero: ★★★★1/2
Heroine: ★★★★
Plot: ★★★★1/2
Storytelling: ★★★★★
Sexual tension: ★★★★★
Sex scenes: ★★★★
Story ending: ★★★★1/2
******************************************
OVERALL RATING: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2
Angst: | HIGH FOCUS |
Darkness: | HIGH FOCUS |
Humor: | LOW FOCUS |
Kink: | LOW FOCUS |
Romance: | HIGH FOCUS |
Sex frequency: | MEDIUM FOCUS |
Suspense: | MEDIUM FOCUS |



ARC provided to me by Kennedy Ryan in exchange for an honest review.
259 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Long Shot.
Sign In »

Quotes SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Liked

Kennedy Ryan
“If you were mine, Iris there would be no doubt what position you’d hold in my life. You’d be center. I’d play you at the five.”
Kennedy Ryan, Long Shot

Kennedy Ryan
“If I could just want this one in the eye of her storm, in this crisis of her pleasure, it would be enough.”
Kennedy Ryan, Long Shot

Kennedy Ryan
“Sometimes the heart speaks in whispers, and by the time we hear, by the time we listen, it’s too late…”
Kennedy Ryan, Long Shot

Kennedy Ryan
“In my dreams I choose him, my prince, instead of the fraud. In this parallel universe, at this second-chance juncture, I turn right instead of choosing wrong… and there only there, we are together.”
Kennedy Ryan, Long Shot

Kennedy Ryan
“She is singular, obliterating every kiss that came before her, eliminating the possibility of anyone else ever tasting this good.”
Kennedy Ryan, Long Shot


Reading Progress

January 22, 2018 – Shelved
January 22, 2018 – Shelved as: to-read
January 22, 2018 – Shelved as: kindle
January 22, 2018 – Shelved as: g-contemporaries
March 15, 2018 – Shelved as: arc
March 16, 2018 – Started Reading
March 16, 2018 –
page 0
0.0% "My first basketball story and look at this hero…. Divine!
"
March 16, 2018 –
50.0% "So much stand in their way and time is not on their side either...
"
March 17, 2018 –
100.0% "This story spans several years. They had to fight for their love, each other…
"
March 17, 2018 – Shelved as: series-g-contemporaries
March 17, 2018 – Shelved as: series-cr-stand-alone
March 17, 2018 – Shelved as: series-check-on-sequel
March 17, 2018 – Shelved as: read-contemporaries
March 17, 2018 – Shelved as: read-stand-alones-cr
March 17, 2018 – Shelved as: student
March 17, 2018 – Shelved as: triangle
March 17, 2018 – Shelved as: reviews-written-all
March 17, 2018 – Shelved as: review-quick
March 17, 2018 – Shelved as: heroes-oh-so-sweet-cr
March 17, 2018 – Shelved as: heroes-famous
March 17, 2018 – Shelved as: heroes-easy-going
March 17, 2018 – Shelved as: heroes-rich-heir-tycoon-modern
March 17, 2018 – Shelved as: heroes-rich-all
March 17, 2018 – Shelved as: forbidden-scandalous-inappropriate
March 17, 2018 – Finished Reading
March 19, 2018 – Shelved as: 4-stars-rounded-up
March 19, 2018 – Shelved as: 4-and-half-stars

Comments Showing 1-50 of 85 (85 new)


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Maddie wrote: "yummy cover model 😋😄"

That is exactly what I said! Cannot wait to met him! ; ) xx Thanks Maddie!


Angela I just saw this cover and I'm drooling Sue ;)


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Angela wrote: "I just saw this cover and I'm drooling Sue ;)"

Me too! haven't been able to get much done, LOL! Enjoy Angela! xx


~**Anna**~ A Romance Reader The guy is gorgeous! His eyes 😍😍


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ ~**Anna**~ A Romance Reader wrote: "The guy is gorgeous! His eyes 😍😍"

Gawd I know, I am not able to get much done with those gorgeous eyes on me... Happy reading Anna! xxxo


-S♡ This is going to be soooo good! Enjoy Sue! xoox


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ -S♡ wrote: "This is going to be soooo good! Enjoy Sue! xoox"

Yes! Cannot wait. Happy reading S! xx


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Astrid - ☆Vanilla & Spice Books☆ wrote: "Enjoy! <3"

Thanks very much Astrid! xxx


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» Happy reading, lovely!! :) xoxo


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Maddie wrote: "Yum, Enjoy Sue
Happy weekend and reading xo"


