ABookwormWithWine's Reviews > Hide and Seek

Hide and Seek by M.J. Arlidge
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5990485
4/5 ⭐️

*This review, and others, can also be found on my blog: https://readingbetweenwinessite.wordp...

This book was actually kind of hard for me to rate because of an oopsies on my part. I was completely unaware that this book was part of a series when I requested it from NetGalley, and I have not read the five books before it. That may not have been a big deal, except book 5 (Little Boy Blue) was probably a pretty major piece to the majority of the plotline to this book considering this was the sequel to it... That being said I still really enjoyed the book, but I wish I had read the other books, especially Little Boy Blue, first.

I think M.J. Arlidge does a good job of giving you enough background that this book is OK as a standalone. I would still recommend reading the other books first, but I was pretty impressed at how well it did by itself. I will have to see if I still think that after reading the other books in this series. Again, my fault, not the author's fault.

The prison mystery aspect was great and I had no idea what was going to happen. I was so sure of who was doing it, but I was completely wrong, more than once! I wished I had more background on the relationship between Helen and Robert while reading this book, but I will get that when I read the first 5 books to this series.

I liked that even though there were a lot of viewpoints, the author made sure that you knew who the person was and how they were connected to the story each time there was a switch. I know some people didn't like the (sometimes incredibly) short chapters, but I actually enjoyed that. For some reason it always feels like a book goes faster for me when the chapters are shorter.

Overall I was really happy with this book, and I will definitely be reading the rest of this series!

*Special thanks to NetGalley, the author, and the publisher for sending me an electronic ARC of this book. My review is completely honest and unbiased
16 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Hide and Seek.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

October 7, 2017 – Started Reading
October 7, 2017 – Shelved
October 7, 2017 – Shelved as: drama
October 7, 2017 – Shelved as: disturbing
October 7, 2017 – Shelved as: crime
October 7, 2017 – Shelved as: ebooks
October 7, 2017 – Shelved as: male-authors
October 7, 2017 – Shelved as: murder-mystery-thriller
October 7, 2017 – Shelved as: netgalley
October 7, 2017 – Shelved as: not-set-in-the-usa
October 7, 2017 – Shelved as: tragedy
October 7, 2017 – Shelved as: whodunnit
October 7, 2017 –
27.0% "Unfortunately I didn’t realize this was part of a series when I requested it from NetGalley. I’m going to have to go back and read the ones before it though (and read future books). Only just over a quarter in and I’m completely hooked. It’s super intense!"
October 9, 2017 –
50.0% "😰"
October 11, 2017 –
62.0% "Almost done! 👮🏼‍♀️"
October 14, 2017 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-6 of 6 (6 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Sandy *The world could end while I was reading and I would never notice* I have read the first few books in the series Kaylee and found them a bit hit and miss. So I gave up reading them. Now after your enthusiastic review, I may have to reconsider.


message 2: by Deanna (new)

Deanna Great review!!

I'm following your blog now too :)


message 3: by Melissa (last edited Oct 16, 2017 04:46AM) (new)

Melissa Nice review! This series is SO great! I've only read the first three, but I love Helen Grace and the short chapters certainly make it hard to put down.


ABookwormWithWine Deanna wrote: "Great review!!

I'm following your blog now too :)"


Why thank you Deanna! 💙


ABookwormWithWine Melissa wrote: "Nice review! This series is SO great! I've only read the first three, but I love Helen Grace and the short chapters certainly make it hard to put down."

Thanks! See you get my love of short chapters haha. I feel like you can speed through books like that. I can’t wait to read the other books in this series!


ABookwormWithWine Sandy *The world could end while I was reading and I would never notice* wrote: "I have read the first few books in the series Kaylee and found them a bit hit and miss. So I gave up reading them. Now after your enthusiastic review, I may have to reconsider."

Sad! Not having read the other books I really don’t have much to go on. I’ll have to see how I feel after reading the other books in this series. 🙈


back to top