Becky Spratford's Reviews > Kill Creek

Kill Creek by Scott   Thomas
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
8905672
's review

it was amazing

Every town has a story of the local haunted house; the one where bad luck, strange occurrences, and unexplained deaths happen over and over again. In Kill Creek, Scott Thomas takes this common horror trope to a new level of terror. Four bestselling horror novelists, each of whom writes a completely different strain of the genre from atmospheric Gothic to bloody pulp action, are invited by an Internet mogul to spend one night in the infamous Finch House and allow it to be live streamed on his site. Eager for the publicity and to see what the fuss is all about, these masters of the genre, readily agree. Of course, they are skeptical of the haunts they are experiencing in the house for they have been successfully utilizing these same concepts in their own work for years. However, these creators of fictitious scares have no idea what they have actually awoken- a great evil, not of this world, that will use their personal secrets and deepest, darkest fears to relentlessly pursue them, stopping at nothing, still pursuing them as the head home. This is a menacing and cinematic story that starts off merely creepy but evolves into a bloody, action-driven terrorfest. But it is also a thought provoking and enjoyable look at the genre itself as the characters discuss horror, its history, and its tropes at length. Thomas has crafted an original debut, a tale that is both about the genre and is, itself, an excellent example of why reader love horror. Obviously a match for readers who enjoyed the Shirley Jackson classic The Haunting of Hill House, it is also a good choice for fans of Paul Tremblay’s A Head Full of Ghosts or House of Leaves by Mark Danielewsk
2 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Kill Creek.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

December, 2017 – Started Reading
December, 2017 – Finished Reading
December 4, 2017 – Shelved

No comments have been added yet.