Many thanks Maddie. Happy reading and weekend! xoxo


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» wrote: "Happy reading, lovely!! :) xoxo"

Thanks so much Maida. Happy reading and weekend! xoxx


message 13: by Karla (new)

Karla Yay! Enjoy, dear Sue! Loved this authors “Grip series” happy weekend! xoxo


message 14: by Aisling Zena (new)

Aisling Zena Congrats Sue!Enjoy! :) xxx


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Karla wrote: "Yay! Enjoy, dear Sue! Loved this authors “Grip series” happy weekend! xoxo"

Thanks so much Karla. Me too. This is stand-alone and sport romance! = D xxx


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Aisling Zena wrote: "Congrats Sue!Enjoy! :) xxx"

Many thanks Aisling! xoxx


-S♡ So excited for this review from you!!


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ -S♡ wrote: "So excited for this review from you!!"

Thanks so much S! xoox


message 19: by Rohina (new) - added it

Rohina I'm so freaking excited to read this book when it comes out!


message 20: by Dri (new) - added it

Dri ✰ Great review, hun! Looking forward to read this one!💖💖 xx


message 21: by Exina (new)

Exina Terrific review, Sue! xx


message 22: by Steffi (new)

Steffi De Ceuster  ♥ Terrific review Sue dear! Xoxo


Jenny••Steamy Reads Blog•• Sweet review, darling Sue!! xx


message 24: by Myla (new) - rated it 5 stars

Myla Brilliant Review Sue!


Truuss / Loveislovereview Wonderful review SueBee :) xx


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Rohina wrote: "I'm so freaking excited to read this book when it comes out!"

I so hope you will love Rohina! xox


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ ✰ D r i wrote: "Great review, hun! Looking forward to read this one!💖💖 xx"

Thanks so much Dri! Happy reading. xoxx


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Exina wrote: "Terrific review, Sue! xx"

Many thanks Exina! xoxo


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Maddie wrote: "Another Brilliant Review Sue <3. xo"

Thanks so much Maddie! xoox


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Steffi wrote: "Terrific review Sue dear! Xoxo"

Much appreciated. Thanks Steffi! xoxo


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Jenny••Steamy Reads Blog•• wrote: "Sweet review, darling Sue!! xx"

Thank you very much Jenny dear! xoxx


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Myla wrote: "Brilliant Review Sue!"

Thank you Myla. Much appreciated. xoxo


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Truuss wrote: "Wonderful review SueBee :) xx"

Thanks very much Truuss! xxxo


message 34: by SusanAhh (new) - added it

SusanAhh Ever Beautiful, Ever Perfect, Ever Enticing Review Sue!!! I look forward to reading this!!!


message 35: by KAS (new)

KAS Fab review, Sue dear! Gotta love the angst ;)) xoxo


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Susan wrote: "Ever Beautiful, Ever Perfect, Ever Enticing Review Sue!!! I look forward to reading this!!!"

Aaaw, thanks so much Susan. I so hoop you love! ; ) xxx


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ KAS wrote: "Fab review, Sue dear! Gotta love the angst ;)) xoxo"

Thanks very much K dear! Yes you will feel this one! xoox


message 38: by Kristy (new) - added it

Kristy Marie Can't wait to read this one! I'm a sucker for athletes. ;)


~**Anna**~ A Romance Reader Great review, love! I am starting this one soon :)


-S♡ As always, amazing review Sue!! So excited for this book. xoox


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Kristy wrote: "Can't wait to read this one! I'm a sucker for athletes. ;)"

Thank you Kristy! Hehe, I know. ; ) Enjoy! xx


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ ~**Anna**~ A Romance Reader wrote: "Great review, love! I am starting this one soon :)"

Thanks very much Anna. I hoop you enjoy! xoox


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ -S♡ wrote: "As always, amazing review Sue!! So excited for this book. xoox"

Thanks so much my dear. I hoop you enjoy! ; ) xx


Malene Fabulous review, Sue. Glad you enjoyed this awesome book


Michelle Great review huni 💞💞💞


message 46: by Akd (new) - added it

Akd Terrific review, Sue!!! xoxo


Wendy Awesome review Sue ;) xoxo


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Malene_D *BadAndDirtyBooks* wrote: "Fabulous review, Sue. Glad you enjoyed this awesome book"

Thanks very much Malene dear! xoxx


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Michelle wrote: "Great review huni 💞💞💞"

Many thanks Michelle Daahling! xxoo


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Akd wrote: "Terrific review, Sue!!! xoxo"

Much appreciated. Thanks Akd! xoxx


« previous 1
back to top