Michelle, the Bookshelf Stalker Queen of the Undead's Reviews > Dearly, Departed

Dearly, Departed by Lia Habel
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3039709
's review
Oct 11, 2011

it was ok
Read from October 11 to 17, 2011

A steampunk novel that lost its steam

What a frustrating book! I so wanted to love it. It had so many good elements to it. However, somehow, the book lost its way and could not find its way back again!

The GOOD

Bram Griswold

Zombie, soldier, and overall nice guy. He was the source of many of my favorite lines in the book. He was charming, respectful, and he was the guy that all parents dreamed that their loving daughter would find… minus the fact that he was a zombie.

Nora Dearly

An unconventional girl in an unconventional world. She was a tough, high-spirited, quick to learn, quick to sass girl that charmed me enough to make me want to cheer for her. I loved her loyalty to her friends and her sassy mouth.

The "other" zombies

You might notice that the “good” in this book is showing a pattern. It was the characters. All the characters..good or bad…were well written and convincing. I liked the zombies even the “bad” zombies. However, here, I’m talking about the zombie characters, their personalities, not the fact that they were zombies. In truth, their zombieness (view spoiler) is irrelevant in this book. Let me explain (look down at the bad for my explanation).

The BAD

The Zombies

Yes, yes, I know. Zombies again. So the zombies are good and bad? Yes. But how the hell do I explain this. Ok. So, the zombie character was great but the fact that the zombies were really zombies wasn’t. The author didn’t really do the entire zombie thing like she could have. I’m not asking for more ripping, shredding, blood and guts but just more of a “OH #@$#%” instead of “Oh cool, they are zombies” type of attitude.

In the beginning, the author did it right. For example, one of my favorite lines from the beginning of the book…

"They were men. They looked like men, at least -human- but like people who had been dead for months, years, in all stages of decay- flesh hanging limply off limbs, bones exposed..."

Sounds like a zombie right? However, later, when other people first run into these same so-called zombies, their descriptions are far less remarkable, even borderline boring. It almost seemed like the author forgot she started with a zombie book.

The Ever Changing POV's

Oh my god. This is what killed this book. Forget zombies. They are harmless compared to the horrible POV switches in this book. What is worse, it wasn’t needed. The author could have left all but Bram and Nora’s story out. That is it.

The World

This is just too much of a good thing. Dystopian, Steampunk, Horror, YA. I swear the author wrote the character’s story and filled in everything afterwards. It did start off good, but it was clearly a case of biting off more than you can chew.

OVERALL

I liked the characters and that is it. I won’t continue with the series.
53 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Dearly, Departed.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

10/11/2011 page 0
0.0% "start tomorrow." 6 comments
10/12/2011
11.0% ""They were men. They looked like men, at least -human- but like people who had been dead for months, years, in all stages of decay- flesh hanging limply off limbs, bones exposed..." ahhh, how I missed my zombies." 12 comments
10/12/2011
11.0% "I'm at work. I've been at work ALL DAY. I'm about ready to cry buckets but now I'm just whining. Anyhow, no reading time for me....." 9 comments
10/13/2011
21.0% "Love the characters in this book. I haven't been too picky about the world building (it could be flawed, full of holes...who knows) since I've been too into the story. Call me a hypocrite. I know." 4 comments
10/13/2011
26.0% ""'How is telling her the truth disrespectufl? It's not like I enjoy introducing myself as a creature from beyond the grave.' I desperately wanted to roll my eyes, but we were discouraged from doing so. The muscles around the eyes are always some of the first to go.""
10/14/2011
37.0% "Bram & Nora- great characters. I wish we'd focus on just their POV." 1 comment
10/15/2011
51.0% "I absolutely love Nora and Bram's chapters but I get annoyed with the other POV's to the point of setting the book down. I'm only at halfway point and it feels like I've been reading this forever." 7 comments
10/15/2011
53.0% "I will not skip the other character's POV but boy am I tempted!!!!!!" 2 comments
10/16/2011
58.0% "Total love/hate relationship with this book." 3 comments
10/16/2011
58.0% ""..need to stop acting like a little girl --wah- wah, I was bitten, my life sucks so bad. All of our lives suck right now, okay? You might think yours is an extra special sparkly rainbow unicorn fart type of suck, but it's not. Just get on with it! Throw that stupid useless eyeball away and get on with it!" .... best motivational speech EVER! LOL" 9 comments
10/17/2011
92.0% "This book is taking me forever to read. So many small problems with it that could have been prevented. Even w/ the problems, I love Bram & Nora." 2 comments
02/15/2016 marked as: read

Comments (showing 1-30 of 30) (30 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Juliana Philippa I look forward to reading your review! Haven't read a zombie or young adult book (well, YA since I was a YA), so will be a change for me.


message 2: by Rane (new) - added it

Rane AWW, that's a bummer ;_;


Michelle, the Bookshelf Stalker  Queen of the Undead Rane wrote: "AWW, that's a bummer ;_;"

It was sad since the actual two main characters are wonderful and their story is really good. Everything else (especially the confusing POV's) ruined the book.


message 4: by Lea (new) - rated it 5 stars

Lea I really liked it - and loved the two main characters.. but yeah, the multiple POV gets annoying ever so quick


Michelle, the Bookshelf Stalker  Queen of the Undead Rebecca wrote: "I really liked it - and loved the two main characters.. but yeah, the multiple POV gets annoying ever so quick"

I know...very sad.


Laura the Highland Hussy fabulous review :)


Michelle, the Bookshelf Stalker  Queen of the Undead Laura the Highland Hussy wrote: "fabulous review :)"

ahh..too sweet and thank you!


