Preeti ♥︎ (Romance She Reads)'s Reviews > The Proposal

The Proposal by Mary Balogh
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
32506772
Conflicted, very conflicted about the book and quite unsure how to rate it!
And is it just me or are all tall, 'huge' Hs named Hugh or Hugo?

Conflicted not because it’s complicated or deals with complex issues. Rather it’s quite simple and straightforward in its premise – two people attracted to each other right from the beginning, have sex, are even halfway in love but not ready to take the final step forward to matrimony. Although the reason comes couched in many layers but it all boils down to class divide and in his case a bad case of inverse snobbery and inferiority complex. But wait, even the h has some misgivings on marrying below her.

Sad as it starts so beautifully and you can’t help but root for this ‘opposites attract’ couple. They are lost in their own way with the past weighing heavily on their souls. I like their characterizations- interestingly and strongly etched.
The initial hesitation and reservations seems valid and reasonable and I enjoyed their dancing around till it became tedious and I lost my patience with the round and round we go!

This is a sweet book with endearing characters, and with some really tender and sensitive moments but also tries one’s tolerance severely with its slow slow burn. And I don’t want to read about dozens of other people and their opinions/ lives – his friends first (from the series), then her family (another series) and then his family (middle class so don’t really qualify for a series of their own!)

So in the beginning, I thought I’d stumbled onto a 5 starrer, then it slackens to a 4, then to a 3 and finally rounds off to 3-3.5 for some flashes of originality if not brilliance. The rating also corresponds to how I rated the H actually. He went from a perfect tortured and dour alpha war hero to a boring insecure middle class beta.
He read my thoughts I guess!
“I am just an ordinary man, Gwendoline,” he said. “Perhaps that is what I have been trying to say to you all this time.”
16 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Proposal.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

November 22, 2017 – Shelved
November 22, 2017 – Shelved as: may-check-this
February 27, 2018 – Shelved as: _bbd
March 3, 2018 – Shelved as: to-read
April 17, 2018 – Shelved as: big-guy-petite-girl
April 17, 2018 – Shelved as: hero-alpha-hot
April 17, 2018 – Shelved as: hero-brooding-surly-moody
April 17, 2018 – Shelved as: hero-cranky-yet-lovable
April 17, 2018 – Shelved as: hero-gentle-giant
April 17, 2018 – Shelved as: h-widow
April 17, 2018 – Shelved as: miscarriage-or-dead-child
April 17, 2018 – Shelved as: opposites-attract
April 17, 2018 – Shelved as: class-divide
April 17, 2018 – Shelved as: hot-xplosiv-chemistry
April 17, 2018 – Shelved as: h-wid-one-prvious-luvr
April 17, 2018 – Shelved as: u-not-wife-material
April 17, 2018 – Shelved as: him-tortured-past-emo-scarred
April 18, 2018 – Shelved as: he-proposes-she-disposes
April 18, 2018 – Shelved as: angst-some
April 18, 2018 – Shelved as: h-i-like-or-admire
April 18, 2018 – Shelved as: h-wid-disability
April 18, 2018 – Shelved as: disability-illness-scarring
April 18, 2018 – Shelved as: two-lost-souls
April 18, 2018 – Shelved as: historical-rom
April 18, 2018 – Shelved as: story-waxes-n-wanes
April 18, 2018 – Shelved as: slow-to-build-up
April 18, 2018 – Shelved as: invrse-snob_chip-on-sholdr
April 18, 2018 – Shelved as: unsure-howto-rate-this-one
April 18, 2018 – Shelved as: problm-trust-sharing_not-lov
April 18, 2018 – Shelved as: round-n-round-we-go
April 18, 2018 – Shelved as: the-rough-gruff-diamond
April 18, 2018 – Shelved as: wrap-it-up-pls
Started Reading
April 19, 2018 – Shelved as: fillers-details-inner-monologue
April 19, 2018 – Shelved as: promising_then-lets-down
April 19, 2018 – Finished Reading
January 19, 2019 – Shelved as: soldier-spy

Comments Showing 1-10 of 10 (10 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Ira (new) - rated it 4 stars

Ira Wonderful review Preeti.


message 2: by Beanbag (new)

Beanbag Love Great review, Preeti!


Preeti ♥︎ (Romance She Reads) Beanbag wrote: "Great review, Preeti!"

Ira wrote: "Wonderful review Preeti."

Thanks Ladies! :)


message 4: by Sandra (new)

Sandra Fantastic review Preeti! :)


Preeti ♥︎ (Romance She Reads) Thanks Sandra! :)


message 6: by Azet (new)

Azet Great review!!!


message 7: by Cc (new) - rated it 4 stars

Cc Great review. I read this years ago, but agree quite strongly. While class issues would be a very big issue it just somehow takes over and becomes overwhelming to the love story. But for me, any Balogh is better than most other books, so I'll not complain. I need to review this one as well. I love your concise and fair reviews.


Alex ✰ Comets and Comments ✰ Fabulous review, babe! <3 xoxo


Preeti ♥︎ (Romance She Reads) Alex ✰ Comets and Comments ✰ wrote: "Fabulous review, babe! <3 xoxo"

Thanks Alex! :)


Preeti ♥︎ (Romance She Reads) @ Cc
But for me, any Balogh is better than most other books....
Absolutely!!! And I'm so glad she's so prolific And unlike many other prolific writers, she has a range!

I love your concise and fair reviews...
Thank you so much Cc! :)


back to top