Laura (Kyahgirl)'s Reviews > Rain Dogs

Rain Dogs by Adrian McKinty
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
2906277
5/5; 5 stars; A+

This was a lucky find at the library. What an excellent crime drama! The narrator, Gerard Doyle, was new to me but I thought he did a great job.

I have never read anything by this author before but now will definitely got back to the beginning of the Sean Duffy series.
Set in Northern Ireland, during the worst years of the 'Troubles', this book is dark and interesting and kept me glued to my mp3 player from start to finish. McKinty does a fantastic job of creating the scene. I felt like I was there during those horrible years where car bombs were commonplace and 'normal' life just didn't exist. Also, the cold and the rain seemed to be a prevalent factor in the scene.

The main character, Sean Duffy, is a seasoned detective who hasn't lost touch with his humanity, even though its touch and go sometimes. Like a dog with a bone, he won't let go of his case until he has found some kind of justice for the victims and ferreted out as many answers as possible.
10 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Rain Dogs.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

Started Reading
September 11, 2017 – Shelved
September 11, 2017 – Shelved as: audio-books
September 11, 2017 – Shelved as: dark-and-disturbing
September 11, 2017 – Shelved as: detective-series
September 11, 2017 – Shelved as: favorites
September 11, 2017 – Shelved as: mystery
September 11, 2017 – Shelved as: political-intrigue
September 11, 2017 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-4 of 4 (4 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

James Thane Nice review, Laura. I'm really enjoying this series.


Laura (Kyahgirl) Thanks James. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed this. When I was growing up the upheavals in Northern Ireland were constantly on the news and then about 10 years ago when I was blogging a lot I made friends with a person who lives there and works with disadvantaged youth. It is still horrible but not so bad as in those days. I think McKinty captured the reality of Northern Ireland quite clearly, based upon my limited knowledge. I know he actually lived there but its still a real gift to be able to make the world building so clear.

I also had to laugh because all the Irish people I've ever met truly embrace their expletives. That came across loud and clear in this book too.


Larry Just finished this one and immediately hooked up with # 6. Good idea to go back and read in order. All excellent but each seems to get better as you become more familiar with Duffy & his personality. Great writing & very engaging character.


Laura (Kyahgirl) That's great to hear Larry because I just started book one and am looking forward to getting to know Duffy and company.


back to top