Melanie's Reviews > Darkdawn

Darkdawn by Jay Kristoff
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3030788
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: fantasy, erotic-scenes, magic, romance, new-adult, lgbtqiap, arc, read-in-2019, buddy-reads, f-f


ARC provided by the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

1.) Nevernight ★★★★★
2.) Godsgrave ★★★★★

“I am a daughter of the dark between the stars,” she replied. “I am the thought that wakes the bastards of this world sweating in the nevernight. I am the vengeance of every orphaned daughter, every murdered mother, every bastard son.” Mia leaned forward and looked the man in the eye. “I am the war you cannot win.”

Nevernight is about a girl, desperate to learn the truth of her family, and willing to do anything it takes to seek her revenge.

Godsgrave is about a young woman, learning more of her and her family’s past, and willing to do anything it takes to survive.

Darkdawn is about a powerful woman, learning what she wants in this life, and willing to do anything to protect the ones she loves.

“As promised, her birth you’ve witnessed, her life you’ve lived. All that remains is her death.”

Hi, my name is Melanie, and I truly think this trilogy is a masterpiece. Most of you know, this is a very beloved series in the book community, and with good reason, it truly is a story that somehow has completely bled into my very own heart and feels completely a part of me. Seeing Mia, seeing her struggles and defeats, seeing her power and victories, seeing everything ugly and beautiful in between, it has been an honor, friends. A true honor and one that I won’t forget.

This is going to be a hard book to review, mostly because it is the concluding book of a trilogy, but also just because I am too emotionally invested. Seeing Mia be a recruit for the red church, to seeing her being a gladiator willing to risk it all, to seeing her deal with what it means to get close to your absolution, it’s all so beautiful and it all evokes so many emotions from me that are beyond words.

I guess I should take a minute to talk about all the side characters, even though I truly could gush about Mia Corvere forever. But Mia has so many enemies, but just as many people who truly have grown to love her. This series has such an extensive cast of side characters, but they all feel so different and so fleshed out.

“But it’s a terrible thing, Dona Mia, when the ones who should love you best leave you for the wolves.”

Especially Mercurio. You all know that I have loved this grumpy old man for many years, but what a bright, shining light in this final installment. I love what was done with his character so much! And let’s all be honest here, we all love seeing when the hard, grumpy one ends up being the soft, sweet one. Mercurio and Mia’s relationship and found family is the stuff of dreams. And the constant theme of family being the people you choose is so beautifully executed throughout this entire series, but it is especially highlighted in Darkdawn.

And not to get into anything spoiler, but you all know I love reading about sibling relationships, especially when it is an older sister protecting a little brother. Also, I have been very open about this series having one of my favorite f/f relationships of all time, and I was living my best life, gentle friends, truly. All of the relationship dynamics are expertly done; romantic, platonic, familial, all perfection.

The author has been very open about the ending of this book and how it was going to be pretty sad, but the ending truly surpassed everything I could have imagined. I find it very rare for me to be completely satisfied with the ending of a beloved series, and somehow Jay Kristoff was able to pull off perfection.

“Sometimes the past won’t just die. Sometimes you have to kill it.”
Overall, this series just means a lot to me, and I truly love it wholeheartedly. And before you all ask, yes, I did cry a lot while reading. First, because I truly am still not ready to say goodbye, but also because Jay Kristoff does not pull back the punches, and this shit hurts, friends. But I was crying with a smile on my face, this I swear. And all the footnotes? I feel like I could write a separate review for the spectrum of emotions they were able to evoke from me. I just love this series so much, and I love Mia more than any words I could string together for a sappy review. Lastly, anyone who loves the UK versions of this series? You all are going to geek out while reading this book. Okay, love you, bye.

Blog | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Youtube | Twitch

The quotes above were taken from an ARC and are subject to change upon publication.

Content and Trigger Warnings: talk of child sex slavery in the past, graphic violence, gore, blood depiction, torture, loss of a loved one, death, murder, a lot of alcohol consumption, talk of rape in the past, talk of pedophilia in the past, talk of suicide, many threats of rape, sexual assault (unwanted touching), and abandonment. This is a very dark, adult book! Please use caution while reading, and make sure you are in a safe headspace.

