Elfira's Reviews > This Is the Way the World Ends

This Is the Way the World Ends by James K. Morrow
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4055255
's review

really liked it
bookshelves: author-american, fiction, science-fiction
Read 2 times. Last read January 9, 2018 to January 27, 2018.

** spoiler alert ** My notes on this book:

- The beginning is very funny. Usually I feel a bit bored reading the introduction part but I think Morrow knows how to entertain while building the story.

- I notice the further unto the story it gets more serious. It doesn’t lose its humor but it’s like I was offered another focus, another things to enjoy. At some points it even raises interesting points for debates and discussion if you want to.

- I love the idea of unadmitted future and invalidated past. And I love the trial. Awesome ideas.

- Towards the end, I feel like it could stop at several points and called it the end and I would feel it’s finished. Depending on where it stops, I would feel triumph, sad, more sad, weird, face-palming, and devastated. I think this is the part where I decided to rate this book 4.

- I feel like I’m missing something in the epilogue because I’m not familiar with Notradamus.
3 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read This Is the Way the World Ends.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

Finished Reading
January 9, 2018 – Started Reading
January 9, 2018 – Shelved
January 9, 2018 –
page 25
7.81% "I think I will like Morrow’s humor. If I’m reading the ebook version, I’ll highlight the whole paragraph where George & Justin fight."
January 9, 2018 –
page 25
7.81% "I think I will like Morrow’s humor. If I’m reading the ebook version, I’ll highlight the whole paragraph where George & Justin fight."
January 9, 2018 –
page 30
9.38% "Halloween was coming, the pumpkins were off their diets, and the little cemetery where George worked had acquired a ghost."
January 14, 2018 –
page 110
34.38% "George took his Leonardo back and departed with the words ‘restore the race’ ringing in his ears. There, you see, my poor, extinct Justine? You did not marry a lazy man after all."
January 16, 2018 –
page 145
45.31% "The invalidated past vs the unadmitted future"
January 25, 2018 –
page 209
65.31% "Dr Randstable, wasn’t it rather bizarre to be perfecting all these clever technologies knowing that their purpose was essentially psychological — that if they were actually fired, then the world would be better off if they didn’t work?"
January 26, 2018 –
page 238
74.38% "Oh dear..... ahaha what is this? It worked."
January 26, 2018 –
page 241
75.31% "The dogmas of the quite past are inadequate to the stormy present. The occasion is piled high with difficulty, and we must rise with occasion. As our case is new, so we must think anew and act anew. We must disenthrall ourselves.... - Abraham Lincoln"
January 26, 2018 –
page 241
75.31%
January 26, 2018 – Shelved as: fiction
January 26, 2018 – Shelved as: author-american
January 26, 2018 – Shelved as: science-fiction
January 27, 2018 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.