Julie's Reviews > The Murder on the Links

The Murder on the Links by Agatha Christie
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5210022
's review

really liked it
bookshelves: detective, classic-mystery, golden-age-detection, from-my-personal-collection, mystery-shelf, 2019

The Murder on the Links by Agatha Christie is a 1923 publication.

Poirot has been frantically summoned to France by Monsieur Paul Renauld. Unfortunately, upon arrival, Hastings and Poirot are informed they have arrived too late and Renauld is dead… murdered as it so happens. Pitted against a younger and equally confident detective, Poirot is determined to meet his competition head on, utilizing his advantage of experience to solve the crime.

This is the second Poirot by Agatha Christie and is one I have not read. Christie obviously found inspiration with Holmes and Watson, and one can debate whether this is a homage or a parody, but either way, she did a masterful job with this twisty, complex whodunit.

I thoroughly enjoyed this classic mystery. I was never able to sit back, smugly confident that I had it all figured out. Christie was always at least two steps ahead of me. This is a stunning guessing game, narrated by Hastings, who provides his own unique observations along with his amusing commentary.

Despite its age, and our current desensitization and demand for more shock and awe, I think this story stands on its own merits quite well. (With the exception of a bit of cringe-worthy insta-love)

Christie is very clever, and it is obvious she put much thought into the plot, dotting the I’s and crossing the t’s. I was enthralled by her skill, and it is easy to see why she had such an enormous impact on the mystery genre.

As pure mysteries are few and far between right now, I’m looking to read more classics. Having read Poirot mysteries off and on over the years, I know this one might not rank up there with some of the later installments, but this a smart and impressive gem!!

4 stars
121 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Murder on the Links.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

December 28, 2017 – Shelved
December 28, 2017 – Shelved as: to-read
December 28, 2017 – Shelved as: detective
December 28, 2017 – Shelved as: classic-mystery
December 28, 2017 – Shelved as: golden-age-detection
December 28, 2017 – Shelved as: from-my-personal-collection
December 28, 2017 – Shelved as: mystery-shelf
May 11, 2019 – Started Reading
September 4, 2019 – Shelved as: 2019
September 4, 2019 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-38 of 38 (38 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Heidi (new) - added it

Heidi I love me some Poirot... nice review!!


message 2: by Kaceey (new)

Kaceey Terrific review Julie!🤗🌸


Julie Heidi wrote: "I love me some Poirot... nice review!!"

Thank you, Heidi!! Me too! 💖


Julie Kaceey wrote: "Terrific review Julie!🤗🌸"

Thank you, Kaceey!! 💖


message 5: by Diane (new)

Diane Wallace Great review, Julie ;)


message 6: by KAS (new)

KAS So glad you enjoyed this classic, Julie ;)) Wonderful review and hope you enjoy your upcoming classics just as much! ❤️😘


Julie Diane wrote: "Great review, Julie ;)"

Thank you, dear Diane!! 💖


Julie KAS wrote: "So glad you enjoyed this classic, Julie ;)) Wonderful review and hope you enjoy your upcoming classics just as much! ❤️😘"

Thank you, so much dear KAS!! 💖


RedemptionDenied Excellent review, Julie!


Julie RedemptionDenied wrote: "Excellent review, Julie!"

Thank you very much, RD!! 😊😊


message 11: by Richard (new)

Richard Great review Julie ........ I too need to read more classic mysteries :)


Julie Richard wrote: "Great review Julie ........ I too need to read more classic mysteries :)"

Thank you, Richard!! I hope to read through all Christie's Poirot novels as a personal reading challenge. Some classics never go out of style! 😊😊


message 13: by Katie (new)

Katie Great review, Julie.


Julie Katie wrote: "Great review, Julie."

Thank you, Katie!! 😊💖😊


message 15: by Kevin (new)

Kevin Ansbro "I deduce," began Poirot, smoothing the tips of his moustache, "that this review is magnifique."


Julie Kevin wrote: ""I deduce," began Poirot, smoothing the tips of his moustache, "that this review is magnifique.""

Thank you very much, Kevin!! 😁😁😁


message 17: by Nicola (new)

Nicola Fantastic review Julie! I’m glad you enjoyed this. I’m looking forward to reading some of her books that I have in my pile! ❤️💕


message 18: by Elyse (new)

Elyse Walters 💕💜...wonderful Julie


Julie Nicola wrote: "Fantastic review Julie! I’m glad you enjoyed this. I’m looking forward to reading some of her books that I have in my pile! ❤️💕"

Thank you, Nicola!! AC is always a treat!! 💖


Julie Elyse wrote: "💕💜...wonderful Julie"

Thank you, Elyse!! 💖


message 21: by Antoinette (new)

Antoinette Terrific review,Julie. 😃


Julie Antoinette wrote: "Terrific review,Julie. 😃"

Thank you, Antoinette!! 💖


Beata Grand review, Julie :))


Julie Beata wrote: "Grand review, Julie :))"

Thank you, Beata!! 💖


message 25: by Paula (new)

Paula Kalin Lovely review, Julie!


Julie Paula wrote: "Lovely review, Julie!"

Thank so much, Paula!! 😊💖


message 27: by Jen (new)

Jen Fabulous review, Julie


Julie Jen wrote: "Fabulous review, Julie"

Thank you, Jen!! 💖😊


message 29: by Kimber (new)

Kimber Silver Splendid review, Julie!😊 "cringe-worthy insta-love" -great line!


message 30: by Peggy (new)

Peggy Love Poirot!!!


Julie Kimber wrote: "Splendid review, Julie!😊 "cringe-worthy insta-love" -great line!"

Thank you, Kimber!! Yes, times have certainly changed since this book was written. 💖


Julie Peggy wrote: "Love Poirot!!!"

Thank you, Peggy!! Me too! 💖


message 33: by Deanna (new)

Deanna Excellent review!!


Julie Deanna wrote: "Excellent review!!"

Thank you very much, Deanna!! 💖


Norma * Traveling Sister Fabulous review, Julie!


Julie Norma * Traveling Sister wrote: "Fabulous review, Julie!"

Thank you very much, Norma!! 💖


message 37: by Megan (new) - added it

Megan Great review!


Julie Megan wrote: "Great review!"

Thank you very much, Megan!! 💖


back to top