Buddy read with Jules at JA Ironside! ❤
584 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Darkdawn.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

December 12, 2017 – Shelved
December 12, 2017 – Shelved as: to-read
December 12, 2017 – Shelved as: fantasy
December 12, 2017 – Shelved as: erotic-scenes
December 12, 2017 – Shelved as: magic
December 12, 2017 – Shelved as: romance
December 12, 2017 – Shelved as: new-adult
February 19, 2018 – Shelved as: lgbtqiap
May 19, 2019 – Shelved as: arc
May 19, 2019 – Shelved as: read-in-2019
July 1, 2019 – Started Reading
July 1, 2019 – Shelved as: buddy-reads
July 1, 2019 –
page 1
0.2% ""As promised, her birth you’ve witnessed, her life you’ve lived. All that remains is her death..."

"
July 4, 2019 –
68.0% "This book is really going to make you all want those UK editions. 😎"
July 8, 2019 – Finished Reading
July 14, 2020 – Shelved as: f-f

Comments Showing 1-36 of 36 (36 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

J.A. Ironside Eeeeee! Just seen the release date for this? You still up for that buddy read? :)


Melanie J.A. wrote: "Eeeeee! Just seen the release date for this? You still up for that buddy read? :)"

YES! I can not think of a more perfect way to finish off this series, love! 💘xx


message 3: by Candace (new)

Candace Wondrak This cover is seriously perfect!


Melanie Candace wrote: "This cover is seriously perfect!"

Right? I can't stop swooning, Candace! 💘xx


Aoife - Bookish_Babbling Squeeeee so happy for you.
I'm waiting for the series to be finished then I'm going to binge as they sound awesome and the covers are everything!


message 6: by Nicole (new)

Nicole Jealous! Cannot wait to see what you think!


Melanie Aoife wrote: "Squeeeee so happy for you.
I'm waiting for the series to be finished then I'm going to binge as they sound awesome and the covers are everything!"


I hope you love them when you pick them up, sweetheart! 💖xx


Melanie Nicole wrote: "Jealous! Cannot wait to see what you think!"

You should request, love! And I can't wait to tell you, and (hopefully) gush with you over this one! 💖xx


J.A. Ironside I got an ARC too! So do you still want to buddy read this one??? Because I am so in and will pretty much drop what I'm reading and fit in with you, if you do 😂 Loved reading Nevernight and Godsgrave with you xx💖


message 10: by Sarah (new) - added it

Sarah Ah I am so glad you loved. I’m always nervous for finales


Aoife - Bookish_Babbling I've been waiting to get closer to the release date to start reading the first one...maybe i'll even wait and spoil myself for my birthday in in October - although lolz, like i have that kind of patience anymore! #instantgratificationzone
Good to know you love it though! Deff makes me want to read the series even more...although I don't know that I can want to read it any more lolz
I do just want to put some distance between it and The Book of the Ancestor trilogy which I read earlier this summer...so a little logner i shall wait despite myself ;-)


Paula (paulasbookshelf) Your excitement for this series makes me excited again, to pick the first one back up. I started it a few months ago but I somehow got intimidated by the mixed reviews and just stopped reading it... Seeing those positive reviews always makes me wonder wether I would love it as well 🙈


message 13: by Rachel (new) - added it

Rachel You make me want to read this series 😊


sofia (sam willows) yes this book is perfect!!!! it has no flaws, i'm right and no im not accepting criticism


Melanie J.A. wrote: "I got an ARC too! So do you still want to buddy read this one??? Because I am so in and will pretty much drop what I'm reading and fit in with you, if you do 😂 Loved reading Nevernight and Godsgrav..."

Forever thankful for you. 💖xx


Melanie Sarah wrote: "Ah I am so glad you loved. I’m always nervous for finales"

It really was so good. I didn't think I'd love it as much as I did! I hope you love it too, bb! 💖xx


Melanie Aoife wrote: "I've been waiting to get closer to the release date to start reading the first one...maybe i'll even wait and spoil myself for my birthday in in October - although lolz, like i have that kind of pa..."