Shelley "The Ever Changing POV's"

I TOTALLY agree with you on this point! UGH! I'm just lucky this was on my computer and not an actual book or I would have tossed it around a few times! :O)


Crystal Starr Light Drat, now I regret buying this book :P


message 10: by AH (new) - rated it 3 stars

AH Hmmm...Just got it from Netgalley. I was hoping it would be good.


message 11: by Dinjolina (new) - added it

Dinjolina I just got it also. :( Poo!


Megan My problem so far has been a heavy hand with adverbs. I just got to the quote you mention and so far it's good. Sad to hear it goes downhill from there.


Michelle, the Bookshelf Stalker  Queen of the Undead Shelley wrote: ""The Ever Changing POV's"

I TOTALLY agree with you on this point! UGH! I'm just lucky this was on my computer and not an actual book or I would have tossed it around a few times! :O)"


Totally agree. What I hated most about this book? That I actually loved the characters! It was a shame that everything else failed.


Michelle, the Bookshelf Stalker  Queen of the Undead Crystal wrote: "Drat, now I regret buying this book :P"

There are quite a few great reviewers that love this book and you might enjoy the book as well!


Michelle, the Bookshelf Stalker  Queen of the Undead AH wrote: "Hmmm...Just got it from Netgalley. I was hoping it would be good."

It drove me nuts and took me forever to read (about 4 times longer than normal). I do see lots of great reviews so you might like it as well!


Michelle, the Bookshelf Stalker  Queen of the Undead Dinjolina wrote: "I just got it also. :( Poo!"

You never know!!! You might think it is wonderful!


message 17: by Dinjolina (new) - added it

Dinjolina Michelle, the Bookshelf Stalking wrote: "Dinjolina wrote: "I just got it also. :( Poo!"

You never know!!! You might think it is wonderful!"


When you don't like it? Don't think so...I don't think I ever liked a book you rated badly. :)
Yes,can you feel it?Peer pressure lol I depend on you ;)


Michelle, the Bookshelf Stalker  Queen of the Undead Dinjolina wrote: "When you don't like it? Don't think so...I don't think I ever liked a book you rated badly. :)
Yes,can you feel it?Peer pressure lol I depend on you ;)..."


ohhh.. that is peer pressure. lol! though I've done the same with you...especially with some of your likes/dislikes in the romance area!


message 19: by Dinjolina (new) - added it

Dinjolina Btw when it comes to romance,did ya ever read The Passions of Emma?
My gr friends seem to DIE for this book. I just read it for a book club...God! The agony. :(

P.S.I love you so so sooo much for recommending Warm bodies! :)


Michelle, the Bookshelf Stalker  Queen of the Undead Dinjolina wrote: "Btw when it comes to romance,did ya ever read The Passions of Emma?
My gr friends seem to DIE for this book. I just read it for a book club...God! The agony. :(

P.S.I love you so so..."


No I never read the book and now I definitely won't. I loved your review.

As for Warm Bodies, yes that was a great book. I have a copy on my keeper shelf even though I usually loan out all my books. That one stays with me. :)


message 21: by Dinjolina (new) - added it

Dinjolina I actually wanted my heroine to kiss the creepy dead guy with a knife wound in his forehead. I mean, an author can do no better than that!

Btw,did you ever try the Generation dead series? They are YA but very...cool view on zombies and origins. Also their rights.


Wendy Darling You know, you're right--the beginning of the zombie stuff was good, but then nothing much happened with it.


Michelle, the Bookshelf Stalker  Queen of the Undead Wendy Darling wrote: "You know, you're right--the beginning of the zombie stuff was good, but then nothing much happened with it."

It went from "flesh hanging limply off limbs" to eeek, they are monsters or whatever they said. It really was lame towards the end.


Wendy Darling It's true. I should add a teeny bit to my review to say that--it was a major flaw for sure!


Michelle, the Bookshelf Stalker  Queen of the Undead Wendy Darling wrote: "It's true. I should add a teeny bit to my review to say that--it was a major flaw for sure!"

Your review was great. :)


message 26: by The Flooze (new) - added it

The Flooze I got this one at Comic Con. Now you've made me even more thankful it was a freebie!

Also, the author was majorly channeling Meghan Mulally (?) from Will & Grace.


message 27: by AH (new) - rated it 3 stars

AH The book had a lot of problems - I think she tried to put too much into the world - I'm glad that I stuck it out because it got really exciting after page 250 or so. That said, that's an awfully lot of confusing pages before then.


Michelle, the Bookshelf Stalker  Queen of the Undead The Flooze (Michelle M.) wrote: "I got this one at Comic Con. Now you've made me even more thankful it was a freebie!

Also, the author was majorly channeling Meghan Mulally (?) from Will & Grace."


I think this book will be really popular oddly enough. Even though I didn't like it, I'm guessing others will. It's entertaining enough to keep people interested and Bram is so charming, he could carry the book all on his own. I hope you do like it!


Michelle, the Bookshelf Stalker  Queen of the Undead AH wrote: "The book had a lot of problems - I think she tried to put too much into the world - I'm glad that I stuck it out because it got really exciting after page 250 or so. That said, that's an awfully lo..."

It was a mess of "stuff" that is for sure. I think the author just literally bit off more than she could chew (hehe..zombie joke... again....trying ..)


message 30: by Juliana Philippa (last edited Oct 26, 2011 11:07AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Juliana Philippa Great review, Michelle!

Thought much the same as you did, though the cons didn't weigh down my rating as heavily. But I had the exact same problems.


back to top