Tracy's Reviews > My Ántonia

My Ántonia by Willa Cather
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
207835
's review

it was amazing

2 likes · 

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read My Ántonia.
Sign In »

Quotes Tracy Liked

Willa Cather
“I was something that lay under the sun and felt it, like the pumpkins, and I did not want to be anything more. I was entirely happy. Perhaps we feel like that when we die and become a part of something entire, whether it is sun and air, or goodness and knowledge. At any rate, that is happiness; to be dissolved into something complete and great. When it comes to one, it comes as naturally as sleep.”
Willa Cather, My Ántonia


Reading Progress

September 20, 2017 – Started Reading
September 20, 2017 – Shelved
September 20, 2017 –
page 13
4.48% "Between that earth and that sky I felt erased, blotted out. I did not say my prayers that night: here, I felt, what would be would be."
September 22, 2017 –
page 44
15.17% "Misfortune seemed to settle like an evil bird on the roof of the log house, and to flap its wings there, warning human beings away."
September 22, 2017 –
page 69
23.79% "Our [Christmas] tree became the talking tree of the fairy tale; legends and stories nestled like birds in its branches. Grandmother said it reminded her of the Tree of Knowledge. We put sheets of cotton wool under it for a snow-field, and Jake's pocket-mirror for a frozen lake."
September 25, 2017 –
page 134
46.21%
September 27, 2017 –
page 164
56.55% "Wick Cutter was different from any other rascal I have ever known, but I have found Mrs. Cutters all over the world; sometimes founding new religions, sometimes being forcibly fed--easily recognizable, even when superficially tamed."
September 30, 2017 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.