This is VERY smart, love. I always compare it to Mark Lawrence's and I hat that I do it, but I can't help it! But I hope you live your best life when you pick this one up, sweetheart! 💖xx


Melanie Paula wrote: "Your excitement for this series makes me excited again, to pick the first one back up. I started it a few months ago but I somehow got intimidated by the mixed reviews and just stopped reading it....."

I hope you love it, Paula. It is just... so smart. Truly so smart. This one is probably my fave in a series. 💖xx


Melanie sofia (sam willows) wrote: "yes this book is perfect!!!! it has no flaws, i'm right and no im not accepting criticism"

LMAO! I love you, Sofia. Facts only, bb! 💖xx


message 20: by Imi (new) - rated it 5 stars

Imi (Imi Reviews Books) OH MY LORD MELANIE WHY YOU KILL ME SO


message 21: by Tonya (new) - added it

Tonya (Rustic Book Reviews) I really need to start this series! I think I am afraid I will not love it like everyone else since I have heard such amazing things!!!


Brianna - Coffee Books and Bullet Journals Starting this tonight and I’m so ready!!!


message 23: by Ola (new) - rated it 5 stars

Ola Magick Melanie baby, I'm already crying just reading your great review.. omg this book is gonna pull at my heart in all the directions and its gonna rip it apart to find all the things I hid inside of it and Niah only knows what's gonna be of those..! can't wait.


message 24: by Susie (new)

Susie I heard a lot of mixed things about the first book, which is why I decided to skip it entirely. I think it's partly to do with some of those extremes listed in your triggers, too.


message 25: by pukepp.l (new)

pukepp.l ih m


Julia Does anyone know if there are footsnotes in the 3rd book? Im reading the kindle version and dont see any and im nervous im missin out 😭


Melanie Imi wrote: "OH MY LORD MELANIE WHY YOU KILL ME SO"

love youuuu! 💖xx


Melanie Tonya wrote: "I really need to start this series! I think I am afraid I will not love it like everyone else since I have heard such amazing things!!!"

i just hope you're having happy reading, sweet friend! 💖xx


Melanie Brianna - wrote: "Starting this tonight and I’m so ready!!!"

happy reading, bb! 💖xx


Melanie Ola wrote: "Melanie baby, I'm already crying just reading your great review.. omg this book is gonna pull at my heart in all the directions and its gonna rip it apart to find all the things I hid inside of it ..."

is this.... my ola? the famous ola? the ola in this acknowledgements of this book? wow, the honor is all mine. love you, sweet friend. 💖xx


Melanie Susie wrote: "I heard a lot of mixed things about the first book, which is why I decided to skip it entirely. I think it's partly to do with some of those extremes listed in your triggers, too."

yeah, it is a very dark series! but i hope you're having the happiest of reading with whatever you are picking up, love! 💖xx


Melanie Julia wrote: "Does anyone know if there are footsnotes in the 3rd book? Im reading the kindle version and dont see any and im nervous im missin out 😭"

my arc copy did have footnotes, friend! i'm sorry! i'm hope it gets sorted out for you! 💖xx


message 33: by Tonya (new) - added it

Tonya (Rustic Book Reviews) Melanie wrote: "Tonya wrote: "I really need to start this series! I think I am afraid I will not love it like everyone else since I have heard such amazing things!!!"

i just hope you're having happy reading, swee..."


I have pulled the first book and added it to my TBR this month! I have tons of reading this month plus I have a book event in St. Louis I am attending. SO MANY BOOKS!!! SO LITTLE TIME!!!!


Sharman Your review is perfect! I have just finished this series and I am finding myself completely engulfed with an emptiness like i have never experienced after a book. You're right with the ending Jay Kristoff as produced a faultless conclusion. But he told off it from the start. I don't know what else can be said that you have not touched upon. I am scared that other reads from here forth will pale in comparison. I am sad, happy and wanting. The characters that Jay produced here become a part of you and now that it has ended, all that is left is ,grief and ....darkness!


*April Williams* honey i love you're review. amazing


message 36: by Meep (new)

Meep Three words: Way. Too. Long. I don't have to time to read that


back to top